MARKET FRIDAY

in #marketfriday6 years ago

DSC00562 (2).JPG

Bet you are all wondering what a Big Bad Willy is. :) When I first saw the sign, all kinds of silly things came to my mind, then I remembered that this little shop has the most awesome home tossed pizza within 50 miles. Ah yes, the pizza wars. I remember when Bill opened this little self serve, convience store many years ago. He was injured in a sawmill acccident and was no longer able to work at the mill. He opened this little shop and beleive me, it has been a blessing in the community for many years.

DSC00559 (2).JPG

The aisle are full of snacks, beer and regular grocery items. They sell fishing and hunting licenses, and Bill has even established a small pawn shop, as well as supplies for hunting and fishing. I have never been impressed by all the animal heads hanging off the walls, but when you live in a community where hunting is the macho thing to do, you get used to it I reckon. I must say I do enjoy eating deer, elk, and moose, but haven't the heart to do the deed myself. Those bambi eyes get me every time.

The local boys meet every day at the snack counter and solve world problems and share their philospophy on life. They are a great bunch.

DSC00560 (2).JPG

This concludes my little tour of a shop in a town of less than 700 people. Thank you @dswigle for hosting this weekly event. Hope you had an awesome vacation. Looking forward to seeing all the other entries as well. Have a great Weekend @everyone.

Sort:  

In the little place (population 400 on a good day) where we used to live, we had a similar place simply called George's. He didn't do pizzas, but he had the best homemade soup and Clubhouse sandwich anywhere!

bet you thought I fell off the earth! Just about. LOL went to visit my nieces for the weekend, ended up with some terrible crud and finally was able to drive myself home today! Whew, what a week. I haven't been this sick in years. Hope your week was better than mine. :)

Well, that depends! The country here is on the brink of a revolution! Supposed to have peace talks today, but I'm not holding my breath. Sorry, you have been ill. Glad you are getting better. Thime to ake some Vitamin C?

I have really been unplugged for the past week. I am so sorry to hear of all the chaos you are dealing with. There is nothing that can't be made worse than by involving Government. It makes my heart sad.
Thank you for the well wishes. The fever is gone and the yuck is starting to move through my lungs and sinus. I've been dumping mass amounts of C, herbal teas, and lots of liquids. I have even used the steaming water and towel treatment to keep it loose. My brain is slow to work but I think I'm going to make it. Please be safe.

Wow, looks like a great place! Well, not for vegetarians...unless maybe they have a veggie pizza ;) Love those red and green stools at the table. A town less than 700 people, I can't imagine! :)

Yes, they do have a veggie pizza, with artichokes etc. Love the hand tossed crust. Nothing better. I can't imagine living someplace where the population is more than that. LOL I'm just a small town girl. Been really sick this past week and very much out of service. Feel like Im on this side of the grass today.

Sending well wishes your way! So funny...how we can't imagine each other's lives 😄 I guess we cant know, what we dont know 😉

LOL I reckon on my side of things, I am curious about city life. It is without a doubt an entirely different culture. I've been to the city before. I enjoyed the variety of things to see and do, but became weary of the constant hum and beep. I felt like I was plugged into a light socket, the energy was more than I am used to. It felt good to get home and just melt into a puddle. LOL Coming together from different lifestyles is enjoyable. :) Thanks for the well wishes Denise.

Haha! "Melt into a puddle" yes, I often felt like that. But other days I found it energizing. I think it taught me to run at a faster speed overall. Notnsure if thats always a good thing or not. But I walk fast wherever I go! Even if there isnt a reason to hurry. 😉

Lol. I only walk fast behind my self propelled lawn mower. hahaha. Probably keeps you in good shape.

Pizza - who doesn't love a slice or 8! That's a jam packed store, quite sad the owner had an accident and could not do his main work anymore - but at least he kept up and created something amazing out it.

It might be a small community, but I bet it is more warm and welcoming then places with ten times as many people.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

I went to visit my Nieces in the valley last week and ended up with the worst crud I have had in many years. Was finally able to drive myself those 100 miles home today. I love a good pizza. Bill is an amazing guy. I lovingly call him the one arm bandit. He is a wheeler, dealer beleive me. He has been our county comissioner for many years as well. I love driving down the street and having my friends wave and honk at me. They are a good bunch.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how easy it is to get them or visit us on Discord

This little place is the mainstay and gathering place of so many people. I grew up with stores like this in every neighborhood. New England was just like that. They wanted their own corner store or bodega.

What a great shop! And pizza to boot! Yummy!

Upped and Steemed Tip!

Thank you Denise. It is an amazing little community. folks bicker at the council meetings like kindergarterners, but they have each others back at all times. I can't imagine living in a place any larger. Been sick this past week, but feeling like I'm on this side of the grass to stay today. :)

Hi @warpedweaver! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30