Looking Good on Market Day

in #marketfriday7 years ago

Whew! Thank God it's Friday, right? Let's go shopping! It's time for #marketfriday by my dear friend @dswigle!

Today I take you to the beautiful town of La Manzanilla on the Pacific coast of Mexico, in the state of Jalisco. La Manzanilla is a fishing village and an artists colony, and of course, has a gorgeous beach.... and market day actually is on Friday.

I saw this beautiful family on market day (and at the Thursday market in Barra de Navidad just down the coast.) and I really can't remember what they were selling. I actually think they we just showing their happy faces and traditional clothing and getting tips from the tourists!

DSCF2584-Edit.jpg

This next man was roaming the streets selling carved wooden ornaments, bowls and spoons. He has an interesting opening line which I heard him use several times. "Cheaper at Walmart!" The implication being you shouldn't haggle too hard over the pricing, if all you want is cheap, go to Walmart!

DSCF2256.jpg

I don't want to go on and on with too many pictures, so I'll leave you with just one more... My bicycle got a flat that day, and this was the man who fixed it!

DSC_8890.jpg

Happy Friday everyone, and good shopping wherever you are! :)

A special word of thanks to @dswigle and @topkpop for introducing me to the challenge and some other things :)

Sort:  

Happy #MarketFriday! I love Mexico. If there are one or more people involved, you can throw down a blanket and call it a market! Their traditional clothing would probably prompt me to tip them a little, just for the effort.

How lucky were you with the flat?No kidding. That was awesome!

I like to get a bargain, but I also realize that people need to eat. Shame on those who barter for the sport of it.

Just so you know, your photography is so beautiful, you can never have too many pictures. Thank you for taking the time to put this together for #MarketFriday! Much appreciated!

Upped and Steemed Tip! Worthy!

Thank you, Denise! Yes, the mobile bicycle repair shop was pretty cool :) Next time I'll try to find more pics!

A very interesting market indeed. Love your photography. :)

Thanks very much, great to meet you! :)

I love that the #MarketFriday posts take me places I might have never seen otherwise. :D

Thank you, I agree. Isn't this a great idea? :)

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Bond. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

That was nice of him to fix your tire... you can get some really cool stuff in Mexico for really cheap!!! Great post.. here is a tip!

Thanks very much! I remember you from Tsu :)

Yes on tsu.. and on facebook too!!!

Right! Of course... I have trouble connecting names and nick names sometimes... errr, I mean often :)

Great to see you taking part in MarketFriday!

Thank you! I feel like I skimped a little on the photos, everyone else made these long photo journal posts! :)

No worries. The best part about Steemit is the freedom!!

It's the wild west!! :)

How wonderful and such interesting market! I have only been to Cancun Mexico once from the cruise ship so there weren't time to discover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52