MARKETING: How To Write Posts People Actually Read (7 great tips)

in #marketing7 years ago (edited)

How to write posts people actually read.jpg

Hi, hope you are having a good day.

I was having a discussion with one of the great minds I have connected with here on steemit @henrychidiebere (This guy create really eye opening tech posts, I recommend you follow him if you love tech).

An issue actually came up; he was like people were not engaging with his posts. That is, they were not really commenting on his posts, though they upvote it a lot.

I actually knew this was a big issue especially here on steemit we are here for the pay, right? So no time to waste I get it.

Even when people comment on your post most of them really did not read it, they just comment “nice post” “great piece” “wow, good job keep it up” e.t.c.

Generally, when publishing contents online and you want engagement, you don’t just do things anyhow.

Consumers of online contents have some characteristics your content must be in alignment with.

I know a lot of bloggers here on steemit are new to this world of content publishing and may not know how to optimize their contents (posts) so people actually read it.

So that’s why I felt I should share my knowledge on this topic.

I would share with you strategies that WORK.

Just keep reading.

Below are tips on how to write post people actually read:

  1. Write good and catching titles: Really this is where you need to spend the buck of time when writing content for online. Most online content consumers actually click through to your post mainly because they like the title. So you want to make sure you write really eye catching titles. Watch out my next post is going to be a step by step guide on how to write a good eye catching post title, just keep in touch.

  2. Use quality images to help the title: I see a lot of posts but one of the reason I click through to read is because of the image used to illustrate the title, it’s like the cover of a book. When you have a bad thumbnail image on your post, you are most likely not even going to have a click through not to talk of a read. So make sure you source good quality images. I am also going to share a post on how to get great photo without even knowing anything about photography or graphic designs.

  3. Write really short paragraphs: This has a good psychological effect on the read making them feel the post is not long that they could just read through it in no time. I recommend about 1- 4 lines in a paragraph.

  4. Use list: When you use list just as I am using now, even though the reader cannot go through all the write up word by word, he or she can easily just do a quick scan of the write up and get the gist, then they can now decide if to read the whole write up or not.

  5. Use contrast: Yes use contrast to show important sections of the write up, this gives your work a good structure and makes it easy to skim through. You can make sub-headings bold, make quotes italic. This is going to do a lot in getting people to read your stuff.

  6. Be yourself and be less complex: You want to make sure you show your personality to the readers especially your fun side, try not to make things to complex, nobody needs to read your content and feel like they are reading “School book”, you grab, right?

  7. Be as brief as possible: Please and please it’s not the longest post that get all the attraction even here on steemit, I hear a lot of guys here telling people to write long posts, that’s rubbish. The longer your post the more you won’t get people who actually read them. Online content consumers have very limited attention span, especially here on steemit. So please make your post as brief as possible.

BONUS

• If you can’t make a post brief arrange your post into parts and share them part by part that’s better than trying to make people consume everything at once, as we say in Nigeria “My guy time nor dey” English translation “My friend there is no time to waste”.

• Use relevant tags; this is going give you good visibility to people who really matter to you.

These are best practice tips use them and give me your success feedbacks.

Thank you for going through this post.

UPVOTE | REPLY | RESTEEM If you find this content useful and of value.

I am Ofomaja E. Joshua and I do MARKETING & ENTREPERENURERSHIP

FOLLOW ME NOW @jofomaja for more contents I promise I won’t waste your time. Remain blessed.

Sort:  

thumbs-up.png@jofomaja
I just can't wait for ur next post on "Write good and catching titles"

I actually know @henrychidiebere and I follow his posts closely. He has good contents.
This your post was actually meant for me. I await ur follow-up post.eyelash-clipart-human-eye-17.jpg

Thank you for the read sir @akpos I'm glad you find value in it and yes keep in touch I would be posting about How To Write Good and Eye Catching Titles next 🙌🙌🙌

Boss I really feel honoured ☺, thanks a lot. Back to the topic, I always start both my posts and my comments with "good" communication as my aim. If you can't give a post at least few minutes of your time how do you expect others to do same. Even if the post is poor you can still help the writer by pointing out where he or she made mistakes or needs improvement. I had a post where the first person to comment actually pointed out a syntax error in my post without even voting. I appreciated that effort even more than the vote he would've offered. I always believe that steemians are more important than steem and above all we are here to interact and learn. Thanks friend for sharing this wonderful piece.👍

Yo! 😀🙌🙌🙌🙌 Big up to you sir, yes indeed we are here to interact and learn, thank you for the read, I'm glad you find value in it 🙌🙌🙌

Normally, I write long posts and cut off some material. I better take this advices into account.

yea :-) @hljott thanks for the read, I'm glad you find value in it

Lol very relevant post .infact u practice what u preach.i opened urs just cause of the title.nice 1 .looking forward to more from u

haha :-) thank you for the read @kemtayo , I'm glad you find value in it

I love the content of your post. I must say is a necessity for all and sundry. Keep it on.

thank you @masterwriter I'm glad you find value in it, please keep in touch for more great contents like this, I promise I won't waste your time

Hope my voting power still remians you deserve a lot. Yeah! i've resteemed already.....

hey :-) thank you very much @kuboskeey I'm grateful for the love you have shown me. Really glad you find this post valuable

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jofomaja from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

WOW.... I love what i just read.

thanks for sharing @jofomaja

Also followed you, do follow back

Thank you for the read @gudtalent 😀🙌, I'm glad you find value in it

Hi, I just read through this after you referenced your page on my introductory post. It's very useful information, thank you. Actually, I'm currently building out a crypto project/business idea and I think our collaboration on it would be very fruitful for the two of us (I've made significant progress already). If you think that's something that you could be interested in, please reach out so we can connect and talk about it some more. Thanks!

yea :-), thanks for the sir @philtoshi, I'm glad you find value in it. About the business you can send me a mail to [email protected] thank you.

This is a very good one you know,most people are on steemit for the money and not to create awareness, I really like that part of a catching title, it really attracts.Keep up the good work @jofomaja.

hey :-) thank you baba @esebonez

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 61362.14
ETH 2643.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58