It Takes A (Homestead) Community: Helping One Of Our Own...

in #lovingluke6 years ago (edited)

One of our homesteadersonline community families is facing some tough times during the holiday season.
@daddykirbs' and @findingjoy's son, Luke had been in the hospital recently, and he just came home yesterday.

@frugallady, one of our other members has been thinking about the Kirbs family all week and has decided to start a little steemit support here and is asking all of us to say prayers, maybe pay-it-forward and help financially (every little bit of steem and sbd DO help) and offering anything you can think of to this family.
Head over to her post... this is what she has to say...

You can help!
You can help in many ways...

  • Upvote this post.
  • Resteem the post to spread it to more people
  • Write your own #LovingLuke post and send at least all the SBDs it generates to @daddykirbs (please use lovingluke as one of your tags)
  • Send some SBD or Steem to @daddy-kirbs with #LovingLuke in the memory field.
  • Keep the family in your prayers, together we can move mountains.
  • Let's stand together and bless this deserving family.

Luke is home now and @daddykirbs had this to say just hours ago...

The fever did not return. The white blood cell count dropped to normal. The smile returned! Praise God! You have been wonderful sharing in this with me. Thank you

PLEASE continue to support the Kirbs' family- stop over and offer your support to him and his family and makes sure to head over to @frugallady's post to see how you can help. EVERY penny earned from this post will be sent to the Kirbs' family in seven days. SO please help and UPvote and resteem!

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

How can we send money to them otherwise. I don't have much In my Steemit wallet to give but would love send actual money...paypal?

Not sure... let me do some asking and research. I'll get back to you

@mnmleger You really don't need to send me money. I do truly appreciate the thought. However, if you are interested in becoming a Patron to help support the creative efforts here on the Daddykirbs Farm I would welcome you to that family. Here's a post made today talking about that. https://steemit.com/homesteading/@daddykirbs/luke-loves-tao-patreon-supporters-and-more-love-luke

I just went through a medical ordeal and know the stress and strain it brings. I was poured over with love and folks sending money, scripture, and well wishes. Having experienced that I purposefully set aside a portion of my income to bless others like I had been bless d. If not money, is there anything you need?

Isn't community wonderful?! I'm so glad you had people pour out their love for you in that time. Are you doing well now?

I do have a goal to be home with my family full-time. Money is certainly a part of that, but I never want to be in a position to take advantage of others. That's why I love Patreon. People can give monthly as they see fit. Eventually this will be a steady source of income to help me achieve my goals. YouTube earnings have dropped off a bit with all the silliness over there, but that also is a source of income to help carry me to my goals. Steemit is playing a part in that too, however I'm conflicted most of the time on how to "best" invest those earnings. lately I've thought that I need to just re-invest into SP so I can bless others with a vote that has some value.

Soo.... What do I really need? It's time. Today I was presented with a question similar to yours here and it got me thinking. How do I give my family more time? How can I give more help to my wife so she doesn't bear the weight of caring for Luke alone?

I have already really scaled back on the number of hours I spend in content creation. At work I'm already taking every Friday off (took pay cut for that). These things have been a blessing in giving me time to be with my family. So, now... how to do more?

Without actually quitting my job I'm at a point where I'm not sure I can do more.

Goodness... I'm just running on. I never want to stop the giver from giving... I'm just terrible at being a recipient.

I def know the feeling! I hated to ask for help but when I did, my spiritual family SHOWED UP! I’m healed up about 70% now. I do flooring installation and now that’s a good thing considering 80% of this area flooded from Harvey! We def have similar goals. I would love for my property to provide income. Once we put our home back together we are looking to sell and buy some land in the Ozarks or wherever the fire and cloud lead us!

I pray that your body heals and your goals are accomplished!

Resteemed and upvoted @goldendawne and sending many prayers for these families. Added to our prayer chain at our church.

Thank you and I'm sure @daddykirbs thanks you too!

Thank you for joining in on the effort to bless @daddykirbs and his family <3

Thank you for taking the initiative to start this community event. It's people like you that make our homesteading community stronger every day!

my prayers for the kirb's family. may our God totally heal their son.

Amen to that! Hoping all the family can get some rest now that Luke is home to celebrate the holidays!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Id like to send a little something. You have @daddykirbs and @daddy-kirbs. Which is the right one to send to?

You are wonderful. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67241.02
ETH 3727.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77