Market Friday Goes to the Marietta Square Famers Market

Happy Friday!  Here in the US we have a long weekend ahead for most of us as we observe Memorial Day on Monday, and I hope to start it out tomorrow morning at the farmers market once again.  Last week was the first time I've jumped in on a @dswigle #marketfriday in a while, but I'm back again with a quick glimpse at my favorite local market.  There's no better place to shop for food than straight from the farmer's hands!  Since I can't always get out to pick my own, the farmers market is the next best thing.

This past week was a little deary (as this weekend is looking, too), but some new artwork outside of the Marietta Square helped brighten everything up.  There are lots of little shops and restaurants all around the Square, so perhaps another day we can take a stroll through some of those together. ;)

I didn't take any pictures close up, but this Saturday was one of the times when they had the artist market in addition to the farmers market.  There are all kinds of different booths--woodwork, paintings, pottery, jewelry and plenty of other hand-made goodies.  I generally have to work on Saturdays, so my focus usually goes right to the produce.

Most of the farms are local Georgia farms, but there are a few others that resell from the surrounding states of either South Carolina or Florida.  I think I've mentioned before some of the fun in going is just grabbing what is in season and available and figuring out what I can make with it for the week!

Besides shopping for fresh produce, I will occasionally splurge on fresh-baked bread from a local bakery.  The German bakery, Bernhard's, uses organic flour and quality ingredients so I know it is the real deal.  You can taste the difference compared to the packaged junk from the store.  I really enjoy the sourdough for a switch from my normal sprouted grain bread.

Since one of my friends let me borrow his dehydrator to try out, I can't wait to grab a few things tomorrow to see how they come out!  The peaches were finally in last week, so perhaps some dried peaches may be on the docket for the weekend. :)

Thanks for checking out a little peak at my local market.  I look forward to seeing what goodies your local market has, as well...  Check out @dswigle's post to learn more about joining in for the day and to see where she's been shopping.  Have a great weekend everyone!

Thanks to my dear @dksart for my new @plantstoplanks banner :)

Sort:  

Cool Marietta street sign & healthy shopping!

It's cool contrast of color right by the train tracks! I'm very happy to be back in the market routine to get a chance to grab all the local goodies. :)

Everything looks so good and now I want some sourdough bread too..lol! Nothing like fresh farm grown or home grown produce!! What @dksart said! 😊

I couldn't resist--bought another beautiful loaf of sourdough this week! 🤣

Hopefully the rain holds off to get some more tomorrow! :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T13:43:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 235.30/200.00
Total Photos: 35
Total comments: 38
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Cool Marietta street sign & healthy shopping!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73