Makeover Monday - Cover Songs From Television Shows Pt. 1

in #makeovermonday6 years ago
Today's #makeovermonday is going to focus on covers that I have heard from various television shows, with the exclusion of "Glee". This is mainly because all they did on that show were covers. I have heard some pretty amazing covers on television shows and I have even featured one on a previous post by Michelle Branch doing a cover of Radiohead's "Creep". Let's face it, some covers are great, and some songs should just be left alone. So, my dear readers, I would like your input on the selections I have chosen. Should they have been remade and covered, or should they have just been left alone? That's the question for this week's post. I will also give a brief description of the show that the song was featured in and try to give a little insight if I can. Certainly, some cover songs are very noteworthy while others, well, not so much! So, let's get started.

1.Jolene by Slowdown (I believe that's the artist's name according to Amazon) - This song was originally recorded by Dolly Parton and was featured on the television show The Blacklist. I was recently watching this show and heard this and while I never liked this song before, I really enjoyed this slowed down version.

2.Love Is A Battlefield by Wrongchilde ft. White Sea - This song was on the television series Stalker and is slowed down tremendously to go with the show. The series has since been cancelled, but it made great use of songs and remakes by slowing them down to go with a stalkerish feel to them. The song was made famous by Pat Benatar back in 1983.

3.To Sir With Love by Katey Sagal & The Forest Rangers - This song was featured on the television series Sons of Anarchy and despite having played Peg Bundy, I was really not expecting to hear such a voice from Katey Sagal. She sings at least one track per season. This song was originally released by Lulu back in 1967. Again, I was never a big fan of this song for some reason, then I heard it on this show and it was more tolerable for me. I'm not sure why I never really liked the song before, but I'm guessing the lyrics had me confused when I was younger and it made think something obscure about it. I won't get into the details. Then I thought to myself that the studio enhancers can do a number for voice tracks. Then I checked out some of Katey's live performances and she sounds just as good.

Sort:  

Those are some nice selections. There was a season of Grey's Anatomy a year or two ago where the person who does the music took all 80's songs and found interesting covers of them.

I need to pick back up on Grey's Anatomy. I think I stopped watching after Isaiah Washington left. Things got really busy in real life and I stopped watching and just binged watched shows I had already seen in case I fell asleep.

Oh wow! That is way back. That is actually probably right around when I started watching it. Really I just started because my wife watches it, but I enjoy it now.

Yeah, I binged watched it on Netflix for a while. I may have watched a little past that, but I honestly can't remember.

Oh I am really liking that Jolene makeover because Whatever Dolly Parton did to it, didn't do it for me. Katey Sagal? I had no idea she had that in her.

Stellar makeover Monday!

Upped and Steemed

Isn't it amazing how good her voice is? She also did a cover of Greensleeves that I was contemplating showcasing that I actually like better than the original. She really can belt on some songs in her and I swear after watching her as the matriarch on Sons of Anarchy, I will never see her as Peg Bundy again. And I agree totally with the Jolene song. I could not stand the Dolly Parton version. Thanks for the upvote and steem! :) Much appreciated!

Three very interesting selections. I love the Jolene cover, amazingly. I didn't think so much of 'Love is a Battlefield'. I'm a big Pat Benitar fan is probably the reason for that. I saw her in a small venue with Melissa Ethridge opening, the music was amazing.

To Sir with Love. I liked the Movie, it was a good piece for the time. I didn't particularly like the song because it was played twice per hour on pop radio (and there wasn't anything else). I like this cover. From Peg Bundy. Who knew?

Thanks for another great Monday Makeover.

Thanks for checking out my #makeovermonday post again @bigtom13! I'm glad you are liking this column. I wanted to showcase some songs from the show Stalker mainly because they are slowed down so much that they actually sound "stalkerish". But yeah, I was never a fan of the song Jolene until I heard it a few days ago when watching The Blacklist. Go figure! And Katey Sagal.....I will probably be featuring more songs from her in the future from the show Sons of Anarchy because she did some pretty good covers to songs I could not stand and now like her version of them.

Ironic isn't it?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilsaione from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82