Marketfriday : Flea market @ Genk Belgium last week.

in #marketfriday7 years ago

Flea Market

This is my submission for #Marketfriday initiated by @dswigle.
Last Sunday I went to the Genker "rommelmarkt" (flea market).
It's every Sunday in July and August all over the streets of Genk centrum.
There are 2 more left for 2017.

This is taken from the steps in front of the city hall. (stadsplein)
Foto9111.jpg

Here is a map of the area where the market is taking place.
Geopunt_afdruk.png

We entered at the left top side of the map. On the right is the city hall, behind the library (glass building on the right-hand side)
Foto9107.jpg

These are all on the same square:
Foto9108.jpg

Foto9110.jpg

This is a side street of the square with some fruits and veggies. Also a bread stand and Churros and more.
Foto9112.jpg

This is a side street of Sint-Martinusplein.
Foto9113.jpg

And this is Sint-Martinusplein.
Foto9114.jpg

Foto9115.jpg

Winterslagstraat.
Foto9116.jpg

Stage for the band
Foto9117.jpg

Dancefloor and a pole.
Foto9118.jpg

Marktstraat
Foto9119.jpg

Fruitmarkt
Foto9120.jpg

Marktstraat again. The woman serving the hot dogs is a former co-worker of me at a factory. A very hardworking woman, much respect for her. I always picked her up from home to work and brought her back. She didn't see me, she was working hard, as usual.
Foto9121.jpg

Foto9122.jpg

Stationstraat
Foto9123.jpg

Foto9124.jpg

More Stationstraat
Foto9125.jpg

Foto9127.jpg

Europalaan
Foto9128.jpg

Molenstraat
Foto9129.jpg

Once again Stationstraat
Foto9130.jpg

Sint-Martinusstraat, back stage, lol
Foto9131.jpg

Foto9132.jpg

Street performers
Foto9134.jpg

Foto9136.jpg

Free ice-cream
Foto9137.jpg

Few more shots
Foto9138.jpg

Foto9139.jpg

Foto9141.jpg

Foto9142.jpg

Foto9143.jpg
Camera: Samsung Wave II GT-S8530 cell phone

That's all folks!
Thanks for watching and have a great day!
@rem3600

Sort:  

Hi @rem3600! You have just received a 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!


@tipU quick guide | How to check your pending payouts.

This deserves recognition.

You're a superstar!

This is incredible!

You're rocking it!

Thank you so much, Remco! Who doesn't enjoy an awesome flea market? This is absolutely fabulous and covers such an immense part of the downtown. Or perhaps all of it?

I have no idea why, but, I do love wandering through flea markets, sometimes I come away with the most enchanting little treasures! My sister bought an old jewelry box with a hidden compartment with a diamond ring in it. The parents had died and the children were selling off their possessions. She tried to find the people, but never did. I can only imagine that ring meant something to the woman who hid it in there.

The street performers are a happy sight as they stand high above the crowds. The town does make it an enjoyable day for all.

I admire your friend on Marktstraat that was working at the hot dog stand. So many people do not want to work nowadays. You have a good heart too. Giving a ride to and from work every single day? As much as you don't mind, it does take some effort on your part. I bow down at your generous heart

One last question before I finish? The dance floor and a pole? What is the pole used for? Okay... I am done and now I will go back to wandering around the market. You never know what I might find!! Oh, for the love of a good flea market!

Thanks again. Upvoted and resteeming and tip! Have a most wonderful Friday evening. The weekend is almost upon us!

Goedenacht! De tijd is laat!

Thank you, the pole was for the kids to swing around, so they could get dizzy, just like mom and dad, but without the alcohol! Done some work in the garden today and tomorrow we are going to plant some veggies! I bought brussels sprouts, cauliflower, and broccoli to plant and I'm getting kale and leek plants from my mom! \☺/ Happy Weekend!

Yay!! Some of the best veggies!!! Plant some leeks and kale for me! I am running low! I use them too much! ;)

Hehe the pole :)

I've always been attracted by the flea market. Can find great things... This is a huge market, what you share with us. Thanks!

My pleasure! Thanks for the upvote and comment! :)

It was a must!

Thank you very much! :)

Thanks for the tour of this pretty impressive market

Tip!

Thank you very much! Happy Sunday, JJ! \☺/

your welcome Happy Sunday to you to

almost looks like they are celebrating Queens day :) u&R

Thanks! Vandaag en volgende week alweer de laatste van het jaar, maar volgend jaar weer 8x quasi koninginnendag in Genk! \☺/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72