You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One of the best perks of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu: Learning from the best in the game!

in #martialarts7 years ago

I only did one year of BJJ before my health made it too hard. I miss it so much. I just wish there was a group somewhere in my area where I am not the smallest and weakest by default. :(

Sort:  

Sounds like you just need good training partners. I train with ladies on a weekly basis, and yes most of them are smaller and weaker, but i don't think smashing them does anything for them or myself! And that's not necessarily a gender based statement. I train with some guys who are much smaller than me, and some who are much larger than me.

Smashing, stalling, using a lot of strength and power does not refine technique for either individual. Yes, there's a time to compete, roll and go at it, test yourself. But overall, be conscious of size and strength differences. I have found that the more I give some space and lighter movement on a smaller person, that once they have drilled these movements many times with less pressure, eventually when we roll with pressure, they are able to compete with me and even tap me, despite the size and strength differences.

Hopefully one day you'll find a decent place to train, and if you feel they are using too much size, strength and pressure, ask them to flow with you more so you can actually work the technique without resistance at first. Most people should be understanding of that.

@jiujitsu I wish somebody would make a leaflet out of your comment and made it mandatory reading for all practitioners!

I am actually very happy with my teammates since the majority of them are very considerate like you and ego-less (except for the new-ish white belts who seem to be on a mission to destroy you and just won't tap), but in seminars I have encountered people from other academies who either don't care and just smash you mercilessly, or don't seem to have enough control over their moves and hence spaz out, crank up submissions or force their way into positions by crushing you instead of using technique. Argh.

Much agreed. Luckily I have been schooled in the art of how to train by some of the best. There's a time to train, a time to train with some resistance, a time to flow, and a time to go at it!

I just think the longer you practice the more you realize you get very little from smashing someone who is weaker or smaller or a lower level of technique. You must have some give and take so you both get something out of it!

Of course there will always be the other type who are 100% smash like it's a tourney or a mma fight. That's just a part of the game i guess!

I wish there was an all girl team within reasonable distance of where I am. There isn't one. Rolling is not the issue. When the warm-up is suitable for young men in shape (and not little me with chronic pain and stuff) - I just can't survive it. Half the team are blue-belts and while they're happy to teach, they also come to train. So... yeah. :(

Ahh I see what you mean! Yeah many schools do an all women's self defense class. @bjjworldtraveler here on Steemit runs a women's self defense program and it's awesome to see all the ladies training together.

Maybe you can find that somewhere near you.

You think I haven't looked? Closest is an hour away by bus. I can't do that with fibro.

@techslut Yeah, the warm ups can get pretty intense. In my group, our coach normally lets one of the higher belts take charge of the warm ups, and depending on who does it (it varies day to day) you can get anything from a nice dynamic stretching and mobility warm up (the mildest and gentlest workout), to crazily athletic warmup-thons that include stuff like handstands, cartwheeling, jumping forward rolls or army-style warmups where you have to carry your partner.

Oh Gods I hurt just remembering it. My current personal trainer has trouble believing I could do 20 pushups, 20 sprawls and 20 sit ups one after the other. Stupid bloody fibromyalgia!!!!!!

@techslut, yes BJJ is definitely not the most gentle sport for the body... it sounds like it would be ideal for you to find a school or group that focuses more on drilling and flow rolling, but I get that at the moment the offer is still quite limited. Let's hope as BJJ grows in popularity this situation will change :-) Thank you for commenting!

Amen! If you hear of a disability friendly BJJ team somewhere in Israel - let me know! :)

Contact Ido Portal in Tel Aviv :-)

Checked. What he's doing is some kind of movement thing he invented and it's interesting, but not worth the trip to Tel Aviv. Currently, I have a trainer coming to my house. But that's not rolling. :(
Thanks for the suggestion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59079.50
ETH 2697.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50