Market Friday! The Oreos caper, or being banished to the mall

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

My wife does not allow me to help with the grocery shopping. Sure, I can carry the shopping bags, but to actually participate in choosing our food? No way. It seems I'm untrustworthy. Or a child. Something like that. Today, however, is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle and so I forced my way into the car when my wife declared she was going shopping. I promised to be good... she gave a very theatrical eyeroll.

DSCF8702.jpg

Here we are arriving at the grocery store which is part of a typical suburban mall.

DSCF8703.jpg

Inside the store, it quickly became apparent how poor my wife is at choosing proper foods. I'll show you two photos, and you tell me what kind of food a reasonable person would pick...

DSCF8706.jpg

This?

DSCF8707.jpg

Or yummy deserts? I know, right? See what I mean??? That woman just is not reasonable. I started to roam around the store picking up the odd item and bringing it back to the shopping cart my wife insisted on pushing around the store. I, apparently, could not be trusted to handle the shopping cart... Something about me being a child again. (sigh)

DSCF8708.jpg

I think it was when I showed up with three packages of these that I was suddenly banished to the mall...

DSCF8744.jpg

Fine. Whatever... I'll just walk around and take photos of things I find amusing. Maybe I'll get a coffee while I'm at it! :)

DSCF8718.jpg

First of all, what a sad bunch of people hanging out at the mall. I realize I'm doing it too... but I do it ironically. That's different.

DSCF8715.jpg

Look... solar powered watches. I haven't worn a watch since some genius put a clock on cell phones... what, around 1995 or so?

DSCF8721-Edit.jpg

Mannequins able to do chin ups. I think this is very important somehow.

DSCF8714.jpg

Oh look... Buddha must shop here, right? Don't you think?

DSCF8727.jpg

Off to the food court...

DSCF8729.jpg

If I'm such a child perhaps I can have a ride?

DSCF8741.jpg

...and my cell phone rings, and now I am needed again. Time to carry the groceries to the car. Now who is the child, hmmmm? Maybe next Friday, I'll just go by my own self. So HA! Thanks for tagging along on my perfectly grown-up Market Friday.

Sort:  

if you need to live peaceful life you have to keep a distance between you and your wife

I guess... I mostly just joke around though :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 23 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you very much @pixresteemer!

Sad to say......I identify only too well with your wife Keith. It’s exhausting doing grocery shopping with my husband as I spend half the time putting calorie laden rubbish back on the shelves. He has a knack of hiding bars of Chocolate under the bread and I don’t see it until we get to the counter. 😄

Ah, the old "chocolate under the bread" trick, eh? Very advanced work your husband is doing, tell him I said so! :)

My husband does not need to be praised for his covert, chocolate, cover ups Keith .......but I will pass on your admiration for his skill at getting it as far as the check out counter. 😄

Hahaha, you two are so funny :D I've seen scenes like you described, live at the cashier and it always amuses me :D

Yes, Erika.......my husband thinks it’s funny too. He loves his chocolate 🍫 and he told me he would only have chocolate whilst watching his favourite football games on TV which used to be once a week. But they seem to be playing 3 or 5 times a week lately. I need eyes 👀 in the back of my head.......similar to when our kids were little. 🧐

:DDDD Yes, I know the feeling. My father is capable of eating anything and everything, so ... I fully understand you :)
I sent you a friend request on Fb yesterday. It turns out we are not friends there :)

Hahaha, you made me laugh with this post. And there are two mannequins :D Did you even think of me or @steemitri? :D I hope you did (at least think of me :D)
I'm resteeming this since my vote worth a big zero :)
Next Friday please go to the mall or wherever you like and make some amazing photos, sprinkle it with a pinch of humor and share it with us! :)

Thanks so much Erika. Of course I was thinking of you when I saw the mannequins! :)

I'm glad! This mannequin game is so fun :)

Haha! You had me laughing throughout this whole post and yes! I am not sure even I would take you shopping and I like you. ;)

There is something about taking men to the grocery store. Even little ones. See? This behavior starts in the cradle. You can't help it and your wife should not hold you responsible.

You are hilarious and I love your posts. Malls are depressing places to hang out. Well, except for the food court. And only if you are buying! :)

Thanks for participating in #MarketFriday!

Upped and steemed! Tip!

Thank you Denise! Of course, you realize some of this is real, some of it isn't... the trick is tell the difference which I often can't. It's so much fun starting my second childhood... Wheeeee!!! :)

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77