[UPDATE] Steem Marketlace Crossroads: To Continue or Not?

in #marketplace8 years ago

A month ago, I decided to build a marketplace where goods and services could be bought, sold, rented, bartered etc. The goal was to create a marketplace that transacted in Steem.

I used a platform called sharetribe to accomplish this as it was the quickest way to test the idea and get a working MVP.

The original post was met with a warm welcome and we saw a couple other Steemians join and post products and services.

A week later, the first transaction happened on the marketplace when I sold a Steem t-shirt.

A month later, even more Steemians have joined and added products and services for sale.

On the Marketplace you can find:

  • t-shirts
  • canvas art
  • graphic design services
  • web design services
  • candles
  • rare coins
  • hats
  • pokemon goods
  • books
  • avatars
  • mead (nice!)
  • computer hardware

....and that brings us to today.

At a Crossroads

Today is exactly a month since launching. This also means that the free trial I was using on sharetribe has expired and they are asking for payment.

The cheapest plan starts at $99 per month and goes to $239 per month.

My thought is, I would like to continue this pet project but I simply can't budget an extra $99 per month to do so. On top of that, I think there is somewhere in the pipeline for a native marketplace to be made using block chain technology and not a 3rd party site.

But, as with everything Steem related, I want to leave it to the community to decide.

In the comments below vote:

YES = I want the marketplace to live on, here is my upvote.

NO = This was fun while it lasted, let's wait for a native solution.

Obviously, if we meet the $99 on this post, I will gladly put this towards the monthly fee. If not, we will scuttle the marketplace in the hopes it's replaced but something bigger and better.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey @msutyler ! Yes I think there is going to be an internal marketplace eventually and I know there is the Craigslist classifieds platform someone else is setting up. It's ok to have a few to see what people like. I have a similar marketplace website at www.peerhub.com that I was going to have focused on using Steem dollars and make it free as well. I just haven't had time to get the tweaks made. It's custom made and minimalist, but does have some cool features: private listings, rating system, messaging, forum ... If you're interested I'm looking for help. I do agree eventually these marketplaces will be crucial.

@msutyler Lets work together on this. Shoot me an email [email protected]

I am interested in fleshing this out a bit more and focusing on gigs... was wondering if you could give me some advice based on your experience. Already got the URL set up and everything, I was planning on doing a proprietary design which would cost about $200.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64