Antique and Miscellaneous Market in Vila do Conde (Portugal)

in #marketfriday6 years ago

I've found out a very cute market, on a Saturday morning while I was walking in Vila do Conde.

Unfortunately, the merchants were already preparing to pack up their things and go, as it was almost lunch time. I need to investigate in which dates this market is set up, because I liked what I saw.

For this #MarketFriday initiative by @dswigle, I'll leave you with a few shots of some of the cool stuff I encountered.

Here's @dswigle's post, if you're interested: Market Friday Goes into the Woods


First of all, let's take a look at the overall view of this market and its various stands.

sioltcabm4.jpg

This gentleman was checking the quality of one of the products he had on display. Here's an animated GIF, just for fun.

Market.gif

This lady was selling all kinds of stuff, from Board Games to Stuffed Animal Toys, Porcelain Dolls, a Doll House, Pots and other Cookware, Christmas Decorations, Frames for Paintings, Plants, you name it... You really need to zoom in to see it all.

ije8t4hlmh.jpg

The prices were very accessible. Most stuff was in second hand, after all.

In this stand, a couple was selling Used Books and some Collectables such as Old Coins and Stamps.

klm38lk734.jpg

The man had no problem posing for the photo but his wife was just too shy and turned away when she saw the camera pointing at her. Or maybe she just wanted to talk to a squirrel in a tree. But I doubt there are any talking squirrels over there. Ah ah!

On the next stand, I saw the coolest things. All of this stuff has no use these days but they are cool memories of the past.

angx12u15k.jpg

There were old Stereo Hi-Fi Systems and Vinyl Record Players, Old Analogue Phones, Ancient Mechanical Clocks, Sowing Machines, Typewriters, Gramophones, Old Photo and Video Cameras.

7bjri8uimq.jpg

These antiques, however, were not cheap at all. Some of these things are considered to be relics, so you need to pay a bit more to get your hands on them.

aiwvcazngy.jpg

Check out this Old Phone with a big Marble Base, for instance. How awesome is that?

19t3b20ozu.jpg

Since we were just a couple of days ahead of Christmas, there were also stands where you could buy all you needed to finish decorating your house, like Christmas Tree Decorations and Baby Jesus' Mangers.

pnz7uyzmwm.jpg

For moments there I thought this guy was a Steemian participating in the Googly Eyes initiative. Eh eh.

ywwxb8i4yi.jpg

Well, that's all I had time to shoot, before the merchants packed up their things and disassembled their improvised shops.

I hope you have enjoyed this little article. Please leave a comment before you go.


CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
LocationVila do Conde - Portugal
Untouched Photos

@trincowski signing out.

Sort:  

I really like the overall view of the market and the GIF was especially fun to look at. How interesting that they would sell board games there, I guess because I've never seen an outside Market that carried board games. But that shouldn't surprise me because they carry everything, don't they?

I love these types of markets because most of the things are gently used and I can get a very good price on then. Life doesn't get better than that does it? I love looking through old coins and stamps oh, I will admit that. I am sure that I would I have spent all of my time there. I was laughing at the woman that you said was talking to a squirrel in a tree. LOL

Oh yes! Antiques are useless pieces of yesterday, but sometimes they are very cool being displayed in your house. There is nothing cheap about them ever! A beautiful array of religious decorations and I must say that that was a fun Market to go through. I hope to see more from you because that was fun and you have an interesting town. Thank you so much for participating in Market Friday and I hope to see you again.

Upped and steemed

!tip

I wish I could have taken more photos. There were a lot more stands I failed to shoot. 😃

Thanks for your support, @dswigle. I am glad you enjoyed it.

I truly did! Thanks for taking us along!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

So cool of you. Thanks.

Flea-market - блошиный рынок.

Very high quality old things. I like it.

Thanks a lot! 😃

Lots of antiques pieces specially i like that old phone with a big Marble Base.. It's a really cool beautiful piece as a home decor... Interior designer always looking for something different. May be this market is for me.... hahaha...

Thanks for stopping by! I am glad you liked it. 😃

This place is really cool .. Do you know the price range? are they reasonable than normal antique shop?

It varies a lot. You can find stuff starting from 1€ all the way to thousands of €.

All things are laid out with so much care.
Beautiful, thank you @trincowski.

Yes, they were. Thanks for your visit, @lady-idra.

oooooh... #GooglyEyes :D

I would have loved to see those in a bit more detail :P

Ahahaha. Many thanks for your comment.

Interesting place. I'd walk there for a long time. :-)
Thanks for the photos!
Happy holidays!

Thanks, @singa. I am glad you liked it.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I am using both the Linux and Android versions. I can't wait for the final release of version 2.0 😎

Hi @trincowski!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.715 which ranks you at #5077 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 23 places in the last three days (old rank 5054).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #89.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dear @trincowski,

Thank you for supporting our tag #archisteem. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Do drop by and take a look :)

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thanks. I thought this post would fit your tag. 😊

Indeed it fits :) Thanks @trincowski!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78