Hold the Front Page! Having Trouble with Markdown? See Here.

in #markdown7 years ago


Source

 
Last month I wrote a lengthy Beginner's Guide to Markdown post, and a few weeks ago I posted Muxxy's Toolkit, the first part of which featured various sites that make it a little easier to format your posts with markdown.

Today I want to introduce you to another tool I have discovered called HastyMarkup. Its creator is @odrau and the app is in active development, v1.1 was posted YESTERDAY.

What is it?

HastyMarkup is a Windows app that you download from HERE. Once you have installed it, click the post button on Steemit, Busy or any other front end. Next, fire up HastyMarkup. You will be presented with a toolbox like this:

Capture.PNG

This toolbox can be moved anywhere on your desktop, just click and drag along the top edge where you see the picture. It sits on top of everything else on your screen.

As you can see, it has buttons for all sorts of formatting, including some like text justifying that I didn't realize you can do on Steem posts - a little like this paragraph right here. This pleases me no end.

In addition to the regular formatting options, HastyMarkup includes options for saving snippets.

Capture.PNG

In this picture, I have already saved my regular footer code into snippets, so next time I write a post, I simply need to select it and then click the clipboard icon to insert it.

Dividers contains 6 options for inserting a page divider, as well as the option to add your own by clicking the little gear icon to the right. I inserted a bundled page divider here.

The way I use HastyMarkup during testing is to have it sitting to the right of the post window in the white space, like this:

Capture.PNG

That way it doesn't obscure what I am typing and I always have access to it. Just remember to highlight the text you want to format first, otherwise it will insert the code and you will have to go in and type inside the >< brackets.

I hope you found this useful and encourage you to visit @odrau's post announcing v1.1 in the following link, to show a little love by upvoting him.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@odrau/hastymarkup-v1-1-powerful-app-with-gui-for-the-markdown-editor



gmuxxxx.png
Banner by @hoschitrooper


Like what I do? Vote for my witness by clicking THIS LINK. Thanks for your support.

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Hello @gmuxx
This is very useful, it will make posting and use of markdown easiers, thanks for sharing.
I have to install it now.

Sounds like a cracking tool mate. Having saved blocks of text is a godsend!

Yup, just for that alone I will use it. I have text files saved with snippets I use regularly. This will speed things up immensely.

Hey, @gmuxx these have been very useful. My wife @freedomtowrite and I have both been using your tips to try to make better looking blogs. It is amazing how good you feel when you learn how to simply bold a word or put in a page break. I look forward to reading more! @freedompoint

Post this in MU if you haven’t yet :) also, brilliant tool. Nice find muxxy

Holy Moly that's great! I can't wait to give it a test drive!

I need something like this for my phone lol

Oh my god this is amazing!

Great info! Thanks muxxy!

Awesome! It so great! Very useful. How did you do this? Are you a computer science graduate @gmuxx?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44