Panamá Update Week 9 - Part I - Studio 21 D Progress

in #lovepanama6 years ago (edited)

Monday Shopping Day: PriceSmart Visits x 3

Comfort, organization, and efficiency

Monday was the day that brought Studio 21 up a notch in professional design and functionality. I had my eyes on these five items for some time:

  • A raisable desk
  • A more comfortable chair
  • A Label maker
  • Router and Wifi Extender

The raisable desk allows me to work standing and sitting and anything in between. I spend long hours in the office/studio, and the first chair I bought was ok for a few hours at a time, but not for long days. It's also leather, which really wasn't a smart move given I live in Panamá now. Therefore a more egonomic design with breathable mesh that vents the air is a lot more comfortable and sensible.

With much gear and cables and plugs for audio, video production and radio broadcast always moving toward entropy (a fancy word for cable salad), I decided it's time to get the label thing started.

10:00 AM - Pricesmart - Visit One

The primary reason for visit: Get more of these comfy shorts and a Swiss-made rucksack, which will come in handy when I get a drone to rise above the Panama skyline to deliver amazing views to my Steemit followers... One step at a time though.

As I am always checking out new arrivals in Pricesmart, a label maker came to my attention. I wanted to get one for weeks now but always shied away, as I didn't think I was getting a fair deal in the various stores. I saw a Brother label maker for $29... and still was undecided. I didn't get it.

I also eyeballed a new router and Wifi extender, as Studio 21 is small enough to be cozy but big enough not to cover Wifi to balcony and kitchen. You see, I like to spend the first 20-30 minutes of my day out on the balcony with a couple of mugs of freshly brewed coffee, browsing Discord MSP/PAL, Steemit and emails. The Router was $89 and the extender $59, already exceeding my planned purchases. So, I didn't get it.

10:47 AM - Office Depot

Yes, the chair that wants to get my bum on... The main reason for my trip to the location. Office Depot is right next door to Price Smart. With my little purchases stuffed in the rucksack, I headed over to Office Depot. There it was. The beautiful chair. They had it - in stock. Not a cheap item either, so I thought to test it in different positions. God only knows what people thought looking at me...

As I was test-sitting in the store, I noticed a shelf nearby with routers. The shelves were four feet away. I rolled over on the mine-to-be rolling chair and had a closer look. Friends, I couldn't believe my eyes: There was the router model that PriceSmart had, lower specs for nearly double the price... I double checked the specs. Yep. So, that router in Pricesmart was a good deal. I would have to head over there again before loading the chair into an Uber.

This reminded me of the label maker. Brother, certain model. I soon found it and was shocked. Office Depot wanted $69. PriceSmart $29. No way José. Ain't gonna buy this from you. Note to self to grab the $29 priced unit from across the street.

And then I saw it - A camera tripod: 55 inches, professional design for under $40. I grabbed one!

Back to the chair. I purchased it. It took the boyz about 15 minutes to dig it out of the warehouse, but it finally was carted into the cashier area. I explained in perfect Spanish: I need to buy something at Pricesmart and will be back in 15 minutes. They understood and nodded. No problemo! Muy Bien.

11:23 - Price Smart - Visit Two

OK. What is it I wanted? Label maker, additional tapes for label maker, that's it. As I am paying at PriceSmart, I am ordering an Ueber SUV. That chair needs assembling, but it is still big, too big for a regular car. Wait - router and Wifi extender... Check & check!

11:42 AM - Office Depot

My chair and tripod from Office Depot and the PriceSmart items find themselves stuck outside. It's only 89F today, so not quite as hot. Rolling thunders signal the arrival of now daily rain showers. I don't mind them. Just the opposite. When it rains and thunders here, it's a spectacle. There are no lukewarm in-betweens in the tropics. It's everything or nothing nature offers. Awesome!

11:57 AM - SUV Arrival

Yes, you read right. It took 15 minutes before an Uber SUV made it here. For one, SUVs are not as common as normal Ueber rides, and two, El traffico es on poco loco at lunchtime. I sunbathed and enjoyed the world go by, contemplating which to install first. Router or chair. I voted for the router. And so it was to be...

11:38 AM Home

I am glad to be back. Now I can get my office organized.
Router first - for increased security and Wifi range. As I unpack the router, and hook it up, I am baffled. There is no charger in the box. It was sealed. I check the In this Package items. It lists the charger. No charger in box. I look frantically: couch, table, under the couch, under the table. No! There is definately no charger in the box. Sigh!

Easy Decision

Now, I could go back the next day, but that would be May Day, and God knows if they're even open. I might as well go back today to sort it out. Packing router back up, making sure I have the right receipt from PriceSmart, and order another Uber.

12:58 PM - PriceSmart Visit 3

Heading to the customer service desk, I noticed that my Spanish is getting better - because the Lady who listens attentively to my reason for return understands that there is no charger - and no, I would not want a refund. I would like a router with charger please. She smiles and get's one. When she returns, she opens the box, and there it is - a lovely power supply in it. I am happy.

Now, here is the thing. I remembered I needed more rechargable batteries for the Brother label maker. As I head over to the correct aisle. I noticed this raising desk that I planned to aqcuire while I was still in Europe. It's not the electric unit I was dreaming of, but it's perfect. It's only $168 and for the sake of my back, it's the perfect item to supplement my new ergonomic chair. The box is bulky - and heavy.

A youngster, perhaps not older than 16, asks me if he could help. Together we lift that thing on top of my cart. Very polite! I am grateful I thank the lad. I am smiling as I am happy to see young people being respectful here in Panamá.

Tomorrow, I will post the pictures of the chair assembly. After all is done, it's nearly midnight. Why so long?

I explain tomorrow.

The kitchen scissors you see above were bought some three weeks earlier. THE BROTHER label maker on Monday. @disarrangedJane noticed what I hadn't: Scissors and Label Maker are a Match!. Well spotted Jane!


Thank you for reading.

globocop_small_orginalcontent.png

Proud Supporter of PAL and the - The Minnow SupportProject
Christopher "The Hat" Hatfield @globocop

[Upvote] [Comment] [Resteem] [Follow]
Globobop Curation Trail - Make your vote count - Upvoting Quality - Why not join today?


Sort:  

Cable salad!! GIGGGGG!! That's funny! Yeah, I like the color scheme of the labeler and scissors. I'm sooo happy you got a comfy chair. You put in long hours in front of that monitor!

Yeah, chair and raising desk make a huge difference. Froxxie office!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41