Makeover Monday - Songs You May Not Know Were Covers Pt. 5

in #makeovermonday6 years ago
In continuation from last week's #makeovermonday, Part 5 will also be covering songs that you may not know were cover songs. Some of these may shock you. Some of these you may have never even heard on the charts when they were first recorded. Whether you've heard these songs and thought to yourself, "this song sounds familiar", and then found out that it's a cover. Many artists will do their own renditions of songs for one reason or another. It could be to be to pay tribute to a band or because they like the song so much that they want to do their own spin on it. Whatever the case may be, they did so well enough to make their mark on the music charts in one way or another. There will be some surprises on today's list I'm sure since at least one is a cover of a cover! So let's get this started, shall we?

1.It's Oh So Quiet by Björk : Björk released this song in 1995 but was originally released by Betty Hutton in 1951. However, did you know that Betty Hutton covered this song as well? It was originally a song in German entitled Und jetzt ist es still and was released in 1948.

2.Cruel Summer by Ace of Base : As a tribute to it nearing the end of summer, I thought I would throw this one in. Ace of Base released this version in 1998. It was originally covered by Bananarama in 1983.

3.Twist and Shout by The Beatles : The Beatles released their version in 1964 and anyone who's anyone and has seen Ferris Bueller's Day Off knows the infamous scene in the parade where Ferris is lip-syncing this song, but The Beatles actually covered this song. The original song was released in 1961 by the Top Notes.

  • So, did any of these surprise you? Leave a comment to let me know. If you know of any other versions of these songs I might have missed, let me know! Which versions do you like the best?

Check out some of my previous #makeovermonday posts:

Sincerely,
Ilsa Ione

ilsaione_red.png

Sort:  

I was driving down the road the other day and I thought of one that you should cover. Actually a couple if you are not adverse to country music. "I will always love you", "My Maria", and "Calling Baton Rouge". I always enjoy seeing which songs you pick every week! Keep it up!

I honestly didn't think many people read these! "My Maria"! I remember line dancing to that song by Brooks & Dunn at a country western bar on family night on Sundays when I was a teenager. I will be honest with you though, I don't tend to listen to much country music, but I do listen to it sometimes. I will be putting some country in the mix soon!

Awesome. I was so surprised when I found out that Brooks & Dunn covered it.

I like this column, always a joy. I knew about the Beatles and the original but the other two escaped me.

Betty Hutton picked a good time. I was born in the summer of 1951 :)

I thought of one also. Tumbling Dice- Rolling Stones. I actually have a copy (and heard) the original day before yesterday.

Thanks so much @bigtom13! I am glad someone is reading it! I enjoy putting my music columns together because music has always been such a big part of my life. I can honestly say that I can associate songs to different times of my life as well as the people who were in it.

And The Stones are definitely on the list! I am just pacing myself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80