Cracow's Cloth Hall: a market or a temple of art? ( a lot of photos )

in #marketfriday6 years ago

This is my contribution post to #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle.

The Cloth Hall ( Sukiennice ), located in the middle of the Main Market Square, is one of the most characteristic monuments of Cracow ( Kraków ). Just as in the past, this building primarily performs commercial functions.


IMG_3244.jpg


The history of the Cloth Hall is as old as the history of the Main Market Square. At the time of the location of the city under the Magdeburg Law in 1257, prince Bolesław Wstydliwy also promised to build cloth stalls for the residents. The first Cloth Hall was stone, the next, erected in the middle XIV in. By Casimir the Great - already bricked. Although the Gothic building did not survive the test of time and burned down two centuries later, some fragments of its walls have survived to this day. The fire, however, turned out to be a kind of boon for the building. The Cloth Hall was rebuilt in the Renaissance style. The building was raised by one storey and crowned with a magnificent attic with a comb decorated with gargoyles designed by Santi Gucci.


IMG_3251.jpg


IMG_3255.jpg


IMG_3256.jpg


IMG_3257.jpg


IMG_3258.jpg


IMG_3261.jpg


IMG_3262.jpg


IMG_3263.jpg


IMG_3264.jpg


IMG_3269.jpg


IMG_3268.jpg


IMG_3273.jpg

gregbanner.jpg

Sort:  

This was fabulous! I love the Cloth Hall! It is one of my favorite places to pick up little gifts for everyone back home!

The carvings, the rosary beads, the amber in abundance! Oh, it is still full of wonderful charming wares! I would love to take a horse and carriage ride around the old part of town and listen to the town crier as he announces from above.

Wonderful post! Thank you!

Upped and steemed Tip!

How wonderful that you like my post. I am very happy to hear that you so much enjoy it. Maybe one day we will see there for a cup of coffee my wife @margaretwise would be very glad :) Greetings :) Thank you

Oh, my goodness me!! This brings back many happy moments spent there...and the last time we visited was Summer 2013...looking at your beautifully presented story - makes me soooooo homesick! Thank you! :) taking this with me...uv

It's hard to go wrong with Cracow. The city is magical. Thank you so much and I am happy for yur nice memories ;)

Wow, so many beautiful things, I wouldn't know what to choose. I love the decorations on the house!

It was very hard for me to choose either :) Thank you

My pleasure!

this is really great thanks for sharing wonderful pics you shared

Thank you so much :)

It's amazing, very beautiful art and architecture of buildings. Awesome place, great post :)

Indeed, Thank you :)

Historical place with such a great market to enjoy in wow this is beautiful

Amazing place and so magical. Thank you :)

Wonderful contribution by you today this is really fantastic to see so nice to see the pictures :D

Thank you so much my friend :)

so many amazing things to explore and see this is stunning to view wow thanks for sharing

Yes, so true. A lot of to see :)

a very unique and interesting market @gregbit.
from the picture I see very beautiful for shopping or just a walk.
hopefully healthy always for

Thank you. I love that market since I was a boy ;)

Hi @gregbit! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes To The Art Auction Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

How wonderful that you like my post. I am very happy to hear that you so much enjoy it. Maybe one day we will see there for a cup of coffee my wife @margaretwise would be very glad :) Greetings :) Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55