The Fairy tale of love

in #love6 years ago

imageimagesource

While growing up I listened to the likes of celine don, Westlife,Joe,Rkelly and the likes of them, my head was filled with the lyrics of their songs and how love should be, like that was not enough, my favorite TV show was soap opera.. Damn!. I watched the likes of Diego and Paloma, second chance, passion! You just name it!

So in my head true love was supposed to be everything I see in movies and the lyrics of the love songs and my first kiss was supposed to be magical, sweep me off my feet kind of thing, I'm supposed to have butterflies in my tummy and sugar rush

But guess what?

It was the opposite
As I didn't like my first kiss at all, infact it was a totally disaster ,I hated it and I remember splitting all day long
Then that actually made me wonder if everything I was seeing in movies was real but my hopeless romantic won't just listen!

So I went on with my fairtales of how love should be

It should be everything I see in movies
It should be perfection
Damn!
I expected alot from love
Too much expections hurts I tell you!

Then Boom!

I fell in love but it didn't last long
Because of all my expectations

He was suppose to call me the first thing in the morning, I was suppose to be the only thing on his mind, he ought to give me 24/7 attention, he ought to be perfect

Did you guys noticed I was just saying he? And didn't say anything about the she?

Lol

The fantasy over shadow the reality
Maybe if I knew better we'd still be together maybe!
But that was like 7 or 8 years ago!
Yes! I'm still hopelessly romantic
But have grown and realise alot of things!
True love is not movie love
It takes alot for a relationship to work
It takes two people that really wanna be together
It takes more than love
It takes compromise , commitment and hard work too
And yes! There will be alot of flaws and bumps on the way .....
So you better be ready

Indeed real life is not soap opera

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Well, we all gain our concept of love from our enviroment i.e tv, social media, music...and we tend to out grow those notions as we grow and experience the said love.

We've all had our fair share of love and heartbreaks, but i am glad you are still, as you said, hopelessly romantic--so am I despite my experiences

Lol, it's nice to know that @nonsowrites
Our experiences shouldn't change the concept of love!

no, it shouldn't. however, it should help consolidate our perception of love. love is a beautiful thing.

love don't hurt people do

@nonsowrites I totally agree!

I love your blog BTW

(ditto) thank you, I just followed.

"Indeed real life is not soap opera"

You're right, there's even more senseless drama than on TV. I don't think it's worth it. :-P

PS: I've found your post after @nonsowrites suggested in on his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

It looks like you've been through a lot but that does not matter. What matters now is your realization that life is not a soap opera. It is not scripted like the movies and there is no "cut" for "take two".

So you better be ready

That is the fighting spirit! Good writing you have there.

I came across your article through @nonsowrites who featured it on his post as an entry to Pay It Forward Curation Contest. The contest is open to everyone so you are welcome to join.

Awwn, thanks for that!

You're welcome. 😊

Here's what I've learned in my life @peachyladiva : when you have no expectations, you are never disappointed and occasionally pleasantly surprised :)

I found your post because I'm one of the judges in the Pay it Forward Contest where @nonsowrites featured your post. You are more than welcome to join us next week with an entry of your own if you'd like :) All the rules can be found at the contest page :)

Up before 🌄 (here) and supporting your post @peachyladiva, due to the entry of it, by @trincowski, into our Pay It Forward Community's weekly curation contest.

Nice content, as we all can relate to it. In one way or another, given love is such an essential part of the lives of us all.

All the best to you, moving forward, as we all work together to add value to our Steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54