Market Friday: What I Bought On The Streets Of New Orleans

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Honestly, I am not much of a shopper but I bought a few things on the streets of New Orleans. There is a saying... "All the world's a stage." In New Orleans all the world is a market, so let me do a little review of my vacation shopping. I bought a few beers and live music:

www.kizoa.com_20180514_185053.jpg

The band was just getting started, they soon packed the house, then rocked it!



We spent an evening enjoying some world class Jazz courtesy of another band. They were really fine musicians but there was a little comedy routine going on too, keeping the three of us laughing the whole time. I cannot believe I actually caught "the moment." Look at the drummer. That is a giant mirror next to him. He sat there keeping perfect time and looking bored out of his mind most of the set. Occasionally, he would turn to the mirror and admire himself. He seemed to really like what he saw, the only smile he ever broke was at his own reflection, like this...

www.kizoa.com_20180515_200707.jpg

Lookin' good, if I do say so myself!"



I bought a few meals. I confess, I was disappointed with the accents of the servers. There were some Brooklyn accents, some Chicago accents, some foreign accents, but almost no southern drawl left - in New Orleans!

www.kizoa.com_20180515_192426.jpg

I love how New Orleans restaurants open up the entire ground floor for a "patio" feel.



My co-worker had never been here before, so of COURSE we had to go by Cafe DuMond and let her get some tainted coffee. Chicory just ain't my cup of tea. Well, actually it is tea and in New Orleans they think if is coffee... poor, confused people!

www.kizoa.com_20180515_193356.jpg

We didn't buy a beignet, they are really not "all that" either but don't tell the locals I said that!



Somewhere along the way, in one of the myriad little shops tucked along Bourbon Street, I bought a few trinkets for my wife and grandkids.

www.kizoa.com_20180515_204148.jpg

Through every doorway, an array of souvenirs exactly like the ones next door is offered.



It almost seems like every store is arranged the same way. Maybe they are trying to make sure they don't confuse the drunks? On the wall to your right, you have

www.kizoa.com_DSCF2332.JPG

Feathered Masks - because every day is Mardi Gras around here!



Front and center are the cheap T-shirts, nicer ones are at the back and on the ceiling.

www.kizoa.com_DSCF2331.JPG

You want a T-shirt of a feather mask? We got that.



At the check out you can get chicory tainted coffee and meh beignet mix of your very own!

www.kizoa.com_DSCF2330.JPG

It won't taste like NOLA at home unless you dip your water from the toilet...



I bought myself two treats. I got a really good cigar at one of the shops on Bourbon Street, then I bought myself a game of chess and some interesting conversation with this gentleman:

www.kizoa.com_20180514_202517.jpg

He won, but I had a "Huge Ass Beer" and a great cigar so I sure did not lose!

Photos taken with Fuji FinePix S8300 by myself or @fishyculture and used with permission.

Thanks to @dswigle for continuing to host #MarketFriday! Be sure to check her post for more fun shops to visit, and

THANK YOU for visiting my blog!

www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-09_12-52-21.jpg

Sort:  

And I bet all those trinkets were imported from China! Chicory (coffee) tea was actually called the poor man's coffee in Europe during WWll. I never developed a taste for it, but my father enjoyed it so I made it for him. All tourist areas the world over begin to look the same, just a different location...

I can drink it, I did drink it my first trip but you actually have to pay extra for it here. It was "poor man's coffee" because it is CHEAPER than coffee... except in New Orleans...

I have to admit, you're not the first to buy a beer for #MarketFriday, but it happens to be one of the good times in my opinion. I like it now once in awhile to the Beer joints and the music. Just saying. And I want to thank you for taking me along, especially feeding me when I was hungry. You're the man. Oh, my mistake. The drummer was the man. LOL

So if the locals could hear you talk about their chicory coffee and their beignet! They would have strung you up by now!

Oh, yes! Do souvenir shops carry the same old souvenirs. I guess that's the same everywhere but it was the accents that really blew me away just like you said. Years ago they sounded so New Orleans and now all of them have moved out after the flood and brought in New Blood. I swear that's what it must have been. Happy to see that you got your cigar and your little bit of Happy and as always it is so nice to see you here at Market Friday and thank you for posting with us. It's been a real treat. Of course I would have lied if I didn't say that I would have liked a beignet to go with that.

Upped amd steemed

Tip!

Yeah, I was careful not to say anything bad about the chicory and dough wads until I was well into Colorado... :) And yes, the drummer is CLEARLY the man, that was just hysterical to watch even on the first beer!

Hi @longsilver! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50