My Valley View Farms Return Trip

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Happy Market Friday! Today, I'm returning to Valley View Farms! My husband and I are on a mission to find a particular tree so lets get to it!

4s14uj2tr9.jpg

4d1dy2fiof.jpg

My husband has tried to transplant a Mimosa tree in our yard three times now and all three times they didn't make it. So we set off to Valley View Farms to see if we could find one and have better luck with a potted tree. Valley View Farms is located at 11035 York Road in Cockeysville, Maryland and if they don't have it then I don't know who else would.

kpt9w1djf5.jpg

We set out early in the morning and arrived as they were opening. There were only a couple of other customers there so it was nice that it wasn't crowded. They had lots and lots of beautiful trees, shrubs and bushes to see.

harv6028dz.jpg

86r47cdlfw.jpg

In one area they had a lot of Hydrangeas and I was very much tempted to purchase a couple but maybe next year.

bncnc4l8uj.jpg

nsao4uh3i4.jpg

t8lzdu59sn.jpg

prauejxbqk.jpg

26rkin7nv6.jpg

I got to see some gorgeous trees and shrubs as we continued looked for a Mimosa tree.

5l9ykrp07x.jpg

thtxa1toku.jpg

9bho7lezkl.jpg

We did finally find some but they were the wrong kind. We found something called a Chocolate Mimosa which, honestly, I had never heard of before. It was nice but my husband said he would prefer the green Mimosa. I did mention that I wondered if the blossoms smell like chocolate! My husband and son did not find my joke funny at all...womp womp! Oh well, after talking with an employee we were told that those were the only Mimosa trees that they had...womp womp!

191zwcd56y.jpg

Maybe this nice fellow will find my joke more amusing! I also love the reflection of the tree on the bench in this photo.

zpo35nn27r.jpg

Now you know that I'm not going to go to Valley View Farms and not visit the Koi ponds right?! That is exactly what I did!

ihd51ak6vg.jpg

d7zs40zgku.jpg

I was surprised by how high the water was in the big pond!

gwoiqtoww0.jpg

f6z0q4of2x.jpg

jl0xzefrhp.jpg

0upq9ly6qa.jpg

It was so full that it was much harder to see the Koi fish but the water lilies were amazingly beautiful.

53l7lk03i0.jpg

n1dn5fqc8u.jpg

sm40fjdhd4.jpg

There was a lot of Milkweed around the big pond which was attracting lots of butterflies. Quite a few had rough looking wings. I guess it is getting late in the season for them and soon they will be gone.

bpl4wwhnhp.jpg

bc2ill3uuv.jpg

I took this last photo on our way out and again did not get to stop into this particular building. Oh well, maybe next time!

uszr1ku9y9.jpg

We did decide to stop at a smaller farm in the area to see what they had. They did not have any Mimosa trees either but the gentleman did tell us that most farms and garden centers don't carry them. Turns out they have a tap root which makes them hard to transplant. I thought it was nice that he took the time to explain a little about them though. My husband did order some seeds to plant. I also read that they can become invasive although my mom had them in her yard when I was growing up and we never seemed to have a problem with them. You know what I do know that is highly invasive and that is Porcelain Berry vines but that is a story and post for another time! 😉

Thank you @dswigle aka Denise for #marketfriday!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!! Very much appreciated!! 🤗

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteemapp!! Much appreciated!!

Looks Like a big and expansive garden center, I love the Koi Pond shots, I would love a Koi Pond when we move but I also know they can be a lot of work and maybe that's not something i want LOL

Thank you @tattoodjay!! Valley View Farms is a great place to visit and I always enjoy visiting the Koi ponds when we go there. I feel the same way about having a pond myself. Between the work and mosquitoes, I'll stick with visiting other peoples ponds..lol. 😉

I hadnt even thought about the mosquitos let me scrap that idea immediately, but I am still very tempted with plan B to set up a reef Salt Water fish tank when I retire, still a lot of work to get it set up but no mosquitos, and its work I would love to do :)

I think plan B sounds like a great idea! My brother-in-law has a large salt water aquarium and it is beautiful. Whenever I visit, I always enjoy looking at his set up. 😊

All depends on how much I have spare once we have moved and bought all we need they are not cheap to setup

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted as @SteemitBD curation support. Steemit Bangladesh is the first youth-run community organization from Bangladesh to empower youths on steemit. You can also check our Social Business Service @SocialBot to get a profitable offer for you.


Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-valley-view-farms-return-trip


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

great shots beautiful 🌺 🌺 🌺

I could spend hours checking out a garden center, Dee.Too bad there wasn’t a green mimosa tree. Lovely shots of the pond with the lily pads.
I’m happy there was milkweed plants for the butterflies. 💕 🦋

Thank you Jo!! The water lilies were really pretty and I'm so glad we took a few minutes to visit the pond. The butterflies were a nice surprise too! 🙂 💞

The plants looks very healthy in your photos, and the flowers in the first photo looks amazing!!

Thank you @rynow!! This particular place is well known here for the quality and vast array of items they offer. They are also featured on a local news channel quite often. A great place to visit during the holidays as well but they do get extremely crowded during certain times. 😉

Great place just to walk around and take pictures.. And that is exactly what you did :-)

Thank you @manorvillemike!! Yep..lol..and that isn't even everything. The place is pretty big and they have a spectacular Christmas display during the holidays. 😊

Ohhhhhh...what a shame that you didn't find your Mimosa tree but at least you got some seeds and got to see all your lovely Koi fish still a nice day out by the looks of it. Have a great weekend :)

Thank you @hangin!! It was a lovely visit and I'm glad we stopped at the other farm and the gentleman took some time and enlightened us a bit on the Mimosa tree. Wishing you a great weekend as well!! 💖 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75