Is the End of Influencers? Luxury Dublin hotel bans all Social Media Influencers!

in #marketing6 years ago (edited)

Hi, my wonderful Steemers,

I've something fantastic to share with you today. A few hours ago, I read an interesting post on Business Insider.

"A Dublin hotel White Moose Cafe owner has banned social media influencers from his businesses after he shamed a 22-year-old Instagram personality who had asked for a free stay during an upcoming trip in return for publicity. She is @ElleDarby, who has over 87,000 subscribers on her YouTube channel and 76,000 Instagram followers, had asked for a five-night stay at his hotel in return for publicity on YouTube and Instagram"

maImage of Yaktocat

Is The "Influencer" Economy Collapsing?

This topic struck me in the first person because I regularly work with well-known Social Media Influencers. I have been doing this job for the past 3 years and I can tell the market has changed a lot. Originally the world of Influencers or KOL (Key Opinion Leaders) used to be very authentic, sparkling and inexpensive compared with the conventional ways of promotions. Saying this, my theory that the market is going to be changed drastically soon gets stronger day by day.

maImage of Yaktocat

Should We Leave FB and IG?

A platform like Steemit could determine the popularity of person based on content shared and users Interaction. Instagram or Facebook are controlled by sophisticated algorithms to determine who featured on trending page while killing the organic contents. Therefore, every single post has to be perfect and has a high probability of shareable before being posted online. All now is less authentic and meaningless for me. This is an interesting article on The Guardian about who is leaving Facebook.

Demanding Only

Recently, I have been working for a well-known shoe brand from Italy, a digital campaign for the Japanese market. I've hired 3 KOL's and frankly speaking I had a hard time working with them. Too spoiled and arrogant! Anyway, the campaign went great and the client was happy with the quality of contents and engagement. Working with professional KOL's could really help to build a solid brand awareness. My question is: how many of them could be the real Brand ambassador?

What do you have to say about this? Share in the comment box below!

Please follow me @sottile

Cheers

P.

maImage of Yaktocat

Sort:  

Don't be afraid to comment. I would like to hear you opinion about ;)

I think the influencer economy is not collapsing... The brands sometimes don't want to be associated or represented by any influencer.

Got point your @chuqui - I really believe that the Influencers fees are too expensive. The brands need to allocate a huge budget to get a real return-on-investment.

Thank you @sottile for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.17% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87