Planning a wedding: What is more important, creating the perfect day or a celebration of love?

in #love6 years ago (edited)

I visited the “Let’s get married’’ event held in Montreal, Canada a couple of weeks ago. It is the biggest and most important event in the province’s wedding industry.

pexels-photo-256737.jpeg

Typically at the top of their checklist, engaged couples storm to these events in hopes of meeting the vendors that will create their perfect wedding. But I’m wondering, have these couples taken the time to know if they are really ready to commit and celebrate their love?. Or they’re just chasing the rosy glow idea of their wedding as a perfect day?

Now, I don’t want to seem as a critic of the bridal princess dream. I must admit that I truly fantasize about having an extraordinary wedding gown and love all the beautiful little things that make a wedding so appealing.
20180107_142643[1].jpg

However, I’d like to walk you through my deep reflexion as I describe my experience of attending the event.

Let's get married
Most of the attendees were brides-to-be accompanied by their fiancee, family or friends. Women were running around with 4-5 gift bags on their arms, with that frenzied look of “Give me your best, sell me my dream, I want a perfect day!’’. Their fiancees were tagging along, taking photos or videos, with that worried look of “I wonder how much all this is going to cost’’. And there I was,...a loner (in hopes of getting married soon) merely seeking to satisfy my curiosity.
grind-down-the-aisle-3112429_1920.jpg

After the bridal show, I walked through the alleys and vendors of all kind approached me. Some were almost attacking me with their brochures and wedding goodies! Other vendors were much more discreet and just smiled as I walked by. It was obvious, they were all there to sell you the whole wedding package bonanza, with the promise of the “most memorable’’ wedding ever. There was something a little too superficial about this. Like if there was some sort of repeated formula in the whole wedding industry, where everything was just about selling you the perfect day.

Florists, wedding gown and tuxedo companies, limousines, decoration and design, Hotels and chalets and all sorts of venue companies, photographs,...you name it! They were all there.

20180107_142316[1].jpg

20180107_144101[1].jpg

20180107_143524[1].jpg

20180107_151207[1].jpg

Fortunately for those in search of an original wedding, vendors now offer a variety of themes to meet the couple’s desires. Basically, now there is enough out there to please everyone and meet their budget (well,...almost!).

Star Wars theme Wedding

This brings me back to my reflexion. Are engaged couples really just planning a perfect day or truly seeking to celebrate their love?. Is the true intention of the marriage being neglected as the energy shifts mostly towards the planning and buying stuff for the wedding day?

Don’t get me wrong, I totally respect people who want a wedding as advertised in bridal magazines. Nevertheless, so much stress, drama, and money involved in wedding planning, all for just a day? Well, actually yeah, it makes sense to me if your real motivation is celebrating your love and not just parading the status of your relationship to society.

But what is the meaning?
Most important I’d say, as a couple you should discuss the meaning of your marriage. And why is it important to figure this out before planning your wedding?, you may ask. Well, because as a couple you need to communicate and clarify your vision of marriage. Take a moment to understand why you are committing before vendors try to sell you their vision of a perfect wedding day.

When you both understand the meaning of your marriage, you will focus on the wedding as a celebration of love, and therefore give more energy into that. The planning of the event will become secondary and it might not even matter if you end up with a not-so-perfect-day.
images.jpg

My advice, before you start stressing about looking for vendors, creating invitations, shopping and who to invite, take a good moment to discuss what you both really want. Forget the external pressure for a moment, heck...I’d say, do this exercise even before you announce your engagement! It is too easy to get carried away in all the organizing turmoil and forget the real intention behind your wedding, celebrating your love!

My humble opinion
Remember this, when it comes to marriage, once you come down the fluffy cloud of your wedding celebration, all you really want is to have a fully committed and long-lasting relationship. Only focusing on the wedding as a perfect day is like hoping for an endless high that will dissolve when facing the challenges of real life.

When you look back on your wedding day, you want to remember the moments that captured your ceremony of love and the meaning of it for you as a couple. Not that Aunt Susie didn’t like the flavor of your cake, your musicians arrived late or that the wine you selected didn’t please your mom!

giphy (4).gif

When recognized as such, a marriage and a deeply committed relationship provide an astonishing opportunity for growth. They open a portal toward understanding Love-how to create Love and how to receive Love.

Extract from the book: The Conscious Wedding Handbook, by Lila Sophia Tresemer & David Tresemer

Sort:  

'' it makes sense to me if your real motivation is celebrating your love and not just parading the status of your relationship to society''
You hit a good point. I think more and more people are using marriage as a way to show their social status. There is so much tension when preparing for marriage, that in many cases the marriage lasts no more than a year.

Exactly! If the couple does not communicate both their desires before the wedding, then they have the risk of being influenced by other people. They should create a solid protection for their couple so they don't get drowned in all the stress and drama involved in the planning, as well as all the ''sudden fame'' they get in social media.

"Now, I don’t want to seem as a critic of the bridal princess dream. I must admit that I truly fantasize about having an extraordinary wedding gown and love all the beautiful little things that make a wedding so appalling."

Appalling means disgusting. Something that elicits a strong negative reaction. I dunno about you, but aren't weddings supposed to be good things?

Malapropism aside, you're exactly right in pretty much everything you write here. I just got married last month, and both my wife and I wanted nothing to do with the corporate wedding monstrosity. Thankfully, we both thought on the same wavelength. We knew what we wanted, and we sought to make sure each other had the best day possible. (Hint: it was!)

But I've known couples like the ones you describe. When they don't communicate, when they don't talk through things, it does not bode well for the couple. Sounds like you've figured that out, yourself!

Ahhh, I see what you mean by malapropism. Unfortunately, it is a typo my editing missed! I meant ''appealing'' and have done the correction. But thanks for pointing that out! Congrats on your wedding and I'm glad everything went well for both of you. Communication is key to a solid relationship.

Life all in pair.... right/left,male/female,etc.
Every body should be married,and wedding party just celebration and society

Interesting point of view!

This post has received a 0.67% upvote from thanks to: @jessicapixie.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount. (10 SP minimum)

Thank you jessicapixie for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.23% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Release the Kraken! You got a 1.59% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @jessicapixie!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jessicapixie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85