My Steem Toolkit

in #tools6 years ago (edited)

tools.png
Original Source

One of the beautiful things about Steem is that the blockchain is able to be accessed by all sorts of wonderful services that can make your job monitoring your account a lot easier and insightful. In this post I will show you which ones have become my daily sources of data and a few that I started to use to make my posting life easier, which may be of use to you - although I no longer use them.

Formatting Posts

 
In my early days on Steem, I struggled to get my head around using markdown for formatting my posts. I found http://www.steemstyle.com/ by @newandold.

Steemstyle.PNG

As you can see in this picture, you type in the left hand window, click buttons above to apply certain formatting options and see the result on the right. Once you are happy with your post you simply copy the code from the left window into your post on Steem.

I then discovered https://steemwriter.learnthis.ca/ ,written by @unipsycho, once I learned a little more markdown.

Steem Writer.PNG

Again you have side by side versions of your post, the code on the left and result on the right. This time however there are no buttons to click to add different formatting, so you must type the code. The advantage though is that you see it on the fly, side by side with what you are typing, instead of on Steem where you must type then scroll below to see the result.

I no longer use either of these and type all the formatting code by hand, but some may find them useful.

What the hell am I doing?

 
So you want to track votes, (gasp) flags, follows, replies, resteems and all that juicy data? There are a few useful sites I use regularly. The first is @jesta's https://steemdb.com/

steemdb.PNG
Oh look, a witness vote ^.^

On the first page you get an overview of activity on your account. Click one of the many tabs up top though and you reveal a real treasure trove of data regarding your account. Feeling nosy? You can check other people's accounts too the same way. Maybe you can learn their blogging secrets?

Another invaluable site I use is https://steemd.com/ - to look at your account just add @accountname to the end of the URL eg. https://steemd.com/@gmuxx

steemd.PNG

This is written by @roadscape and while it presents the same information as the overview page on Steemdb, here I find it's cleaner and less cluttered. I also get a glimpse of my current voting power. I also like that, as I am a witness, on the left towards the bottom I can see data pertaining to my witness at a glance and a list of the witnesses I vote for. Good also for checking out the competition ;-)

steemd2.PNG

The final site I use in this way is https://steemworld.org/ made by @steemchiller.

steemworld.PNG

I mostly use this to keep an eye on my voting power and to dial in how strong it needs to be to vote for a certain value. It will also let you know how long it will take your voting power to regenerate to maximum. There are different tabs on the left to access other account data such as witness details, delegations out and in (currently disabled), balances on your account etc. Below that you get an overview of account interactions, as with Steemd and Steemdb. Underneath this there are your recent posts with current values and at the very bottom you can get the page to tally your potential author rewards.

A site I use sometimes in my capacity as moderator and curator is http://www.steemreports.com/ brought to you by @steemreports. It gives you a clear visual idea of voting patterns and can help to reveal duplicate accounts that always vote within the same circle. Very useful for sniffing out less wholesome Steemians who try to cheat various systems.

steemreports2.PNG

It is also useful for getting an overview how you yourself have voted. For example, a while ago I made a pledge to no longer upvote any of my own content.

selfvotenone.PNG

Mission accomplished.

Show Me The Money!

 
As much as we might like to pretend it's not why we are here, the money matters, right? I touched on checking post rewards with steemworld.org but the first site I used to monitor my future earnings and post payouts was http://steem.supply/. This was made by @dragosroua

steemsupply.PNG

Simply insert your Steem username and the site will generate a report for your next seven days payouts, including posts and comments. As you can see, it calculates the USD value based on the current value of Steem / SBD.

Another site worth checking is https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts. This is one of many tools built by @ausbitbank.

steemviz.PNG

This one gives you the SBD rewards.

What about those bots?

 
Voting bots are very popular on Steem, although I myself do not like to use them. When checking out any potential for ROI on any of these bots, check out @yabapmatt's https://steembottracker.com/

bottracker.PNG

Rather than blindly sending SBD or Steem to a bot in the hope of an upvote worth your money, use this site to check who has already bid and what the chances are you will profit (if at all).

Witness the Witnesses

 
It is important that we all support our witnesses, large and small. I posted about it HERE if you want to learn more. It's ok, I'll wait...

Back? Good. As mentioned in that post, check out https://steemian.info/witnesses - built by @drakos <-- he's a witness you know.

witnesses.PNG

The site gives you a clear idea which witnesses are on the current version of Steem, tells you if their price feed is up to date, let's you know if they miss any blocks and if their witness is disabled. A vote on a dead witness is a waste of a vote.

You couldn't possibly have any more sources of data?

 
I'm not quite done yet. Please meet GINAbot.

ginabot.PNG

Discord communities are a fantastic resource for networking and I am a member of several. As well as communal channels to talk, chat and share, there is the private messaging system. By signing up for GINAbot, you get tailored notifications of everything you could wish to know about your Steem account, in real time, as it happens. Incoming votes, their power and value, flags, mentions, resteems, transfers to your wallet, follows and unfollows, mutes, witness votes. As I have 3 accounts I run, I can add all of them to my notifications.

gina.PNG

Built by the talented @neander-squirrel, other features allow GINAbot to notify you when selected Steemian post, any delegations awarded to you or returned, you can have GINA watch for certain words or tags of interest - be careful though, these notifications can become a little intense with wrongly used tags and common words.

So now you know how I know the instant anybody interacts with me on Steem ^.^

Do you know of any other useful Steem Tools I haven't mentioned? Share below and thanks for reading.




Like what I do? Vote for my witness https://steemit.com/~witnesses - scroll below top the 50 witnesses and enter my name in the text box, then click vote. Thanks for your support.

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

A really good write up mate, as good if not better than I've seen from anyone else. There sure are a lot of ways to distract yourself from writing posts now eh!
Well done Dude.

Best write up of all the tools I've seen anywhere. I also learned about some new ones I had no idea existed. I've been looking for a better way to write up posts. I'll give these a try. Thanks @gmuxx!

Nice one. An essential list of tools for any dedicated Steemian.

I'm using also https://steemstats.com for getting an estimate of my curation award for my last votes.
I like https://steemnow.com for a quick summarize.

@ausbitbank.did great efforts, I come to know that steemit word press is also n process

@gmuxx sir, Thanks for sharing this. i have been looking for ways to format my posts properly. I have looked at many markdown sites that are for free bt i was not satisfied. i will go try this ones out.

This is great, Muxxy! I've been using some of those tools, but the side-by-side editors is new. Definitely gonna check them out!

Excellent summary. I had most of these bookmarked, but steem.supply was new to me. And I stoutly refuse to install Gina.

Discord is enough of a time suck without extra time-sucking addons.

Sorry, Gina.

Weird. Gina rocks...

WOW I didn't know more than half of all those tools, specially the online markdown editors are a blessing. THANK YOU for sharing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98