Panamá Update Week 9 - Part II - Studio 21 D Progress

in #lovepanama6 years ago (edited)

MONDAY NIGHT - Assembly Work

Dear followers and by-chance readers.

Yesterday, I featured Manic Shopping Monday at PriceSmart to get much wanted and needed equipment for Studi 21 D here in Panamá.

For those who don't know me, I am a host on MSP Waves Broadcast and I am specializing in Video and Audio Productions via CHAOS Audio Productions S.A. Great fun.

Starting a new life in a different country on a different continent is an exciting project. To become productive and efficient, it is a good idea to create a level of functionality and comfort, which Monday Mania Manic Shopping Day was all about.

Here is what I had to load in the Ueber SUV after trip 1.5 to PriceSmart and Office Depot:

If you remember, I had to return a 3rd time that day to PricesSmart, as the router's power adapter was missing from the original box. During trip 3 to Via Brasil where PriceSmart is located, I picked up a raisable desk while I was at it.

Back Home

Sometimes, about 3ish pmish, I find myself back home. Quick router setup to secure the network properly and add the Wifi extender to increase the network range out the balcony and to the kitchen. I am much happier already.

At this time I realize that the glass wine I am having during the router setup is having quite an effect on me. Oh, I haven't eaten yet. OK. Ordering a Chinese... I found this amazing place that delivers quite fast and their food is just as I like it. I don't think there is a town in the world where you can't get Chinese food. Odd. Don't get German food all over the world... Who is the invader... :D

In any event. It's not such a good idea to eat and then plan to attack a couple of physical evening projects. But I am determined. In order to let the food digest, I am starting to label cables in the office for half an hour... Maybe I shouldn't have had that third glass of wine.

Switching to gummy bears.

Chair Assembly

I am taking my time with the chair, taking pictures in between. @r0nd0n's @freezepeach is starting soon. The network is working and apparently, @meno has the handover in hand... Ninja! Gracias amigo.

@Familyrpotection

Only now r0n is asking me to come on the air and talk about @familprotection at the beginning of the show. How could I refuse. 15 minutes turn in to 30, even 40 minutes, I think. But how could I refuse. It's a lively discussion and we receive good feedback from our listeners.

Finally, I am off the air and free to get started on the chair assembly. It is now 7 PM, and I am keen to get started.

The thing was fairly straightforward to put together. But wine and a long day urge me to take my time. I am approaching with pragmatism, as I really don't want to do this more than once.

Here we go...

GlobiStudioChairAssembly

Finally, the chair is securely put together and I am sitting it... Heaven in the office. Good decision. I did test sit four other candidate chairs in Office Depot. This was the clear winner.

The Raisable Desk

One heavy thing. I look as much forward to using as much as the chair. Made in California. The desk. Possibly the chair, too. Not made in China. Is there a difference between China and California these days? I am pondering the question and count 16 + 4x screws to fix, which seemed to be straight forward... but not so fast Globi!

What do California and Russian Tractors Have in Common?

I started to cuss a bit (baaaad globi!!!), as the design of the keyboard tray is, well, nice, but its assembly took me longer than that of the chair. It reminded me of trying to service a Russian Traktor in the seventies when I was still prisoner in East Germany.

These tractor things were impossible to dis- and reassamble, as all nuts and bolts were in places a kittie would have had difficultie squeezing into -- Never mind my not exactly slim hands.

Yep. This is what I rode in 1979/80...

Image Credits Wikipedia

I survived listing to r0n's overdrive banjo music pirate, which made the job at hand bearable. Painful nevertheless.

Those Californians... I muttered over and over again. Where is that wine?

Finally, all secured, double, treble and quadruple checked. Monitor placed on top. Cables routed and space re-organized. Incidentally, r0n is having enough and is ending his Pirate show.

I knew, finishing my office project at night would allow me to walk into a brand spanking new Studio 21 D in the morning with a Steeming Coffee mug in my hand - what a bliss. Every morning now!

Conclusion

The next two mornings: I had significant muscle ache... a good sorta pain - if you know what I mean. Need to get in shape again. Reassembly of my body... Just as well I got a comfy chair...

Did you enjoy my account of Manic Shopping Monday with Assembly for Studio 21 D?

&Please let me know and leave a comment below.*

Love
Globocop


PS:// The Gummie Bears are finished, too. Not one survived the night!


Thank you for reading.

globocop_small_orginalcontent.png

Proud Supporter of PAL and the - The Minnow SupportProject
Christopher "The Hat" Hatfield @globocop

[Upvote] [Comment] [Resteem] [Follow]
Globobop Curation Trail - Make your vote count - Upvoting Quality - Why not join today?


Sort:  

Is that allen wrench the only tool you had to complete assembly with? That's some Ikea level stuff right there. Gigg. Oh, I bet that mesh is sooo much more comfy and cool in the Panamanian climate than that leather chair you had before. YEA!! (I am looking forward to seeing Globo in those sunglasses. :) And no one of the Haribo nation survived? Tell me, did you save the red one for last?
I'm so happy to see you settling in, setting up the studio! Happy froxxie!

Nah, I did have a proper screwdriver also, but that sad allen wrench was probably made in China. I didn't bang my knuckles - that's a good thing. The red one was first. LOL

Hello, sir @globocop. I see you are settling well into your new base.
Your office looks great and well done with the @planktown too.
I hope I will be able to come to one of your coming shows.

Thank you @seyiodus. I hope all is well at home after these last few difficult weeks for you and your family?

We thank God for is grace. All is well. The 41 days prayer is coming up on Monday.
Then my mum can start going out again.
Thanks for all your support.

Nice set up! My pitiful desk made from 100 year old scrap boards pales in comparison, I hope it treats you well.

Thanks, r0n... Having big plans with the studio, so it needs to be presentable. I have no doubt your setup is nevertheless comfy! :)

I'm glad my overdrive banjo music could assist. Let me know next time you're assembling furniture and I'll do another show.

I will surely let you know :)
Banjo music has a energizer bunny effect on me - well that, vino and gummy bears. Especially red ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93