Market Friday - The Search For Justice

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

I had been up all night, pacing the floor, unable to get to sleep.

It was 1:00 AM when I first looked out the window, hoping to catch a glimpse of light on the horizon. That was silly, it was way too early, so I checked at two, and again at three. Around five I went to the window and it was daylight.

I don't know why I couldn't sleep but it seems to happen more and more often lately. This was a bad one, and my nerves were rattled.

DSCF9820.jpg

The sun had been up for a while when I decided to go out and reward myself with breakfast at a restaurant. Here I am, heading down Cook Street checking out what's open. I want Justice but I'll settle for Thai or barbecue. It was the middle of the day for me after all. Logan's was closed, as was Jones Barbque.

DSCF9822.jpg

Walking another block down the road I can see the Taco Justice truck, but of course, it's closed.

DSCF9825.jpg

It sits there beside the "graffiti building", which is also closed - or unoccupied I should say. That place never holds a tenant. The last one was a marijuana dispensary called "Starbuds" which got all set up, then closed within days.

DSCF9826.jpg

Whatever goes on inside, the exterior of this building gets freshly painted about once per month.

DSCF9827.jpg

Taco Justice has the best tacos but I can't wait around. Most of what I need for breakfast is at home.

DSCF9845.jpg

Then I had an idea... let's go to the Mount Royal Bagel Factory for some Montreal style bagels, which seem so hard to find here on the west coast. ("Mount Royal" is the English translation for Montreal and also the name for the mostly English section of that city. )

DSCF9851.jpg

I was super thrilled when I first found this place, and that was only just recently. "How long have you been here?" I asked the first time I went in. "Oh, about 30 years" came the reply. I thought it was very nice of them to wait for me, and to have coffee ready as well...

DSCF9853.jpg

Going inside, I realized I had forgotten to bring my wallet! See what lack of sleep does? Fortunately, I had some change in my pocket, just enough for a single bagel. Sesame seed, please!

DSCF9854.jpg

Service with s smile! I'm sure she saw me snapping pictures, but didn't seem to mind.

DSCF9855.jpg

Back at home, the toaster oven does its job making a lovely golden brown toasted bagel. Would you like to know an important secret about life? Nothing in the world can go wrong while you have toast. It's a law of the universe, seriously!

DSCF9874.jpg

In case you're wondering, the real trick is to never run out of toast!

I hope you're all having a lovely Market Friday. Thanks for reading and make sure to visit the page of @dswigle who is our host for this weekly theme, and check out her post HERE.

Sort:  

I would have loved your breakfast, the sleepless night not so much. The graffiti was nice :) well done!

Thank you, Erika, have a great weekend!

You too Keith!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Wow pos yang sangat bagus sobat saya selalu menikmati pos ini sobat.. So nice.

Thank you again my friend happy to get acquainted with my friend do not forget my upvote ya friend

Freshly made bagels. Oh, my mouth is watering. And toasted with cream cheese? Add a coffee and that is a breakfast made in heaven.

melted cheese, bacon and an egg, coffee... ahhhhh I was going to post pictures of that, but I thought the anticipation of seeing the bagel in the toaster was better :) Next time, cream cheese!

Toasted bagel for breakfast is awesome! 😉

Hope you can have a goodnight sleep now. 😊

I did! It's so nice to get some sleep for a change and to wake up with the sun already shining and the birds singing :) Hope you have a great weekend!

Glad to hear that! Have a beautiful day ahead! 😊

Cool post-Keith, your right it is always nice to be toasted. ;)
MMM, a well-toasted bagel.

Sure, toasted, baked... whichever :)

Hah! That was a lovely run down of the eateries around town, for breakfast anyway... Your sesame bagel looks good.... now I want a bagel! Lol... Happy Sunday, Keith!! :D

Thank you AC, have a great weekend!

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great post as always, Keith but Sesame seed? Really? YUCK! LOL. How about some raisin cinnamon???

I'm a man of simple tastes... you, with your raisin cinnamon, are obviously a wild and crazy guy! :)

I’ve had many, many nights like the one you had Keith in search of breakfast (comfort food) because your brain tells you it’s way past tea and toast time. It’s about time someone came up with a cafe which stayed open all night long called, “Soul Food for Insomniacs.” Just the sound of it.......knowing someone understands how desperately we need special attention would be enough to lift our spirits and make us buy whatever they sold whether it was edible or not. 😁

What a great idea, Trudee... I love the name of the new business, although there will need to be a shorter version to use for a website name :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83