Crowdsourcing a Community Map: The Geography of Steem(it) Community Activists, Marketers, Entrepreneurs, and more!

in #marketing7 years ago (edited)

"Crowdsourcing also makes expansion into non-Western, non-English speaking countries feasible. While we are handicapped by our Western-focus there are many talented users who need only a little support and expertise to make a big difference in their non-English speaking communities. The Steemit Inc marketing team will provide the support necessary to make that happen."
The 2017 Steem Growth Plan

Friends, a few questions for you all!

I've seen various attempts at a steemit community map, but let's not wait for some perfect iteration of that to occur... we need this now!


Image Source

Heads up @zurvanic & @andrarchy!

Let's co-create a comprehensive list of Steemit Community Activists, Marketers, Entrepreneurs, who would like to begin coordinating with each other!

It would seem that an effective marketing play for reaching early adopters must consider a wide range of global markets, and develop working communication with willing community marketing partners in each location.


Questions:

  • What’s the market like in each region in terms of value?
  • How do we measure its value to the Steem blockchain as a whole?
  • What are the top 5 geographic regions you think we should be focused on?

Please enter your own information in the comments below if you are willing to assist with marketing or Steem Community organizing. Be as pseudonymous as you wish, but let us know if you're willing to interact, and how. :)


To begin:

  • All we need is a city, a username, actual name (optional), any skills you wish to make known, and your username on steemit.chat if it is different from your steem/it account name, and any projects you're currently working on in the Steem Ecosystem + links to those, etc. (Don't share specific emails or other contact information here, this is a public blockchain! ;) I'll go first.

I will continue to edit this page as more submissions are received!
You are welcome to submit any revisions to your (info / skills / description), simply leave a comment below.


North America


Denver, CO, USA - @dwinblood, Deva Winblood

  • (Network Engineer, Game Developer, Writer, Musician, Strategy, Mediation/Moderator)
  • Contact: @dwinblood anywhere I am active, steemit.chat, Steam Speak, etc.

Detroit, MI, USA - @robrigo, Rob Konsdorf

  • Software Engineer and Activist
  • Contact: @rob on steemt.chat

Minneapolis, MN, USA - @lovejoy, Brandon Lovejoy

  • Filmmaker, Writer, Community Organizer, Strategist
  • Contact: @lovejoy on steemit.chat

Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada - @wadepaterson, Wade Paterson

  • Former journalist, fairly effective communicator, "20 questions" series.
  • Contact: @wadepaterson on steemit.chat

Mexico


Caribbean


Central America


Central America - @Hilarski and @AnaHilarski

  • Social Media Syndication and Online Influence. Crypto Currency Aficionados.
  • Contact:

South America


Sub-Saharan Africa


Middle East / North Africa


Western Europe


Annecy, France - @chrisaiki


Bedfordshire, UK - @steevc, Steve Clark

  • Steem enthusiast, interested in learning to develop on this platform.

Munich, Germany - @uwelang

  • marketing, communications, sales, beer, sports, history, music
  • Contact: @uwelang on steemit.chat and elsewhere.

Newcastle, UK - @someguy123


Pistoia, Italy - @paolobeneforti, Paolo Beneforti

  • Artist, writer, sculptor, painter
  • Contact: @paolobeneforti on steemit.chat

Eastern Europe


Liberec, Czech republic - @kralizec

  • I'm a Youtuber who focuses on creating mainly video game reviews, with the occasional let's play thrown in the mix. Otherwise I'm a teacher of the English language in a private school.
  • Contact: @kralizec on steemit.chat & discord

Russia


Saint-Petersburg - @madlenfox, Madlen Fox

  • Beauty industry, image maker, statistics, management, personnel management, interests in P2P bitcoin banking.
  • Contact: @madlen.fox on steemit.chat

Turkey


Central Asia


South Asia


East Asia


Taipei, Taiwan - @deanliu, Dean Liu

  • Blockchain/cryptocurrency enthusiast in learning mode
  • Contact: @deanliu on steemit.chat

Japan


Niigata City - @boxcarblue

  • I can write and sometimes I come up with what I think are pretty good ideas. I like to make music and many other things when I have the time, My Japanese isn't great, but it may suffice to encourage better-qualified people to spread the word over here.
  • Contact: @boxcarblue on steemit.chat

Niigata City - @kafkanarchy84

  • I speak for people who need a voice: (a)political activist, speaker, music/ video and content maker.
  • Contact: @kafkanarchy84 on steemit.chat

Southeast Asia


Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - @kevinwong, Kevin Wong

  • Jack of all trades, master of none. The computer is my friend :)
  • Contact: @kevinwong on steemit.chat

Manilla, Phillipines - @surpassinggoogle

  • There is so much untold knowledge i can render about developing countries and humans in general. This is a talent. i love to inspire too. i live for this. i love to give. i am good in creating ideas too, solving problems, create innovation ideas but this stems too, from really understanding humans.
  • Projects:
  • Contact: @surpassinggoogle on steemit.chat

Australia / New Zealand


Melbourne, Australia - @trafalgar

  • Adequate if not adept satirical writer/political commentator Rudimentary understanding of economics, philosophy, politics/sociology
  • Contact: @trafalgar on steemit.chat

See the next iteration of the Community Directory HERE!


Stay tuned for more, and thanks for following! @lovejoy

Sort:  

So the process of creating this directory is pretty informative in and of itself, but it occurs to me, @roadscape... these fields: skills, contact, etc. would be moderately trivial for Steemit to include in the 'Public Profile Settings', and then to display them of course is another issue, but is this a potential feature alongside communities? Am I wasting my time here? I usually get schooled by some punk engineer mad data scientist who's like.. eh, here's six lines of code sucka! ;)

Or maybe.. 64, or whatever.. but you get my point! :P

Loading...

nice post.
I'm already working on 3 things that could be useful for Steem marketing too (a shop, a tutorial for italian, a promo for artists).
I'm in Italy. :)

Awesome! Are you interested in being in contact through Steemit.chat? If so, what's your username there?

sure. I have the same username there.
I'm still waiting to understand how the crowdsourcing thing will work, according to the last post of the Marketing team.

Cool.. It will work, as we make it work... since we are the crowd! So, hold on to your hat! ;) What city are you in?

Pistoia, near Florence. We are 4 Steemians in one family and at least 10 as italian active community:)

Awesome! That's great to know. We need communities all over the world, so good to know you're all organizing in Pistoia. :)

Denver, CO - Deva Winblood (Network Engineer, Game Developer, Writer, Musician, Strategy, Mediation/Moderator) - @dwinblood anywhere I am active steemit.chat, Steam Speak, etc.

I know #aceh is in the house! Give us a shout, ya'll are amazing!

@gardenofeden I'm sure you're down for the cause yes? :)

Melbourne, Australia
Adequate if not adept satirical writer/political commentator
Rudimentary understanding of economics, philosophy, politics/sociology
Peaked in high school

Awesome! Thanks for joining the party =)

@boxcarblue in Niigata, Japan. You can message me in chat at the same name.

I don't have many skills to report, but I can write and sometimes I come up with what I think are pretty good ideas. I like to make music and many other things when I have the time, which isn't often as of late. My Japanese isn't great, but it may suffice to encourage better qualified people to spread the word over here.

I've resteemed this and will write a post in Japanese linking back to it and explaining its message as best I can.

The Japanese market is dominated by Facebook and Twitter right now and it being a first-world country, with the rewards being low like they are now, I don't know if many people will sign up without some kind of big incentive.

If we can tap into the market over here, it is a big one.

I've thought a lot about how to help this platform grow, but I really don't know what the answer is. Anything I can do to help, though, I will.

Thanks for your reply! We shall have to chat about Japan, and glean any insights you have. We can all learn from each other and help each other discover effective methods for each market. The US has similar challenges, but they are radically different cultures for sure. Japan is highly intriguing, and your Japanese is way better than mine, i'm sure! Though, I do speak fluent Naruto. ;) Oh, I tried to trim down your intro a little bit, to the relevant parts for the list, but let me know if you want me to edit your description at all. This directory will surely evolve, but it's a good start.

That's funny. I've never actually read or watched any Naruto. I've been curious to check it out for a while, though. My description is fine. There's no need to edit it. Japan has a strange market. When things are accepted here, they take off. Getting things to that saturation point, though, is a little mysterious to me. I don't know what it will take. I'd love to chat about it sometime, though.

My facts here:
Munich / Germany @uwelang on all channel - marketing, communications, sales, beer, sports, history, music

The three questions need a bit time and require knowing corporate strategy of steemit inc.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Jack of all trades, master of none. The computer is my friend :) @kevinwong on Steemit.chat

Great to see you here! :) Is there a sizeable steemit community in Kuala Lumpur?

Nope not at all.. Got a couple of friends on Steemit but many seemed to have discontinued

Good to know.. We'll see what we can do. I have fond memories of Kuala Lumpur! People were so kind to me there. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81