MRT Sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend Market

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

I love the Weekend Market at MRT Sutthisan in Bangkok Thailand. The market starts at about 3 in the afternoon and most of the selling is done by 7. Everything you could possibly want is for sale there but this post is only about a small selection of the food on offer.

Each food I am showing you is sold by a different vendor and these photos were taken on a Sunday. If I showed photos of the food on Saturday, nothing would be the same. The rest of the week, this large space is a parking lot and you would never guess a full blown market would appear.

Fresh vegetables are sold in many stalls and are always as fresh and lovely as you see here.

Market Friday peppers and veggies mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

This stall mostly sells greens of many varieties. Everything I have every tried has been delicious and inexpensive. As in - I get an armload for under a dollar.

Market Friday veggie stall mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

The breaded veggies here are flash cooked in oil and this lady never stops working. You can see the products of her labor in the back of this shot and part of the crowd that never thins.

The little nuggets of breading that fell off are being saved and will sell just as fast as the actual product. This is something I do not buy or eat and I am pretty sure it is not very healthy.

Market Friday fried breaded veggies mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

Various chicken parts are on the barbecue and then loaded up over here for sale. The closest sticks in the photo are chicken livers and I am an addict.

Market Friday chicken sticks mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

Pork chops to die for, and pork liver I love, are sold at this stall. Between this place and the chicken liver place, I can spend all my money and be very happy. I'm not sure what the strand-y looking things are behind the liver, but they are not my favorite thing.

Market Friday pork chops and liver mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

Here is a close up of the pork liver because I love it so much. I usually try to make it last and eat it cold from a bag in the fridge as long as it is still there. It is sweet for some reason and kind of tough when cold. I do not know if that sounds appetizing to you, but it is heaven to me. I gnaw on it like an animal and feel fulfilled.

Market Friday Pork Liver mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

These sushi pieces are sold by a family, with the husband making the creations, the wife selling, and the daughter taking care to make sure all the plates, and stock, and tongs, and picks do not run out. Each piece is 5 thb which is 15 cents usd. If I get a lot, I also get some more for free. The entire family wonders how one person could want so much sushi when everyone else only gets 4-6 pieces.

Market Friday sushi mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

This bucket of live fish is part of a stall I should have showed more of.

Market Friday live fish mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

Here is a short video I shot on a different Sunday. It's mostly clothes and housewares, but I show this fish stall near the end of it.

And it would not be a market in Thailand if there were not bugs for sale!

Market Friday Bugs mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

I have tried every bug I have come across as they will always give a free sample. I have not liked one yet. I thought bugs would be crunchy and spicy, but instead they are mushy and bland.

I hope you liked this little tour as much as I like the actual event. I have photos of the non-food items and will save those for a future post.

My post is for #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle. This is an awesome place to find all kinds of things for sale around the world so please do stop by!

Before and after later that same life fitinfun.jpg

I am blogging about weight loss these days to help others get thin and healthy like I did. Please follow along and you can do this too.

Let's Pretend to Lose Weight - Deciding to track your weight and face reality
Yes, You CAN Lose Weight! - Finding out your BMI and getting over excuses
Weight Loss - Let’s Get Started Today - First steps to successful weight loss
Portion Sizes and Nutrition How big is a portion of food?
Weight Loss Bad Ideas Don't try these!
Easy Exercise - Stretching and Walking If you are fitness walking, stretching before and after will help you in many ways.

Help Us Stay on Steemit

If you would like to help my son @bxlphabet and I stay on steemit, but your upvote is just not enough, here are my wallet and PayPal addresses where I will be so grateful for any help. You can check out my Ulogs for details of our situation. Any input or ideas will be so welcome.

BitcoinCash - BCH

1Bmcyk8Fk9micU3RWjWu3H1P2fvHyj71d6

Bitcoin - BTC

362ncqbi6qJn1daB8mrRrjYYWJ2HwpvcPZ

Dash - DAS

Xs7xdJHeRHRqdwF8RQuo6tPHUdXPm7viZp

Litecoin - LTC

Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

PayPal Thailand:

[email protected]

PayPal US:

[email protected]

Sort:  

Wow. Sharon! What an experience that was! I love these kinds of markets and to have it available every weekend, well, that is just heaven! Livers were my favorite kind of food to eat, sweet jesus! However, I stopped eating organ meat a few years back as it is the filter for all kinds of toxins in your body. Believe me, it was hard for me to stop as I loved it, but, it may be different there.

So tell me about your move?!!

I need to profusely thank you for this amazing post showing off your market. You did a most excellent job and I love that you presented it at #MarketFriday!

(I apologize for running out of tip money before I got to you! I will make it up to you! xo)

Please don't worry about the tip Denise! You do so much for so many people. I was so happy to see all the Market Friday posts over there on your feed.

I eat organ meat for my arthritis and it seems to help. ALL food in Thailand and most of SE Asia seems to be healthier for me compared to food in the states. I have been eating as clean as possible for a few years and it is so much easier here. I can eat all kinds of things I would not eat there. The only issue is with desserts that are frankly awful. But I guess that is good for my weight.

I'm moving because I have been in Thailand on repeating tourist visas for over two years and they do not like this when I return lately. I keep getting pulled into secondary checks at the airport and it is quite terrifying. The last time I returned from Yangon and the first lady checking me wanted to send me back there. Luckily a supervisor came and let me in. I'm not doing anything wrong, but I'm unusual. If I was young and healthy I would have never made it back in last time.

They want me to get a retirement visa, but that is too much money and I don't have a pension or anything like that. Just book sales, affiliate sales, and now steemit. It's enough to get by but does not qualify for that Visa.

So I'm going to Malaysia for at least 90 days and maybe more depending on how it goes. I plan to stay in Kuala Lumpur on one thin dime and that's about all I know right now. No Visa is needed and they do not care what you are doing there. I've been there and really like the country and people from what I've experienced so far. It should be exciting :)

I'm so glad you like the post and I am committed to showing you the rest of the market non-food items next week.

Well, that is so sad to hear! They seem to take everybody else into the Country Inn not care too much. Isn't there any way that you can get a working Visa? Just curious.

I agree with you that the organ meat is probably much better there than it is here, I just guess I worry too much about stuff like that. I imagine that the food is healthier on some level because it's fresh and probably so much less antibiotics and weed killers and all sorts of good poisonous things for us. I always say that your body talks to you and if yours is saying that it feels better, I am sure that it is. I'm sorry that you have to start all over again, but perhaps it's in the plan and things will go possibly for you. There is always the added bonus that you are getting some of your health back and you just can't put a price on that. Good luck and let me know when you'll be leaving.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 108 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you my bot friend. You always give me so much hope!

Nice to see you are still in Thailand and eating all that healthy food funny my post was on Thailand food vendors they always make very colorful posts.

I read about the problems your having if you really want to stay in Thailand and are illegible for a retirement visa i can help you with someone that is very helpful with visas. I have been living in Thailand 8 years now.

Nice to see you too :) I wish I could stay but I need to leave very soon. I do not have the income for the Retirement Visa. I have looked into that in the past.

My Tourist Visa is up on Aug 1. My plan is to train it to Malaysia. Everything in my financial life has fallen apart and I will be going on one thin dime. On the plus side I have found a hostel for $30 usd a week over there that seems to be nice. Small town Malaysia, here I come.

So sad to hear that but your a fighter and things will get better for you there is always a reason for things to take that path it could be a whole different adventure in Malaysia but if you ever decide to come back to Thailand i do know people that can get you a retirement visa without having to worry about the income drama cost you a small fee and all above board :)

Interesting. If I am able to get back I will look you up as soon as I arrive. If you want some drama, take a look at my most recent ulog. Holy moly, I am outdoing myself right now :)

I love the vegetables because of all the different colors, it looks so appealing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66158.45
ETH 3552.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61