Love our spouse. But why must I?

in #marriage6 years ago (edited)

To those who are married,

Have you ever thought or talked to yourself that maybe, just maybe, you married the wrong person? You know, just a moment of passing thought? Sshhhh....😷 It happened to me one point in my marriage when back then I was still immature in handling my marriage - the first two years of marriage if I remembered correctly.

20180121_210911.png
100% own drawing.

In the early years of marriage, I was still learning how to live my world with another person. Every single day, I learned to commit to consider another person in many decisions I made. What to eat. What time to use bathroom. Where to go for dinner. What to cook. Waiting for another person to get ready. The lists were long.

It was challenging and frustrating in the beginning. It seemed after married, my ex-boyfriend whom I now called husband became another person that was different from the one I dated. It took me to gradually realised that I, too, had changed to another person. When we were in dating stage, I ensure I was properly dressed with decent presentable make-up. After married, I woke up with my jammies, no make-up, messy hair and of course a mouth that need some brushing. lol. Before married, I was careful with words when came to dating. Even to yawn in front of him was an embarrassment. After married, I freely shared my thoughts with him without filtering. And I didn't mind to yawn my sleepiness out, and Oh, what a satisfied yawwwnnn...... He didn't mind too, I hope🤔. What a big drastic change!

There is a joke about never say "your spouse has bad choice" or "he or she doesn't know how to make good decision" because you are his choice and he has decided to marry you. Due to this fact, always say and truly believe he has the best choice and he knows how to make good decision! Aha!

20180121_211859.png
Own drawing.

If anything fails, don't fail to love

...especially your spouse, even on the day both of you quarreled. That only means both are on the journey to get to know each other in a deeper manner, not just merely knowing the person on the surface. Not all spouses will get into a fight, but many do. Some are silent war. Some are verbal war when suddenly your vocabulary becomes superb. Mine, falls on the silent cold war. And everytime when it happened, it hurt badly. "The reason it hurts so much to separate is because our souls are connected," says Nicholas Sparks. However, thanks to gadget we will always text each other "I am sorry" and/or "I love you" then the big chunk of iceberg will melt by warmth once again. Indeed, patience and thoughtfulness are very essential in marriage.

20180121_204306.jpg
100% own photo.

Why I choose to love my spouse eventhough I don't feel like it sometimes

One thing for sure, in marriage, love does not depend on feeling. It becomes a choice. It becomes a commitment. It becomes something husband and wife need to work on. My husband and I openly talked about our sparks of romance. It cannot be denied the sparks aren't the same anymore. We used to have heartbeat dub-dub, dub-dub so fast when we had date. Now we are so used to each other sometimes our heartbeat slows down due to no excitement in the presence of each other. No more sparks, it is okay, we have more peace now. In other words, mature love.

I vowed to myself that I will not let familiarity breeds complacency or contempt, but only content. I will love my spouse because he is the one I will grow old with. He is the one that accepts me for who I am. He will see me growing wrinkles and white hair and will still adore my beauty. He is the one that can understand my countenance should it displays sadness or sorrow. He is the one even if I forgot to greet him I won't be judged. He is the one forgiveness and love exists. He is the one who witnesses my size grows from S to XL then to M, yet does not make fun of me. He is the one imperfect yet perfect, vice versa. He is the one, whom the more we are together, the more we resemble each other. He is the one I freely informed without fear or worry that I want my body to be burned into ash on my last day.

20180121_213717.jpg
Transformer or Hulk, he is still my love.

Reciting marriage vow

In the Name of God,
I, Jadeline, take you, Jason, to be my husband,
to have and to hold from this day forward,
for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer,
in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish,
until we are parted by death. This is my joyful vow.

20180121_212749.png
Own drawing.

Disclaimer: Above does not applied in the case of abusive spouse. Report immediately to welfare in charged so that you are protected.


APP.png

Sort:  

@iamjadeline indeed it takes two to tango.

Sometimes during a relationship we always think of what is good for us and we forgot what our spouse has done for us. We overlook the good things and focus on the bad ones, which shouldn't be. lol

I'm not married but I've had my shares of experiences from my friends who have been in this situation.

Familiarity can sometimes be a negative thing when you've taken everything for granted. Marriage needs work as well in order for everything to work!

I wish you the best and your marriage!

Thank you for your best wish. You will be excellent in marriage for sure with all these embedded in you 😁

keeping in mind is surely very useful but the application things takes more time. Enjoyed your post and would love to read more in the future :)

Marriage takes work & commitment from both parties and this is an interesting look at that through your relationship. Thank you for sharing your marriage vows at the end ♡ Love your drawings too ♡

Thank you @redwellies for compliment :) and always supporting one another.

In my walk in a relationship journey, I realised, and a lot of pastor also said the same thing, the first 2 years probably still on courtship mode, where passion could still overlook pet peeves, but it is the best of friendship that will keep your love alive (with an occasional romantic spark just to that flame strong)

upvoted

Yes this is indeed the best friendship where we will grow old together.🤵👰👴👵

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by iamjadeline from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow, this is great. Thank you for sharing 🙏🏻 I have always been thinking that every one should be as real as he could in dating satge. It is an act of honesty to make the other party know you the way you are. It doesn’t matter how clever you are in pretending, after marriage you will never be able to hide your real self. Thanks again for sharing.

After marriage everything is real. Good side. Bad side. ugly side. Pretty side. All revealed .

This is true, this is why we shall be honest with ourselves in the first place.

aww. that's so sweet :) it's good to always remind ourselves that love is more than just a feeling. it's commitment. it's hardwork! :)

p.s. you 100% origianal drawings are really cute! ;)

Yes it is a big commitment and investment. Next time when our children are big and have their own life, we are left with our spouse. So better invest with love😊

Thanks for compliment on the drawing. it is so difficult to draw using apps. still prefer pencil and paper and hands. :)

very true. could see that happening to my own parents now. I'm glad that have invested a lot into each other. I'm learning myself. to have a good balance. but I think there's no such thing as over-investing​ in your spouse right? ;)

I can only imagine how difficult it is. I don't even attempt to write. still very much a pencil kind of guy :)

Always ever inspiring! Hugz...

Thank you. hugs to you too Jo.😍

"If anything fails, don't fail to love" . YAAASSSS, because love never fails! :)

Yes and amen!!! Hearts.

Such a light writing about not easy thing like marriage, supporting fidelity in spouse life, encouraging some work for getting mature her and him in their mature marriage without quarrels and still with love heartbeat
source I'Ve found on my own;

Thank you for dropping by. Yes it is not easy topic but i am more than glad to share if it benefits others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54