The Dirty Little Secret Some Copywriters Just Don’t Want You To Know.

in #marketing8 years ago


I don't know about you, but I am a member of several business related Facebook groups.

There...I have said it! (That wasn't the dirty little secret by the way).

I find them incredibly useful for research and keeping up to date with industry trends and of course, learning new stuff.

However, in some of the groups I have noticed there is a trend for copywriters to, shall we say, "over indulge" their imagination a little.

This is not just the case with copywriting groups either, but as they are ones I have the most experience with, I will use them for my example.

You see, from some of the posts made in these groups you'd think that certain lucky individuals are rolling around on 5 star hotel beds heaped full of cash, and generally living a life of luxury based on their amazing {insert as appropriate} skills.

It's true. In the case of some of these copywriters, they do have amazing persuasive writing skills...as they've managed to persuade most people into believing their system is guaranteed to make you rich.

All you have to do is A, B and C alone (or whatever formula outlined in their book, course or Mastermind group) and voilà….you will be an overnight success.

I am sure you see this 'phenomena' in your own industry too.

You know, the ones who seem to be making millions while you plod along under the radar seemingly unnoticed?

Well, I have news for you!

Most of these ‘mega successful’ copywriters are just throwing you another sales line to get you hooked into hiring them or signing up to their eye-wateringly expensive courses or products.

There are some 'A' list copywriters out there rolling in endless beds of cash, of course.

But this is a very minuscule percentage of the industry, and they are mostly people who were at the right place at the right time or who, let's face it, know the right people and knew how to charm the pants off them.

Or maybe they were just downright lucky.

For the rest of us mere mortals, it's true that you can make a very nice living from copywriting.

Here's how:

  • If you have a few good clients, continue to nurture those great
    relationships so you can continue to build even more mutual value.
  • If you are getting referrals, build on them and become as well
    connected as possible. And don't stop.
  • If you have a particular passion or knowledge, how about packaging it
    up and selling it in some way (for copywriters this makes sense as
    they already have the sales writing skills in place).

Oh and make sure you keep practising, learning and developing your writing skills.

Rinse and repeat.

The above tips can be applied to any industry you work in really.

What I am saying is, don't look to others and compare yourself because often in the world of sales and marketing, it's all down to smoke and mirrors.

The guy who only has a few spots open this week...really? Sounds the same as last week. And we all know the power of scarcity, right?
The copywriter who no longer takes on clients as there is no need to?...Then why are they still marketing themselves on every channel under the sun?

It all sounds like a good line of copy, right?

Be proud of where YOU are right now.

Focus on YOUR wins, progress and talents.

And remember

You're doing just fine.

Thank you for reading my post. Do let me know what you think. I am a strong believer in supporting each other so if you follow me, I follow back. I like good people like you in my news feed

Sort:  

Hello kreativ, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Great Pot - Keep on Steeming!

Excellent. Thank you. Will join the chat :-)

To be honest, I didn't read this that carefully, but I upvoted you because I didn't feel like your post deserved to go negative and disappear just because another user didn't like it. That is not an appropriate reason to flag in my opinion.

Thank you very much @trogdor I have to say like most people I am new here, so I don't know all the rules but am trying my best to post relevant quality content. I wasn't even sure what 'flagging' was!

@trogdor Thank you. We need to help out new users who get inappropriately flagged thanks for helping out. Also thanks to all the others who upvoted this for the same reason.

nothing inappropriate, for me this post is just spam

Actually several members disagree with you, this was a good post.

The flag was inappropriate.

It is not spam and having looked at your post history you are hardly setting a high bar for quality posts with your latest one.

Is a simple "Hillary Clinton vs Donald Trump meme" - post spam?

To me it is more of a spam post than this post yet nobody has come and flagged that.

You were just being an arsehole for the sake of it.

the "hillary vs trump" was posted with "meme" and "funny" hashtag not in anything else... (and you can check the content of the "meme" hashtag, you'll see that kind of post)...
rereading that post again... still finding the whole thing "vague". No concrete example about what he is discussing, except "some people" do "some things"...
to end with a few vague advices which are just common sense... (people falling for the "get rich plot" of "some people" who do "some things" probably lack common sense in the first place... ).

tbh, that post was flagged because, after having read that post, I felt like my time had been stolen... and felt exactly like someone falling for one of the "some guy" doing "some stuff" to make you believe you'll get rich (or get entertained by a good story in my case...). while there is absolutely nothing new in what is written and it is way too vague

(and yes, I find the Hilary/Trump gif meme hilarious, that's why I posted it)

you mean like your post ?
At first I had the feeling you were speaking about something, and at the end, I realized you are not refering to anything at all, just speaking with some general sentences and generalities about success to some other people.
Hence my flag

Not quite sure what you mean @djm34 But if you didn't like my post, that is your prerogative of course. I would have preferred that you did not 'flag' it.
In the post I was referring to those who promote 'get rich quick' schemes and sell courses of little value.

@kreativ you can appeal an inappropriate flag in the chat use the #steemitabuse-appeals channel.

Thank you @thecryptofiend Much appreciated.

lol, thanks for telling what it was about... I didn't even got it...

That's not a reason to flag though.

Absolutely loved your Post! I can't tell how many times I have been influenced by the Sales letters and brought products that were literally 'garbage'.

Thank you @anamikajain . I am glad you enjoyed it and thank you for upvoting :-)

Great post! I hate how anything with sales always has those mirrors and a good smoke machine...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51