LOVE & THE $2 BILL

in #love7 years ago

Every once in a while you find something rare!


It's interesting how availability changes how we treat certain things. A while back, I saw a movie with my wife, called Unconditional. It was certainly an interesting watch and we enjoyed it, but one part stuck out more than some of the others to me.

One review sums up the part that caught my attention like this:

Her husband was a good man who occasionally handed out two dollar bills to people to remind them that love is like a two dollar bill, there are plenty of them around but it’s rare to see them. He made the point that love should not be hoarded or hidden.

source

One of the main characters has a husband who dies in the movie. He was the one who used $2 bills to make this point about love. Although it may not be common to see a $2 bill, they are not rare, although many people think that they are.

Today, there is a common misconception by the general public that the $2 bill is no longer in production. According to the Treasury, it "receives many letters asking why the $2 bill is no longer in circulation". In response, the Treasury stated: "The $2 bill remains one of our circulating currency denominations... As of April 30, 2007 there were $1,549,052,714 worth of $2 bills in circulation worldwide."

source


I've come across three of them myself in the recent past, although I seem to have temporarily (I hope) lost one. One is a more recently printed one from 2013, and the other is from 1976. As I was researching for this post today I learned that the Federal Reserve resumed printing the $2 bill in 1976, so that was a special year for this currency.

In 1976 production of the two-dollar denomination was resumed and the two-dollar bill was finally assigned as a Federal Reserve Note, with a new reverse design featuring John Trumbull's depiction of the drafting of the United States Declaration of Independence replacing the previous design of Monticello. It has remained a current denomination since then.

source

I have probably only ever handled less than ten of the $2 bills in my entire life, although there is over a billion and a half dollars worth currently "in circulation." Much like real love, although $2 bills should be readily available, they seem to be hard to find.

So, to illustrate a point about caring for one another and loving each other, I'm giving away the two that I can find right now. My 2013 $2 bill and my 1976 $2 bill will each be mailed to steemians out there in the world in the near future. Not only will I send you the $2 bill, I'll also pay for the postage to have them mailed anywhere in the word.

WHY?

You may be wondering what the catch is, or why I would ever do such a thing. After all, the man in the movie who gave away $2 bills was murdered!

Am I out to try to appear like I am a "good person?' Not at all. I'm just attempting to show you that you are special and that Papa cares. It is just one small way that I am attempting to interact in a whole new way and share the love.

HOW TO ENTER

If you would like a chance to win a $2 bill and you have a valid shipping address, then all you need to do is reply to this post and let me know that you would like to win. Two winners will be chosen at random, and then I'll contact you and you can private me your shipping address on steemit.chat if you are one of the winners.

All I ask of you in return is that you attempt to love others and help them.

Neither $2 bills or love are rare, we just don't choose to share them often enough!

Also, just so you know that I am serious....

proof-of-$2-bills

And... in case you are interested...

Here is the movie trailer for Unconditional

Except for the quotes and the movie trailer:


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.


P.S. - If you prefer STEEM to Federal Reserve Notes, there is still more than 1 hour left in my 73 STEEM Giveaway, just follow the link: https://steemit.com/replytowin73steem/@papa-pepper/73-wow-tell-me-how-it-looks-for-your-chance-to-win-73-steem

Sort:  

Oh I found your post much later. If I found it earlier, I would take part in the competition.

Good thought @papa-pepper
A perfect way. Love for others not the bill. Thank you. Very nice post.

In Canada, they ceased to print $1 bills in 1989 and $2 bills in 1996.

They were replaced by $1 coins (the loonie) and $2 coins (the toonie).

Needless to say that I have not seen a $2 bill for some time. Although it was quite current before 1995.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I want one, please.

You won, are you still around?

What a neat idea, if picked , add the postage and donate it to a worthy cause.

In South Africa that $2 bill can buy you a loaf of bread and a 2 litre milk. 😀

Just watched the trailer and it sure looks like a good movie!

Not uncommon indeed. They even made it to Cambodia! In the two years I have lived here I already collected 3 of them. Love the idea of spreading them as a token of love... so no need to send me a $2 dollar note... but you can always mail me some love <3 <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50