Makeover Monday - Cover Songs by Female Artists Pt. 2

in #makeovermonday6 years ago (edited)

I almost forgot it was #makeovermonday! Continuing from last week, I decided to pull three more songs that were originally recorded by male artists and covered by women. Anyone can participate in this challenge, just make sure you use #makeovermonday as your first tag and make sure that your song is a cover song from an original song! Some of you may not have heard the cover version before. I sometimes prefer the cover versions better than the originals, but oftentimes, I will not tell anyone and will leave it a mystery. Do you dare risk guessing at which one I like the best? You can leave your guess or your favorite cover of the song in the comments. Please enjoy these cover songs and let me know what you think of them.

  • Up first we have a song that will forever be remembered from any Generation X'er who has seen The Breakfast Club. It's a take on the Simple Minds Song "Don't You Forget About Me" and is covered by Leelou.

  • Next, making her second appearance on my list is Sheryl Crow with her version of Led Zeppelin's "D'yer Mak'er".

  • And taking on "Always Something There To Remind Me" by the Naked Eyes, we have Hollie Stephenson.

What did you think of the songs? Like them? Not like them? Do you have a better cover of them? Let me know! I'm always looking for new stuff to listen to!

You can visit the very first Make Over Monday - Cover Songs by following that link.

Some previous feedback:

From @bozz: Very different from most of the Michelle Branch stuff that got played on the radio. I like it though!

Sincerely,
Ilsa Ione

ilsaione_red.png

Sort:  

I just want to point out that Naked Eyes didn't write Always Something There to Remind Me. It's a cover of a musical composition by Burt Bacharach and first recorded by Dionne Warwick in 1963:

Quite a bit different from what Naked Eyes did with their version, eh? :D

@modernzorker Thanks for the information! I was not aware that they had covered it! But at any rate, it's nice to have that info. I will have to do more research before I do anymore like that! haha! :)

Don't feel too bad, @ilsaione. I didn't know the Naked Eyes version was a cover until a co-worker asked if I'd ever heard the original Burt Bacharach version, and I was like, "Whaaaaaat?" :D

It's actually kind of funny the number of people who covered songs and made them way more famous than the originals were. For example, "Nothing Compares 2 U" was originally written and performed by Prince before Sinead O'Connor made it famous, "Tainted Love" was performed by Gloria Jones in the 1960's before Soft Cell made it an 80's classic, and Robert Hazard sang "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" all the way back in 1979, quite a few years before Cyndi Lauper made it famous.

Stuff like that is a great way to make a few bucks on "bar bets" with people who've been drinking, BTW. ;)

I will keep that in mind when I'm ever in a bar! haha I knew about the Prince and Gloria Jones songs, though. However, I had no clue about the Naked Eyed being a cover of Burt Bacharach. Even still, it's a good song.

Thank you again for pointing it out! This is not the first time I've been schooled. I was once schooled by a well-known actor on another social media platform on a trivia question I made up and I wanted to smack myself in the head over it when he spoke up about it! It was rather funny.

This is definitely a better interpretation of the subject, Naked Eyes does it well I do not say no, but seriously ... this girl sings in that way that "tele-transports you". Thank you for introducing me to this song @ilsaione !

@elisonr13 She does sing it very well. I like the way she sings it slower and her voice is amazing for this song.

It has a sexy, sentimental, strong and peculiar touch ... like those exotic ice creams you know? those that are not simple mantecados and chocolate, she brings peanuts, pieces of blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, you have good taste!

I never thought of describing it that way before, but you are right. It is kind of exotic and thank you! :)

On the contrary thanks to you!

That is a very nice thing to say! Thank you so much for saying and thank you for visiting my blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86