Koeksisters and Pickled fish







Koeksisters and pickled fish are traditional South African food. The former is a standard part of my offering at the market. The pickled fish not so much. In our part of South Africa it is traditionally eaten at Easter (with hot cross buns in some households, but not this one, I hasten to add). It's been a long kitchen day with not just the koeksisters, but also cheese cutting, hummus, chicken liver paté and, finally, potting the fish which has already pickled for a week.

Now I am looking forward to an evening of wine and song. More of that tomorrow.

#marketfriday #SteemBloPoMo #PowerHouseCreatives #teamsouthafrica #share2steem #cooking #traditionalcooking #koeksisters #pickledfish #market #countryliving #mcgregorvillage #magicmcgregor #homemade

There it is - today's contribution

Until next time
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma

If you're a compulsive Instagrammer like me, Share2Steem and earn

Let me help you for blog posts any writing in English
Rates depend on the depth of edit required


DM me on Discord

More about why I am offering this service here

Join Us On Discord

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Sort:  

Yummy!!! Chicken liver pate!!! You are always so busy making for the market, among other things! I am with you on the pickled fish, I have never been a fan of it and I will eat anything seafood.

Gefilte fish is a dish (from carp) is the only one that I have tried and to be honest, only eat it if it is served at Passover at my friends home. As for me, I pass on it.

This is a wonderful post and I am so happy to have you join us here at #MarketFriday!

Could you please drop your link on my post in the comment section so that they are easier to find for all. This is much appreciated and if you don't have time, don't worry about it. xo

As always, I wish you a wonderful weekend and Happy Passover!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thank you and chag Pesach samech to you

Posted using Partiko Android

Chag kasher v'sameach!! Have a most lovely weekend!

Oh, I love chicken liver pate!! Did you make it yourself, Fiona? It’s something I’ve never tried my hand at.

Happy Passover to you xxx

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yip @princessmewmew, it's my mother's recipe. Been making it for years and now sell it at the market. Some folk say it's better than Woollies'! Not difficult to make...

Chag Pesach samech to you!

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @fionasfavourites! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46