EAT STREET MARKETS, BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA. Part 11.

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

EAT STREET MARKETS, BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA. Part 11.

This is my entry for this weeks Market Friday challenge hosted by @dswigle

Last Friday I promised to bring you some more tantalizingly, tempting, tasty, treats, so be prepared to have your taste buds stimulated and come with me. If you missed last Friday's introduction to 'Eat Street" you may want to get familiarized first. Here is the link:
https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@trudeehunter/eat-street-markets-brisbane-australia

Above the cacophony of clattering cutlery and the raised voices of exuberant shoppers and vendors is the smooth sound of a Blues Band adding to the air of excitement as I entered this very unique and vibrant market. Music is the universal language. But unlike the mindless, subliminal messages playing annoyingly in the background of your average supermarket for the sole purpose of lulling you into spending more money on groceries, a live band stirring up every musical fibre in your being amidst a hungry, but relaxed crowd Demands you to indulge in the fine fare offered to you in every direction.

F Band.jpg

A dedicated dieter may well be able to resist the gourmet delights that are displayed so prominently all around if they relied on sight alone but how do they turn off their sense of smell when delicious aromas waft around them in waves of unadulterated pleasure? We have walked into Eat Street after all, and we are only human after all. I showed you one of the central props used at this market last week: a sturdy, charming, old fishing boat. Here is another view of it.

F FBoat.jpg

The nautical flavour reminds me of the location of the Eat Street Northside markets situated adjacent to the Brisbane river in Macarthur Ave, Hamilton. And the Oyster bar to my right reminds me that I'm a big fan of seafood and there just has to be a good feed of fish and chips available.....soon very soon. Now. In fact.

F OysterBar.jpg

I can't resist seafood. I really can't. It is my first choice when dining out. But I didn't come here to eat. (I know. I need to see a psychiatrist.) I came to take photos.

" Who put that image of delectable fish dishes in front of me?" "You did Trudee. You have the camera in your hand!" "Oh yes. I do too."

F Shellfish.png

Note to self! Make that appointment tomorrow. See psychiatrist re: Why would I pass up a seafood meal when visiting the Eat Street Markets when I know I'd dearly love to satisfy my cravings? At this point in time, it would make sense to change direction and focus on something else.

Popcorn! That will do it. I love popcorn but it doesn't have the same effect on me as seafood. It does smell mighty good though. I have to admit. Perhaps if there was a movie on I'd be tempted. There is a big screen located within the market and a few kids were lounging around waiting for something to be entertained with but my photos didn't turn out too well for this so I have chosen to not include them here.

F Popcorn.jpg

Burritos? Tacos? Nachos anyone? Mountains of mouth watering morsels waiting to be consumed. I'm tempted. Very Tempted. Hot salsa? Jalapenos? YES! But not tonight. I'm on a mission and I won't be diverted.

F Burritos.jpg

Or how about a feed of curry? I LOVE curry dishes. The hotter the better. But not tonight. Too much to see. Too much to photograph.

F Curry.jpg

The choices were amazing. So many traditional foods available from a wide variety of countries. No one should walk away from this place hungry.

3 stalls Collage.jpg

Sorry folks. I've plonked desert in front of you again before we've seen all the savoury sensations available. But Donuts. Everyone loves donuts! The food of cops and PI's.........and every other occupation in between. Covered in chocolate, smothered in sweet oozing caramel, sprinkled with tiny coloured icing bits and pieces. YUK! Not my cup of tea. It beats me why so many people simply die for donuts! Whoops. That's a bit harsh isn't it? Too late! It's printed now. And even if they tasted good and were healthy, why don't donut lovers feel extremely cheated when the bakers scoop out the soft, spongey centres to save for themselves. What a rip off!

Now that's a colourful picture! Oh no! Seafood again. And I'm only half way around this awesome market. He sure is a very pretty octopus isn't he?

F Octopus.jpg

On second thoughts. No. He's not the most attractive of marine life. He seems to be focusing those big googly eyes in my direction. And those tenacious tentacles appear to be reaching for me. Nothing subliminal about his message. He wants me to eat him. But he'll have to do better than that.

F squidetc.jpg

Seafood I love, but those slippery little suckers with their strange suction-like cups protruding along the length of their tentacles don't stimulate my salivary glands in the least. Calamari? Most definitely. But I will only eat it if it is cooked. Cooked. Crumbed. And fried. And served with a squeeze of lemon and a dollop of tartare sauce. "Now you're talking Trudee!"

I try not to intrude with my camera on diners behind these opened windows, but you have to admit, the graffiti in the foreground and the louvered windows in the background created a good visual. I thought so anyway.

F Louvres.jpg

Night has well and truly set in and people are dining under beautifully lit, corrugated ceilings shaped with artistically appealing curves.

F Diner.jpg

diner  Collage.jpg

Did I mention that you're allowed to take dogs to the Eat Street markets?

F EatSt3(2).jpg

It's very accommodating of the organisers isn't it but I wouldn't take them near this place if I were a dog owner. These guys don't just sell sausages. They sell GOURMET sausages!

f Gourmetsausages.jpg

I'm proud of myself. I've covered a lot of ground in this gastronomic heaven and haven't stopped for a bite of anything. Not. One. Bite! But I feel my resistance breaking down. And then I discover why. The Salty Sailor! Here was the culprit. This was too cruel. It wasn't that I couldn't indulge. I was limited for time and I wasn't sure when I'd be able to visit again and there were still too may interesting things to take photos of. But there was an internal battle raging.

F Saltysailor.jpg

Do I give in to my basic need to feed myself and then go home with only half of the images I wanted to capture? Or do I ignore the hunger pangs banging away like hollow drums in my stomach and complete the job I came here to do?

I turned away with self righteous satisfaction but then I saw this picture. MORETON BAY BUGS! Oh......the sight of those excruciatingly delicious bugs! Ever since I was a toddler I prized lobster over every other food in the whole world and this hasn't changed in my adult life. Now, these succulent bugs were the absolute ultimate test.

I remember my mother relaying the story of how I saved my grandmother (whom I loved dearly) a piece of crayfish once because she was coming to visit and I didn't want her to miss out. That was a worthy thing to do wasn't it, knowing how much I loved crayfish? But it shows the level of esteem with which I held my grandmother.

F MoretonBayBugs.png

Trouble was, it wasn't the wisest thing to do as I happened to save it in my hot little hand in the middle of summer and she was very late in arriving. I'd gone outside to play and as I didn't trust anyone but myself to look after the sample it remained in my clenched hand for an extended period. I don't remember what my grandmother did with her gift but I do remember my mother having difficulty prizing the crayfish from my hand as my fingers had locked together in my determination to make my grandmother happy. Apparently it didn't smell too good either. Wasn't I just the sweetest and devoted of granddaughters?

Believe it or not, I did walk away from these Moreton Bay Bugs at the market even though the price was reasonable. Before I go I will leave you with a couple of images of something very sweet. So, for all you chocoholics. These are for you. Glossy. Flowing. Melted. Chocolate. Eat your hearts out!

F Chocfountain.jpg

I'd like to apologize for the marks on the mirror behind the chocolate fountain in the second. It was a warm night and I couldn't reach it to wipe it away before I took the shot but I somehow, still feel a little responsible. You see, my husband accompanied me on this market meander and he loves chocolate as much as I love seafood. And I confess, I believe those smudges on the mirror behind the chocolate fountain were due to his hot, heavy breathing as he stood transfixed in front of those wonderful edible waterfalls.

Did he buy a mini chocolate fondue accompanied by sweet strawberries? I'll let you know next week when I return with a third edition to my Eat Street Markets.

F Chocfountain1.jpg

Until then. Bon Appetit! See you next Friday!

off and running .jpg

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thank you kindly @ travelfeed I am delighted and encouraged by your very welcome support.


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

If my friend brings me temptation so I can't stick to my diet, who needs enemies, right? 😂😍
Sweet God! How many goodies! I wish I could be there to taste everything! Nice entry dear Trudee 😊

Still many more temptations to show you from just this one venue Erika. It’s Food Heaven. Thanks so much for your visit and support my friend. Greatly appreciated. 🌺

My pleasure my dear friend 💖

live music and such a great selection sounds and looks like a market I would love

This place is very hard not to like JJ

It sure looks that way

Oh, my goodness! Can we go back, please? I have a craving for seafood!

It will be my pleasure to continue our Eat Street market visit next Friday @cecicastor. 🌺

Oh, my goodness! I cannot believe the reserve you must have to not eat along the way. I feel like I have had a taste of everything!

Lobster and seafood in general have my vote. If it swims for a living, I probably have to eat it.

What a wonderful post you send me via airmail, dear Trudee. I just love perusing this wonderful place. I hope we get to go back again and again!

Thank you!

Already upped and steemed

Tip!

Hello Denise. It is hard to believe I resisted the food temptation for so long but when I am taking photos, I am not aware of much else.......including my appetite 😊 But we will see how I go as we are not finished with this fabulous market yet. We will be on the road on Friday and the internet is very unreliable where we are staying but I hope to post part 3 this week.......otherwise, there is always next Friday. Great to have you back. I missed you my friend. 🌼💖🌼 Many thanks for the kind vote, resteem and tip. Greatly appreciated. 🌹

Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Thanks very much @tipu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52