Market Friday Random Places in NYC

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Market Friday Random Places in NYC

This is a post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the Kindest and most supportive people here on Steemit, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page.

For this weeks post I take the word market and stretch it a little to share a few Random small markets, aka Shops and restaurants I have come across in walks around NYC.

1 Market Friday big daddys diner.jpg

Sony A7iii 70mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger



Starting with Big Daddy's Diner on Park Ave near 19th Street, there are a couple of these in NYC but this one according to to the sign is the original, and they server Burgers, Shakes and Tots and are a retro style diner serving all-American eats, I haven't tried there food out yet, but they are on my list to try someday.

1 Market Friday HBO.jpg

Sony A7iii 26mm F9 1/60 Sec ISO 1000
Click here to view larger



Next up we have a store I have been into to get a gift for someone, who was big into one of the HBO Shows, the window display was for Game of Thrones a show many people tell me I should watch, but I have never got into it myself I think I just watched part of the first episode.

1 Market Friday Old Navy.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger



Another shop, Oops market, that I have been into, Old Navy, I have been into a few of the stores, Mainly for my Wife and Daughter in Law to get clothes, but I have bought a couple of T-shirts from there I think.

1 Market Friday Parnells.jpg

Sony A7iii 63mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 320
Click here to view larger



If your anything like me after some shopping you may want to stop at a Pub Oops Alcohol Market for a drink, and in NYC there are many options for that such as this one called Parnells on 1st Ave, this place I have been to a couple of times and probably had a few too many beers there.

1 Market Friday Smith Bar and grill.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F4 1/60 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger



And here we have Smiths Bar in Grill, another Bar I have stopped in for a drink or 7, this is on 8th Ave not far from the Port Authority Bus terminal, now if you are wondering have I been to every bar in NYC, and the answer is no, but when I first came to NYC I was single and did visit many bars, the list of bars I haven't been to is probably shorter than the ones I have been to.

That said I haven't been to a bar from over 4 Years now, there just not so much fun when you cannot have a drink.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.737951 lat -73.9877941 long Big Daddys Diner Park Ave and 19th StreetNYC d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hi @tattoodjay!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.004 which ranks you at #1131 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1130).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

I like how a lot of the bars are on the corners or buildings. It gives them a really iconic look. I watched the first season of Game of Thrones, but then I didn't watch any more after that.

I think I got through the first Episode but never went further, Not 100% sure why Now

I really like the photo of Big Daddy's and Parnell's corner pub. I would definitely have visited them too.

Thanks for the visit, :)

!tip
always appreciate some good market friday posts!

Me to traveling the world virtually is always good

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-random-places-in-nyc


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Oh, that was a lot of fun!!! I love atypical #MarketFridays! That really makes them really stand out too! It is always a nice surprise to see what you have uncovered for me and you do get out and know all these places!!

It has been such a treat to see these bars this week and of course, Big Daddy! Who doesn't love him some big daddy? I love that one and of course Parnell's, where it looks like everybody would know my name. Looks sort of like a homey place. I absolutely love Smiths bar and grill because that is like most of the ones I am used to seeing, but, also, I love the grittier look of it as far as pictures go.

Old Navy just looks fun! Nice shot of it.

I see that you can take the most mundane stores and make it a blast. Thank you for that and thank you so much for being a part of the #MarketFriday tag!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

TGIF your endless support and kindness it means so much to me

Thank you! What a nice thing to say!

Me nice Never just the truth !tip

Oh, not YOU! The guy behind you! ;)

Ohh him I never trusted that guy

OMG! I missed this and when I came across it, I laughed without even having to back read. LOL

They do say Laughter ris the best medicine :)

🎁 Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Sunrise By The Pier Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you for the tip!

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

!bookkeeping drugwars

Hi @tattoodjay!

drugwars

Received:

  • 1.126 STEEM
  • 41.183 STEEM from daily
  • 3.967 STEEM from heist
  • 0.000 STEEM from referral

Spent:

  • 52.079 STEEM

Total:

  • -5.803 STEEM

First transfer was before 18.72 days.
Your ROI per day is 4.75 % and you are earning approx. 2.47 STEEM per day.
Break even in approx. 2.3 days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01