So @whatsup Asked: "Are You An End-User That Wasn't Into Crypto Prior To Steem?"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mainstreem5 years ago

Thanks for asking that @whatsup!

I'm just a few days from my 2nd anniversary here, and I wanted to take on this topic because I believe it's important that we overcome a possible misperception that Steem and the Steemit community is just about developers and cryptocurrencies and blockchainiacs... and not for "real people."

If we're going to present some kind of "mass appeal," we have to present this place through the eyes of "regular social media users."

So, with no further ado:

Sunset
The beauty of a northern sunset

How did you hear about Steem?

Friend of mine was exploring various Universal Basic Income initiatives and asked me to take a look at an article. He sent me a link, and the article just happened to be published on Steemit.

Flowers
The promise of spring

At this point, I don't even *remember* the name of the UBI project, but I found myself intrigued by the high quality level of interaction in the *comment* section and decided to poke around here, a bit. And was further intrigued.

Ironically, I reported back to my friend and asked, "Yeah, but what about this STEEMIT place?"

"Nah, that's scam," he replied, "stay away from that!"

I asked him why he thought it was a scam... and evidently, he'd been part of the (then) recently closed down TSU community, and had decided that any site offering to pay contributors for content was "a scam."

When did you join?

January 29th, 2017.

Why did you join? (What was the attraction?)

Several reasons.

After a long hiatus, I was ready to resume "general interest blogging", which I did quite a lot of between 1999 and 2006. I was a mainstay on Xanga, which was a pretty amazing "Social Blogging" community that actually hosted 32 million blogs at its peak. The genre was pretty much destroyed by MySpace, but more significantly by Facebook... because those two basically took the content out of social media and turned the entire genre into fluff.

Flowers
Bright yellow calendula

So I was basically ready to start a new blog. With that said...

Steemit had the "feel" of that type of Social Blogging. Not just fluff. Above average level of respect and interaction. Intelligent discourse. Alternative viewpoint existing side by side... rather than the petty infighting and skirmishes I had grown tired of on Facebook... especially in the wake of the 2016 US Presidential campaigns and elections.

The other attraction was the suggestion of the blockchain as a "permanent record."

Part of what had put me off starting as a contributor on yet another content site was my experience that they all seem to fail and shut down after a few months of years. And — as a content creator — I'm sick to death of constantly backing, up and porting my stuff around... and then having to start all over.

Have you expanded your crypto life beyond just Steem?

Before joining Steemit, I was mildly familiar with Bitcoin having been introduced to it as "digital money" in 2013... when I determined it was "too technical" to deal with. I was also peripherally aware of Ethereum because a friend worked briefly on it.

As for expanding, I have a small amount of Bitcoin and Litecoin.

As a side note here: I never held any of these as an investment, I held them in anticipation of them growing into true currencies that would become a method-of-payment on a broader scale.

In many ways, I think the entire industry needs to do a lot of *"image repair" to shed the perception in the broader public that cryptos are purely ultra high risk investments, not something more functional and tangible.

Sunset
Sun reflecting on water

How would you explain your current interest in Steem and Crypto in general?

In many ways, I am still true to the roots of why I got here:

  1. I believe in the idea of social content communities where contributors get rewarded for content.
  2. I believe in systems that can facilitate some variation of Universal Basic Income
  3. I am interested in developing "alternative economies" based around peer-to-peer commerce using something other than fiat and a bunch of intermediaries.
  4. I really like the potential of cryptos to "bank the unbanked" in parts of the world experiencing political/economic instability.
  5. I still like the idea of the Steem blockchain as a permanent repository for some of my creativity. I like the idea that my grandkids — at age 50 — might be able to look here an get a sense of What G'Pa was doing 40 years ago.
  6. I would like to see our community expand into something that includes an internal eBay/craigslist/Amazon-like marketplace where we can all trade goods and services with each other, independently of the fiat world.
  7. In a small way (and this is SEVENTH ON THE LIST!) I like the idea of "building stake" as a sort of long-term savings account that also enables me to reward other content creators for providing value to the community.

Sunset
Another pretty sunset

Are you holding or investing (no judgment here, I am just wanting to prove or disprove the value)

I guess by your measure I would be "holding."

My "investment" is in community building and trying to create economic/financial systems for the future. And when I say "future," I mean 5, 10, 25 years down the road.

If I actually had any money to invest, I'd probably toss $10K or so in here simply for the purpose of having more voting power to distribute to a larger circle of worthy contributors.

Unfortunately, I don't so that's not really on the table. But asking the question in a hypothetical situation where I wasn't on food stamps and public assistance, yes, I would invest.

Clarification: "Investing," to me, means buying something and holding it for the long term. It does NOT mean "seeking current income." /end clarification


OK, I believe that hits your main talking points.

I'm taking the liberty of tagging @elipowell, our new "ship's captain," and @andrarchy, whom I think still checks in now and then... because this community is very diverse.

Thanks for reading!

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190123 17:15 PST

0860

Sort:  

Pretty much covering a lot of the things I would say even though I am quite fresh here and with less experience.

Also it is my first time blogging and interacting with people in this way. But there's time to learn, especially when looking towards this future decades from now ;)

In 2012-13, I remember reading about bitcoin, I shrugged it off for mainly the same reasons. Too complicated, bad math, must be a scam, etc.

What could we have done with a few hundred bitcoin at the peak.?

But I was eyeball deep in that data mine experiment gone evil called Fecesbook. Shitposting and yucking it up daily with hundreds of Fakebook Friends. 2015 came, with it came the thought police, shadowbans and straight up censorship. "Wrong Think," advertisers gone wild. Control freaks with unreliable algorythms.

Exit KrazzTrukker, I could not drop the Facist Book hot potato quickly enough. I missed the old Myspace, and playing around with code, customizing my page. It was simple, but just fun. I still have a myspace page today. Why? Who knows..... it is pretty much a non stop spam space now.

I heard of Steem long before joining. I may have clicked on a join link a few times a year or so back and saw the waiting list or purchase stuff and click again...... I was gone.

When I learn the in & outs of crypto, also blog for a year or so, then I may have an oppinion worth sharing. But for now I will read others, like yours, and trust in the experience and wisdom. Learn from it and just try to have fun with it for now.

My truck is out of the shop, good thing cuz this yard work is rough stuff. 12 acres here in the N. FLA jungle. I Spent the last few days cutting brush, dragging & burning in a fire pit. Whew..... I need 2 get to work so can take a break. lol (Photo)

Great post as always @denmarkguy

Good to hear you got the truck back... it has to be an expensive proposition to sit idle while it's being worked on.

Trying to find the silver lining in things, the ONE thing I do like about Farcebook and twatter and those is that they are still there, 12-13 years after I opened my accounts. THAT is one of the main things I have found dodgy about various alternative venues... I hate the hassles of either losing all my content, or having to suddenly download it all as a backup file, and then head off and try to find a new place to set up shop.

Thank you very much for writing this. I've been caught up in real life and an unexpected project. So, I haven't gone through them all. But I plan on compiling some information as well as get a count!

Yeah, I knew you were busy with "other stuff" so I was both pleased and surprised to see this pop up on your feed... I look forward to seeing what your findings will be!

Guess we do have things in common, I too am hoping for a long term investment and if I never get to cash-out well that is an investment of my time for my son and his kids. Hope he finds my password. :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

I definitely hope he finds your password... because there's no way in Heaven or Hell you can remember these passwords!

I went and did a proper reply to this post over on whatsup & followed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha - I was on Tsu as well and actually liked Steemit (that was the app I saw first as well) because it had a lot of the flair of Tsu and I really wanted to get away from Facebook and such.

Good for you that you got started here and I pretty much agree on all your points - just wished the infighting going on here would disappear...

I wish the infighting would subside, too... and I wish the seemingly opposite camps of "technology/apps" and "community" could figure out how to work together.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I came here because of the blogging-to-earn-crypto aspect. This was my first actual foray into crypto, and I have expanded to Bitshares, Whaleshares, and Weku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44