Lesson #13 - Steemit Tables - Check out my Markdown Course!

in #markdown6 years ago (edited)

Learning Markdown helps you make your great content look great!

I created an online course called Steem Markdown, which teaches you how to use Markdowns to format your Steemit posts.

In this post, I am including information from Lesson #13 - Tables.

If you want to access the full online course (19 lessons) for FREE, click here!

Getting Started

Tables are used in Steemit to organize information.

Important things to remember:

  • Tables must have column headers.
  • Column headers will automatically be bolded. You can add other formatting as you see fit.
  • You create division between each column by using a pipe:|
  • Column headers are followed by a series of dashes and pipes. There must be at least 3 dashes between each header cell.
  • Text within the columns of each table can be left or right aligned.
    • Markdown in other programs can support center alignment, but Steemit does not support center alignment at this time.
    • Left - -------- or :-------
    • Right - --------:
  • Although not required, you can use outer pipes | and an equal number of spaces when designing a table to make it more aesthetically appealing in the Markdown code.
  • Steemit automatically uses a zebra formatting pattern to help distinguish between different lines in the table.

The Comparison

Basic Table without outer pipes

What you type:

First Header | Second Header 
------------ | ------------- 
A | C
B | D 



What you see:

First HeaderSecond Header
AC
BD


Basic Table with outer pipes

What you type:

| First Header | Second Header | 
| ------------ | ------------- | 
| A | C |
| B | D |


What you see:

First HeaderSecond Header
AC
BD



Table with a right aligned column and uneven spacing

What you type:

| Left Aligned | Right Aligned | 
|--------------|--------------:| 
| A | 1 | 
| B | 100 | 
| C | 1000 | 



What you see:

Left AlignedRight Aligned
A1
B100
C1000

Practice Makes Perfect

Now it's your turn to practice what you have learned.

  • Open Steemit.com and click Submit a Story.
  • Copy the following text and paste it into the Steemit Markdown editor.
First Header | Second Header 
------------ | ------------- 
A | C 
B | D


| Left Aligned | Right Aligned | 
|--------------|--------------:| 
| A | 1 | 
| B | 100 | 
| C | 1000 | 


  • Customize the look of your tables (both the code and the end result) by
    • Adding or removing the outer pipes
    • Adjusting the number of dashes you used to create the heading sections
    • Change the text alignment from left to right or vice versa

Please give me feedback in the comments section. If you have any questions feel free to ask!

@sumatranate


Join the Steem Markdown online course for FREE!

Sort:  

I love this markdown tutorials @sumatranate ! Thank you very much this will greatly help! :)

@leahlei, I am so glad that you like them and so glad that they are helpful!

For someone who is a first timer in markdowns this is easier to understand, compared to the "Marking Style Guide" when posting. :) Appreciate this a lot @sumatranate ! :)

Thank you for the link...I need to practice this to help my own posts look a little more professional.

@matthewwarn, you are welcome. Try out the course and let me know what you think.

Really liking these tutorials, I think its important for all steemians to learn how to make their posts a bit more appealing. I enjoy using tables for pictures, great way to not clog up my post with huge pictures, they look a lot neater when done in a table style. Good work my friend

@jasonhick, you are very welcome. Thanks for the kind words of encouragement. My goal is to help people make their great content look great.

And when you know Markdown, you have a great tool to do just that. You are right on about using pictures in tables. Thanks for stopping by!

Totally agree. Looking forward to seeing some more of these guides in the future. Would specifically like to see one about how to use emojis on a regular PC. I can do them on my phone 📱 but not with my PC

I will try to write up a tutorial about it!

a very interesting post @sumatranate
very helpful for beginners who want to know more about steemarkdown

@andhika12, thanks for the kind words. I am glad to help you and other beginners learn how to use Markdown to format your Steemit posts.

a very interesting post @sumatranate
how i want to learn markdown when i do not know anything about markdown

@boyan140799, I created a FREE online course about Markdown. If you want to learn more, please join my course.

Join the Steem Markdown online course for FREE!

to be honest I have not understood how about Markdown Steem and not how I understand about your language, but I'm trying to identify her with google translate. Thank you for postingannya and I strive to always follow your postings with your language defines a way to use google translate ...

my greetings to you and your family.

@popon, salam dari AS. Markdown ada bahasa sederhana yang biarkan anda mengformat posting Steemit.

Saya buat kurus gratis untuk mengajar Markdown (tetapi ditulis dalam bahasa Ingris).

Silakan coba. Memang gratis. Klik disini untuk bergabung!

This is a wonderful article. I can see that you have done a lot of research and your subject knowledge is good and impressive.
This is Nitin, I also like to write for an education blog www.cleariitmedical.com - This is an online blog for students who want to prepare for India's most difficult entrance exams - IIT JEE and NEET This is a free blog and provide free study material, quiz and notes to those who can't afford to pay hefty fees of coaching institutes. I write free of cost for the good cause. I know you must be busy with your work but if you could take out some time from your busy schedule and have a look at it. I saw a good collection of articles. If you only write a few words about this blog then it can help a lot of students out there. Thanks!

Very nice article! I'm Preeti, I write for educational blogs. I make a collection of wonderful educational blogs from where I could take inspiration for writing. This article really inspires me though it is a little different from my domain but nonetheless it is a good writing. I sometime write for a education site blogs
www.clearexam.ac.in Let me know your thoughts if I could contribute to your blog too

Wow! Such an articulate post it is! I am a fan of your writing. Being a new writer, it's always good to see inspiring posts like this. I am a management graduate and write for 12th pass students for various career options. I write for a good blog: www.clearlawentrance.com I want to write about a lot of things out there, please guide me on how I can become a good blogger.

Hey, it's Smriti. Your article is a good one. I must say not everybody knows how to write blogs and make them look professional. Being a law student I always look for data points like charts, analysis in articles. Yours seems to give justice to the topic. My personal style includes a lot of graphs, numbers and informative videos. I write on
www.successmantra.com for law related exams.

Hello and thanks for sharing. Also would like to share the work of RUSBM STUDIO, whose services i took recently and they are doing tremendous job in architectural design. Go avail their services at resonable cost and see the results for yourself. Contact them via their website : https://www.rusbmstudio.com/

Looks like quite an amazing resort. You never have to leave the hotel area. Hope you're having a great time, don't forget to put some sunscreen on ;)

Haha well that's embarrassing. This is what happens when you have steemit opened on 2 different devices, trying to multitask. This comment was not meant for you. But I guess if you are somewhere where the sun is strong, putting on sunscreen is always a good idea haha. sorry about that

No worries man. Life happens and messagse can get crossed when you are using two devices.

I thought it was funny. I will be sure to put on sunscreen the next time I am out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47