EAT STREET MARKETS, BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA.

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

EAT STREET MARKETS, BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA.

This is my entry for this weeks Market Friday challenge hosted by @dswigle

A quality market simply is not complete unless it features a cool band or two, playing music to enhance the expectant and positive vibes of everyone within hearing distance. Some of you will already be aware of my love affair with markets. They are like a magnet to me, drawing me in with their vibrancy, energy and vast array of products whether I intend to shop or not. Such is their allure. It is my experience that most markets tempt even the most reluctant of shoppers to part with a portion of their weekly earnings before they head home. And I dare anyone who visits the market I am about to introduce to you, to leave without wanting to buy something if you were in a position to do so.

F Band1.jpg

I say this, because the extremely unique (on a world wide scale) Eat Street Markets, cater mainly for ones taste buds. I consider it my loyal duty to warn you before you put on your walking shoes that if you have not eaten for a while and you love food......you will want to devour something tasty within reach soon after strolling through these markets with me. Come with me and see for yourself.

F HelloESt.jpg

As this was my first visit I wasn't sure what to expect although my son had told me it was fabulous and the best time to go was at night. The light was fading and I was keen to get a few shots before dark. I saw the welcome, 'Hello' sign as I approached the entrance, and out came my camera, and it wasn't until I edited my photos that I noticed that a man in the foreground had turned his head. My first assumption was, that he didn't want to be captured, (and frankly I do admit I was a little close to him with my camera aimed in his direction........however, my focus was on the entrance......honestly!) but after spending a couple of hours inside this amazing market I came to the conclusion that he was looking back from whence he came, wishing that he had indulged in one of those chocolate covered donuts for desert and was wondering whether or not to go back in. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

F Hello.jpg

Once inside (after paying a reasonable $2.50 entrance fee,) my senses (particularly those related to smell and taste) were assailed with every indulgent stimulation they possessed. The aromas of hot food, rich percolated coffee and oh......so much more wafted around me in delectable, mouth watering waves. But I had photos to take so I ignored the temptations, allowed the festive, yet relaxed atmosphere to infiltrate my being whilst I absorbed the fascinating sights. You know you are in for a good experience when you hesitate for a few seconds before deciding which direction to take because everything within your vision looks so appealing. Early diners were sampling the fare with a beer, wine or water to aid the digestive process.

F AlFresco.jpg

There were still plenty of seats available placed strategically around huge potted plants.

F Boat5.jpg

Fruit cocktails were being served from a café lined with bamboo features. I loved the tropical décor complete with thatch covered lights, bamboo straw containers and potted plants making one believe they were on a beach in Hawaii for a moment or two.

F Cocktailmadness.jpg

They must have made darn good cocktails as there was quite a line up. There was another group of diners seated around a very unusual centre piece........an old fishing boat. Not so strange when you consider where these markets are situated.

F BambooBar.jpg

The Brisbane river borders one side of the markets providing superb city and river views. 180 huge shipping containers have been transformed into gourmet cafes and restaurants and these props formed part of the original vision to create Eat Street Northside in Macarthur Ave, Hamilton in Brisbane, Australia.

F Boat2.jpg

I'm sure you'll agree with me when I say an old fishing boat is a definite novelty to add to your dining experience. And speaking of novel............ Have you ever had cheese laden morsels served to you from a tri-wheeled bike thingy (for lack of a better description) before? It would have been a first for me had I had the time and inclination to buy something here.

F fISHING  Boat.jpg

Now what goes with cheese I wonder? Gelato? Hmmmmmmm! That combination is a little too unique.......even for me.

F Gelato.jpg

It is probably very unorthodox of me to show you what is available for desert when you haven't seen a fraction of the main meals yet.......but as there is no way I am going to fit in all I want to show you in one post, I will mix it up a bit to cater for those of you with a sweet tooth. Can there be anything sweeter than Fudge?

F Fudge2.png

Look at all those tempting little squares of tooth decaying.......I mean taste bud tempting squares of sugary delights packed up individually and presented as cute little gifts.

F Fudge.jpg

But Eat Street Markets are not all about food. Check out these cool Dream Catchers blowing in the breeze.

F DREAM Catchers.jpg

I'm not entirely sure how these flimsy, feathered fantasy catchers work as I generally collect my dreams in the middle of the night after catching a few well earned Z'zzzzzzzz's following a busy day on Steemit. (Lol)

F Dreamcatchers.jpg

I am willing to be enlightened if anyone can tell me their Dream Catching experience using one of these beautifully crocheted handmade items.

F DCatchers.jpg

We leave The Trinket Box and keep walking. Night has fallen and the bright lights are dazzling. I notice a group of teenage girls hanging out together and as it is a Friday night, I couldn't think of a better place to catch up with friends. People of all ages were clearly enjoying their visit and I wouldn't be surprised if many of them come here on a regular basis as there is heaps of free parking available. This is a big plus as far as I am concerned.

Come to think of it, this is an ideal venue for our next Brisbane Steemit meet-up. I'm happy to get a general consensus of opinion from Brissy Steemers should you happen to read this blog.

F EstM.jpg

It is now time to say, "Good-Bye" to this remarkable place......a place which simultaneously provides a veritable feast for the eyes and the stomach. But I promise to show you more next week on Market Friday. I hope I have whetted your appetite enough to return for a double dose of my Eat Street Market goodies.

As we started our first foray around the Eat Street Markets with music, I will leave you on that same 'note'........do you like my pun? Crank up the volume. Get in the groove, and sing along............

F Band3.jpg

Information Source: www.eatstreetmarkets.com.au

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Wow.....this is an honour! I'm truly delighted to receive your positive feedback and encouraging vote and resteem This kind of recognition really inspires me to improve my photography and blogging skills and challenge myself further. Thank you so much @travelfeed


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Oh wow! Looks like I need to plan a trip up, starting to get cold here in Melbourne.

I have only shown you one small area of these great markets @melbourneswest They are open Friday, Saturday and Sunday and are absolutely fabulous, They also have regular gigs from musicians which they post on their website that I included at the end of this blog. It's getting cooler here too.......but I'm loving it. (:

Wow, that is a next level for the market! A market-retreat! 😏

Thank you very much @rimicane You've come up with the exact definition of the Eat Street Markets (wish I'd thought of it lol) ......"A market Retreat. Your welcome visit and kind support is greatly appreciated.

This was awesome! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful place with us!

Food and fun! Love your descriptions and how you write your posts.

Take me again next week!

Upped and Steemed Tip!

Thanks so much for your wonderful encouragement and support @dswigle It means a lot. 🌺

Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29