MarketFriday - initiated by @dswigle - Buddhist Statue Shopping !!

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone here we are back for another #marketfriday initiated by the lovely @dswigle and it's Friday again. Yesterday i was asked by one of my work colleague who has been an friend of my for awhile now , he asked if i wanted to go and see Buddha Heaven with him i didn't understand what he actually meant by that but it sounded good so i said yeah why not.

oik3impoeg.jpg

0n9ogfeh2g.jpg

41wxhkmtsf.jpg

8ctcqvyp57.jpg

0qklmh1p6d.jpg


So we took the skytrain from out front of our work to the Bangkok river pier jumped on a taxi boat a 15 minute boat ride and we were there. On the way i tried to get it out of him what do you actually mean by Buddha Heaven , is it a Temple , his reply was you will see. So getting of the boat we walked through a couple of alleyways and were greeted by a Thai man playing soft music with a Violin and this was the entrance to Buddha Heaven.

6a28y2jvzq.jpg

c4ghutj0os.jpg

86rbj1639z.jpg

qbsigmici6.jpg

jlm3fpcia9.jpg


Entering this small street it had Buddha statues shops on either side and running the whole length of this street and a couple more alleyways that branched of this street now i could see why he had named it Buddha Heaven.

rljkqtipsk.jpg

3et2zc4a1v.jpg

ajef2i8p3q.jpg

dojxzc5ccy.jpg

h949oyq2op.jpg


Now my friend Andy knows that i love Buddhas and he certainly bought me to the right place i have traveled many Asian countries and have be living in Thailand 8 years now and i have never seen in my life so many Buddhas in one place this was just mind blowing , exciting and overwhelming to put it mildly , i was like a little kid in a candy store.

f8034m6rol.jpg

3plp7s4t9m.jpg

ozbnte1ryq.jpg

7b7nnhyehv.jpg

w25opjim7b.jpg


There were Buddha statues here that i had never even seen before dating back centuries of every legendary monk or symbol of Buddhas relating to some spiritual fact. I could not even begin to tell you the meaning of all these Buddhas statues i am witnessing here today , all i know is they all represent some believe in spiritual strength , good luck and good fortune to the people of the Buddhism religion.

1cw6tl57qr.jpg

0lcn4s2spj.jpg

hwg1pxc58i.jpg

5jrf2kyrqy.jpg

v46zvegj1x.jpg


There was just no end everywhere i turned there were Buddha statues and everyone of them had a legendary story to be told i got to say it was breathtaking to be surrounded by so much history in one place.

036zhf7evd.jpg

mgy73ng6ao.jpg

5jrf2kyrqy.jpg

hjmy16n1mb.jpg

hkjlixgg94.jpg


Even though as you might have noticed every shop has signs up saying no photography but that did not stop me and no one was saying anything so i just kept snapping away as much as i could , they were all to busy playing with there mobile phones or eating anyway...hehe.

31wi8ilvqk.jpg

24u362exga.jpg

4e50hzsaet.jpg

ot6zm0h69c.jpg

30b3oa7wzs.jpg


The reason Andy wanted to go to Buddha Heaven was that his wife has a Pilates studio and the studio has a beautiful garden surrounding the premises , the garden was in need of a few larger Buddha statues as in Thai tradition it's not only nice to have Buddha statues around the home or business but they believe the Buddha brings you good luck and good fortune.

0wmq3q6nr8.jpg

Andy bought the Buddha statues he needed and the shop owners will do the home delivery because to heavy for us to carry home and we say good-bye to Buddha Heaven , was truly a awesome experience for me to see so many Buddhas Statues in one place and if you are ever in Bangkok and would like a Buddha statue to take home with you this is the place to go most definitely.

lfo9x3w80q.jpg

Was nice seeing and meeting everyone at Buddha Heaven till next time good luck and good fortune.

s7kmkcz9vj.jpg

o0s3mikf8p.png

For more Travel, Food, Drinks & Adventure..Be Sure to Follow and please feel welcome to Upvote and Resteem. Thank you for stopping by and your support.

x1ezmfj9xx.png

2vdbaldy6i.png

Apologies if this post was to long but it was really hard to decide which photos to show you people , myself i love them all i hope you did also. Thank you everyone for taking your time to view this post.

Sort:  

That is a LOT of Buddhas ! ... .and it was very interesting to see your photos of this market.

Thank you @jacey.boldart definitely a lot of different Buddhas in one place was really thrilled to have been able to see this :)

So many statues. It means that many people buy and have something like that at home. Excellent post, shows us a bit of the tradition there. I'm confused because I knew the Buddha was fatter.

Definitely a lot of Buddhas in one place and it is a good business because every household will have more then one Buddha in there home. The fat Buddha is representing happy and joy they all have a different meaning to many to list.

And thanks for dropping by my friend :)

Incredible! Heaven, indeed! I love them all and your contraband photos are amazing! It must mean that tourists aren't allowed to take photos and get in the way, but legitimate purchasers can take a photo or two if they have money to spend. I would love to see all those Buddhas. Thank you so much for taking these photos. I'm quite astonished by them all. Resteeming.

Thank you @melinda010100 yep your right the people spending the money they will not say anything to you and it was a outstanding place to see i never imaged you could see so many Buddhas in one place :)

You knew I would LOVE this, didn't you?? Oh, my!! I can only say that I have never even dreamed of that many Buddhas in the world. I swear! Room upon room upon room! There was no end in sight!

I will say that the sheer vision of these had me mesmerized. You know I love Buddha and the very last one with the gold was a prize! But, then I saw the jeweled one and then there was one with the most elegant patina ever! Oh, my God! The dragons turned my head, I won't lie. I wouldn't mind having them side by side guarding my door. Or anywhere for that matter. Do you see how nicely the copper shows off the color and the patina? So rich and beautiful. I could stroke it until it shone. Oh!

It would be easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer amount of Buddhas they have here, for I do not know what each of them means. I am not sure how one can distinguish one from the other, but I do know Buddha Shakyamuni is the historical Buddha and has the blue hair and very few articles of clothing on. I have familiarized myself with the 10 most important Buddhas and after that, I am wandering ignorant. LOL

How could this guy keep this from you for so long? This is like a best kept hidden secret kind of place! I didn't even realize they had places of this magnitude!

I am sure you are still dreaming of this place and I promise you, if I ever get to Bankok, I will be dragging you to this store. Oh- and the high-end mall. :) Thank you again and again. You bring me a surprise every single week and I promise you, I enjoy the heck out of each one! Thank you for the time and effort spent and I am sorry for leaving you to last, but, I do love to enjoy them!

Upped and Steemed

Tip! .2

Edited: As an aside, I actually thought the first Buddha looked like the Dalai Lama! Am I wrong in thinking this? "Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." The Dalai Lama

My friend has told me about quite a few places i should visit but this he did keep a secret for a while but left the best to last and till today i am like you said dreaming about this place i honestly didn't think there could be so many Buddhas in this world but i was certainly wrong and was astounded to actually know that they are many different Buddhas in this world and all meaning something.

And you are right it is Dalai Lama because they have Indian people also selling and making them Buddhas in this area they put one there's to show there respect.

This one was for you and so happy you enjoyed it. Thanks for the lovely comment and the wonderful Tip :)

Hi @hangin! You have received 0.2 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Any idea what most of those statues were made of?

What was the most expensive one?

Posted using Partiko Android

Most of them made by copper most expensive i saw there was up to $6k us but that's the really tall ones.

I must say I would be like a kid in the candy store too. Oh my goodness, I could not even dream of something like this in my wildest dreams. I love Buddha and I have two statues on each side of my room, but I would not be able resist getting third one sure. Great shots my Friend; I really enjoyed browsing through Buddha's Heaven 🌸💖🌸

Thank you so much for checking out my Buddha post i must say i was absolutely astounded to see this place and like you i could not help myself to buy another Buddha even though i have about nine of them and if i had more room i would buy even more :)

It was my pleasure and thank you for sharing such an amazing experience!

You are most welcome @lenasveganliving !!

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

It surely was a pretty nice experience getting to see all kind of Buddha statues all around. I am curious about one thing, what is the history behind the statue that has many arms? I have seen it a lot but I dunno what it represents.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 83%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

I was honestly overwhelmed i did not know there were so many different types of Buddhas in this world the one you are asking about with the many arms they call that one , Bodhisattva who hears the cries of the world and embodies the compassion of the Buddhas. When it sees and hears the suffering of others it respond to that suffering. Like the body of all Buddhas.

Indeed Buddhism is quite an interesting religion, do you know a book you thin fits a total newbie like me? I would like to get more familiar with Buddhism concepts.

I would just google Buddhas and read up on the ones you take a liking to , as for books i can't really help you on that :)

What a unique entry. Not taking so many pictures would be virtually impossible. Hard to believe there are more around the corner.

I am so culturally dumb. I understood Budda was a very strong influence but did not know they influenced and represented specific or different facets of life. Lots to learn.

Would they ever sell all of these?

And here is an American curiosity question.....i don't know why I thought this, but do people judge by your Budda statues? I imagine there are commercial ones, cheap ones, simple and eloborate statues. Is there any form of status with which Buddas you display and of what their value it is?

I am not a shopper. Put me in a place like this and I would turn around in fear. Give me one good Budda shop and I'll find one I want.

However, if they have an Earring Heaven there, let me know.

Buddhist is a religion of true facts no one judges you but if you treat Buddhist the wrong way there is a thing they call Karma and it will come back and bit you if you do wrong by others. Out of all religion i do love Buddhist because it eventuates from true facts.

People buy Buddhas for all sorts of reasons it depends what they want and believe in , it can be for good luck , good fortune , good health and the list goes on. Price rang from 10 us to 20k us depending how big you want it and what metals you like it made in.

Peace and Joy to you !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45