Daisy Bunny - #makeitmonday

in #makeitmonday6 years ago (edited)

Daisy Bunny

I love amigurumi. Over the next week I’ll be making lots of bunnies and lambs for Easter. This pattern, (which is not my creation, I found it years ago, and can’t remember where) I like to call Daisy. But, some of them turn out looking, to me, more like a boy, and I don’t have a name for a boy bunny, so they’re all Daisy until they are adopted and then they can be renamed by their new owner.

Edit: Thank you, @redwellies, I now have a name for the boy bunny. Everyone, meet Bob!



8170F51B-0DBC-44A5-8875-94610321BA3B.png



Daisy bunnies vary in size, depending on the yarn weight and hook size I use. This one came out to 20 inches from head to toe, and another 7 inches for the ears. I use safety eyes and noses on all of the amigurumi I make. This makes them safe for younger children.



3EAF3214-5B26-44AE-96CE-64FCFD0657C9.jpeg



I normally sell these bunnies, but I’ve got different plans for this one. Check back tomorrow to find out what’s in store for this guy (it looks like a boy to me).

E0CF14E3-FE79-4D29-B3EF-0BF3A6F5C1E1.jpeg

Sort:  

I think it looks like a boy bunny too. Bob is a fine name.

Aimee made a bunny one year as a Christmas gift. The poor thing was disfigured and Aimee was going to throw him out, but I rescued him because I thought he was cute and looked sad.

We call him Mr. Bun. At some point he may make an appearance. LoL

Every time a maker’s project is bound for the trash around here, someone takes a liking to it and rescues it. If anyone went through our most treasured things, they’d find a lot os cricked quilts and wonky pillows and and creatures with odd shaped heads and mismatched limbs. But we all have to start somewhere and even those of us who are well practiced make mistakes. My bedroom is like the Island of Misfit Crafts made by my kids over the last 20 years!

Well that's good to know. They might not be perfect but somebody wants them.

Aimee uses this account too and she read my first comment. She wants me to tell you that is what happens when you aren't working with a pattern! :D

Patterns limit the creative process... And sometimes winging it pays off! lol

Adorable! I agree, definitly a boy ( :
Is this crochet? My grandma taught me how to knit but I've never been able to pick up crocheting... I would love to learn how to make something like this though. Most of my stuff is just simple scarves of different patterns. How long does it take you to whip one of these guys up?

I’ve started making a video series, three parts, on how to crochet amigurumi. I chose a simple little octopus to teach with. This is the first time I’ve tried editing and such. I’m hoping to have it done and ready to post by Wednesday. I’m going to try to put ie up on dtube, but the video I made for making paper seedling pots wouldn’t load, so I just linked to it. We’ll see how this one goes. Anyway... I’ll be posting a howto in a few days!

@powellx5 He's just lovely! I have a feeling that Freyja needs to find a little bunny in her Easter basket, so I really should think about sewing her one. I also think that he should be called Bob the Bunny 🐰

Bob it is! Check out the edit. ;)

@powellx5 Ha!! How brilliant!! Love Bob the Bunny!! 🐰. And depending on your plans for Bob... maybe we could adopt him? OMG I just saw your post on the Momma Turtles & Babies - serious cuteness!! Are you going to auction Bob?

Nope, this guys got another destiny, but I'm going to post one for auction on Thursday, and hopefully another by Saturday. I'll let youknow when it's up!

@powellx5 Sounds good :) Intrigued as to where Bob will end up :)

Check it out! Bob’s got a home!

He's adorable, Shari! My paternal grandmother used to make knitted toys for children's charities, and I always loved them. They're each so unique and full of character, not to mention the amazing skill and the love involved in making them.

Is Make It Monday a join-in thing?

With love,

Jay x

Nope, just use it as a hashtag!

I’ve made a lot of these bunnies and each one has it’s own unique expression. I love it!!

This is SO cute!!! I ♥ him!

Thanks. I have so much fun making them. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88