March Madness ResultssteemCreated with Sketch.

Freewrite House.png

madness.png

March Madness

It is over! Can you believe it? Where has the time gone? What a month it was!!

These are the Writers that set out on this crazy adventure.

@kaelci
@ireenchew
@mariannewest
@kaerpediem
@linnyplant
@aislingcronin
@balticbadger
@wakeupkitty
@juliamulcahy
@carolkean
@jeanlucsr
@freedomtowrite
@wems
@harmonyval

I have to admit right now that I (mariannewest) never even got started. It sounded like a great idea but - you know that but - life just ended up busy with other things. I do think that most of you can relate to this.

Between us we had broken computers, sickness, sudden new work commitments, travel and a myrad of other things keeping us away from the keyboard.

But you know what - it is okay. For those of us who couldn't or didn't write hte next best seller this time, there is always another month. I hear that November is an excellent month to write a novel. Mark you calendars to be ready for November Madness on the 11/1/2019.

madness.png

The Results

The following writers entered at least some of their wordcount into the spreadsheet we had set up to keep track of your numbers.

@kaelci
@kaerpediem
@balticbadger
@wakeupkitty
@juliamulcahy
@carolkean
@harmonyval

The following writers did not enter anything in the spreadsheet but they interacted with the prompt post either by dropping their posts, or telling us that they had written something. Or at least used the tag.

I am sorry to say that for the most part, I was only able to upvote the ones that actually made a comment on the post. It is very timeconsuming to try to hunt posts down.

@aislingcronin
@jeanlucsr
@wems

madness.png

The Numbers

Each writer might have written more. I can only give you the numbers that were entered into the spreadsheet.

@kaelci14,000
@kaerpediem1,283
@balticbadger50,003
@wakeupkitty50,001
@juliamulcahy3,197
@carolkean18,903
@harmonyval3,350

Carol had more - but that is what I had on the spreadsheet.

madness.png

Prizes

This is what we had promised to you!

20 SBI donated by @kaelci!

10 SBI by the Freewrite House

1 SBI for everyone that finishes from @mariannewest

We have Two Finishers!

Congratulations to

@balticbadger and @wakeupkitty

Well done!!

You each are receiving 15 SBI from the Freewrite House and 2 SBI each from @Mariannewest.

Screen Shot 2019-04-03 at 2.41.15 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-04-03 at 2.53.19 PM.png

madness.png

The Fans

When I asked the writers to tell me how their fans were during this month, these three names came up.

@owasco, @wakeupkitty, @carolkean

Each of you is receiving 5 SBI. Fans are so important to make a writer want to write more. Thank you so much!!!

Screen Shot 2019-04-03 at 2.44.19 PM.png

madness.png

A for Effort

You know how we roll at the Freewrite House. We like to give out As for effort. and what better way to give out SBI to all that at least wrote a little bit.

Thank you all so much for going on the March Madness Adventure with us!!

@kaelci
@kaerpediem
@juliamulcahy
@carolkean
@harmonyval
@aislingcronin
@jeanlucsr
@wems

You each received 2 SBI from @mariannewest.

Screen Shot 2019-04-02 at 12.18.08 PM.png

Keep on participating in all the fun adventures waiting for you at the Freewrite House - and don't forget to tell your friends!!

And let me know if you like to help with some Freewrite House task - we have all kinds available from tiny to big LOL

madness.png

Make sure to Join the 5-Minute Freewrite Daily Prompt found @mariannewest.

Look for this

Imgur

Also, check out this post: Future of the Freewrite House 1

Freewrite.png

Check out These Contests and Events at the Freewrite House @freewritehouse

  • The Freewritehouse Literary Talent Award - English & Spanish

  • Freewrite House Author Reading Contest

  • WE-Write

  • Recommend Your Favorite Freewrite & Freewrite Poetry

  • Adopt Me!

  • Beta Readers Group -ongoing - sing up anytime

  • Steemzuela Ventest - Fables of Venezuela - English & Spanish

Join us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FreewriteHouse

Sort:  

Oh geez….I suck and I am sorry that I wrote 1 paragraph and played countless hours of PoE. But congrats to all the amazing steemian writers that worked so hard this month!!

No worries. Maybe by November you are sick of playing the game and will write with us instead LOL

It's unlikely I'll get sick of it soon. But it is on my plans to put some hard restrictions on PoE and get back to running and writing. Just after a stressful work day, bashing some monsters seems like a good way to chill. You organising these events actually serves as a reminder tbh. I've felt a heavy pang of guilt a few times. hehehe Keep up the good work, you do encourage us even when we don't write. <3

No guilt :) I am glad that it is encouraging and any time you come back to writing, we love to have you write with us 😄

Nobody sucks it is like @mariannewest said there is a life next to writing and you can start again

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the being so nice about it. I sometimes join these things just to be reminded that I don't write enough. I will get there. I haven't drawn or written much in months, and both are activities I love. I just haven't been relaxed enough. I'll hopefully find my way back to the creative pursuits soon. They are very important to me.

Then write daily a bit private. Just for you how you feel and who knows it reduces the stress. It is strange how easily we give up on what we like. I wish you a great day with some time to write ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Woohoo! It was so much fun to take part, even though I didn't do a lot (I don't know what my word count is, but it's been all about the journey ❤). Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sigh.....look at my count... so sad hahahah

Well, congratulations to @balticbadger and @wakeupkitty

Well done :D

Thank you! I'm pretty sure it was you that showed me this challenge, so double thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh, then double yay :D

Congrats to @wakeupkitty and @balticbadger! Well deserved!
And thank you for my prize! I just love that @freewritehouse gives prizes for being supportive.
I loved reading all of these stories. All the writers have my deepest respect.
xo

Thank you!!! You're the best!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a wild ride! Thanks so much everybody!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are welcome :) I hope that you will continue to be part of the Freewriters and partake in the Freewrite House activities.

Yes!

Completely agree with everything said.

@balticbadger and @wakeupkitty, congrats!! And thanks for always having a story up when I needed inspiration for a freewrite.

Thanks to @owasco, @carolkean and @wakeupkitty (again) for being so attentive and such awesome mmfans. I know I stopped halfway, but you kept supporting me regardless. But I picked up again and as some of you have noticed, will continue the @freewritehouse storyline. Just with shorter stories 😅.

Btw.. didnt fill in the spreadsheet. End total in words was just short of 10k.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a great number of words!! So glad that you decided to join in!

Thanks and you're welcome and I noticed you continued it by freewriting so your book will be there soon! Happy day and writing

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha.. thanks! I might consider the freewritehouse book indeed. I'll make it my July or August project I think. Or.... november 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I won a prize for commenting?? That, I never expected! THANK YOU!
Yes, my total was closer to 26,000, but I never kept a close tab on that one. I'm allergic to numbers. Thanks again, @mariannewest, and next time, I hope travel, illness, etc will not keep you from writing/participating. You should take back that 5 sbd for comments though and reward yourself for all your work and encouraging words!

No worries. You are the best!! and we need to get you lots of SBI so you get a bit more rewards on your posts!! You always write such wonderful stories and comments and such - and I want to see wealth flowing your way :)

Awww, THANK YOU, Marianne!!
I should work harder at getting stuff in publishable form. Anthologize the short stories, finish the novels. You've been a great inspiration!!

You deserve it you gave me the best comments 💖

Posted using Partiko Android

Aw, thanks! Do you have the whole 50K story in one document, e.g. with a link to a google doc? I continue to hate reading chapter by chapter relying on a wi-fi connection to access it when I could beam it over to my Kindle and read in one big chunk, in the car, no wi-fi needed. I love your anthropomorphic wind and the element of magic in your story. I blush to confess I haven't read all 50,000 words!!!!

I am rereading it myself and try to use Grammarly this time. I do about 1 part a day hopefully I can increase it in 2 parts.
Hell of a job since I have to copy parts out of Word into "notes" first. Word is too small for me to read on my phone.
Next, I put it back in Word and later I will make one document out of it.

I never saved a doc in Google so I need to figure that out too 🙁.

No need to blush I never posted all 50,000 words plus they are getting less now I reread it. Should I write extra?

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know that you need to "write extra," but you can save yourself some time and avoid Grammarly, which is good to an extent, but not trustworthy. If you get it all in one doc and beam it over to me, I'll have a look. I can't imagine writing a novel on a phone or, worse yet, editing it on the phone!! If you do use google docs, you can send a single link and mark it "Read only," Comment Only, or allow edits, which the author can accept or reject. It took me a long time to get used to Google docs, and I still hate things about it, but for editing, it's easier than Word.
It's all tedious, whatever you use, Word, Google, grammarly. Which is why I gave up full-time, unpaid editing at Steemit (my whole first year here). Keep me posted!

You need word or is open office fine too?
I will check it make one document out of it and figure out how Google docs works. Damn yesterday Word saved my edit and it was blank and the old version was gone as well. Good thing I saved a copy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no - Word saved your edit as a blank document?? Yes, keep backups!!
I've never used Open Office, but I could try.
Word is fine - easy to beam over to my Kindle.

For some reason, my gmail address can't forward to my Kindle (gotta look into that) - so if it's a Word doc, send it to kean88 at lower-case-letter-Q dot com.

Yes it did save it as a blank document. If I use grammarly on the text in Word it makes a mess out of it. Frequently it takes the end of 1 word and the start of the next word as says the word does not exist.😟

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations to you all. 💕🌹

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks 😁💖

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @balticbadger and @wakeupkitty!!!!!! 😀

Must prepare myself for November!!
This time I'll take a page out of @aislingcronin's book and actually work on something I LOVE instead of something random.❤️

Thanks again for everything!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much! 💖 looking forward to read it once ready

Posted using Partiko Android

That sounds like a great idea!!

Thank you very much for the challenge and the big price! #mmfans for reading! 💖 to all of you.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33