Meet The Corn Husk People

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Today is Friday, I mean #MarketFriday. I'm a huge fan but somehow today I forgot about MarketFriday. Shame on me. Good thing I had to reply to Denise's comment and just realized I need to do a post.

Going through my craft fair photos I came across these that worth posting about. This was something new to me, I've never seen such art at the craft fair although I'm a regular, never miss the occasion.

IMG_20190517_121339a.jpg

These figurines or I don't know how to call them, are made of corn husk and dressed in Romanian folk costumes.

IMG_20190517_121349a.jpg

Here's a close up photo for you to see the details. The whole figurine is made of corn husk, except for the vest of the woman, which is crocheted. Some of the corn husk is dyed to have the desired color.

IMG_20190517_121353a.jpg

These are ordinary village people, women with aprons and head scarfs as they were usually wearing those back in the day.

IMG_20190517_121357a.jpg

They are all wearing opinci, which is a traditional Romanian and Eastern European footwear made of leather. In the back of the photo you can see a pair which is just a demonstrative pair for people to see. You can also see tiny baskets made or rope and filled with grass and containing chickens, symbolizing Easter as the fair was right after Easter.

IMG_20190517_121404a.jpg

These women are wearing leather vests and the one at the bottom of the photo has a spindle that was used to make wool yarn. Back in those days everything was done manually, handmade. Clothes, shoes, furniture,tools, houses, everything.

IMG_20190517_121329a.jpg

Meet the artist. This is the woman who is creating these wonderful figurines. When I arrived to her stand she was telling some people her story. She said she wanted to create something unique and interesting keeping the tradition alive. So this is how she came up with the idea of using corn husk because that was part of these people's everyday life and it's also organic material. She's created these figurines to illustrate what life was like once.

This is my entry for this week, see you next week.

Sort:  

I haven't seen these little dolls until now ... I like the lady who made them. Thanks for the presentation. $trdo
@tipu curate

Congratulations @bluemoon, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @erikah!
@erikah will receive 0.32364000 TRDO & @bluemoon will get 0.21576000 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I haven't seen them either. It was new to me. I'm glad you like it. Thank you.

With pleasure!

Very Nice

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

Very beautiful crafts that you share with us!

I'm glad you like them.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 5 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you pix

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Many thanks

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 75000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Yay, another milestone!

Congratulations @erikah, your post successfully recieved 0.32364 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@bluemoon earned : 0.21576 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I love the way they have taken the liberty of making Village People out of corn husks. There what's a place here in the states that would make larger dolls from corn husks but you couldn't actually play with them because they were too delicate. Of course, it was in corn country in the middle of our country. I absolutely love the small details that they pay attention to and how they dye the tusks to create pieces of their wardrobe and clothing. I've actually never seen the little Miniatures before and I thought they were very well done and I cannot imagine my big hands trying to make something so small and delicate.

I want to thank you once again for always bringing such quality posts to Market Friday! I appreciate all the hard work and effort in taking pictures and putting a post together. That, and finding something different and unique to post. I must admit that you have a winner every single week. So thank you very much and just know that I appreciate your support of Market Friday. And of course I hope you have a most wonderful day.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Runaway Train Of Love Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

You have received a @buildawhale manual curation vote.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44