An Unlikely Love Story (No one would have bet on this being the one that lasted!)

in #love6 years ago (edited)

unlikelylovestory.png

Today’s freewrite prompt is Prototype

prototype.jpg

To be honest, I was pretty determined to write about my wedding to my Husband Patrick/@serapium today, because it’s our anniversary AND because it's a weird, somewhat funny in hindsight kind of story… but then this prompt made me write a little bit about the people we were when we got married. I guess I’ll write about the actual wedding tomorrow.

chocs2.png

I’m sure when Patrick and I got married 24 years ago today, that most people who knew us assumed this would be the miserably failed prototype, the ‘let’s try out this marriage thing for a first try’ kind of thing that went out in a flaming explosion soon thereafter.

I can’t think of anyone who knew us, other than us (and even then, I’m not sure I had faith in it lasting. I’d never really known anyone personally who’d been married for a terribly long time.) who thought we would last.

Before you think that we were just surrounded by judgemental friends and family, and lest you think we had some sort of fairy tale romance… let’s back up JUST a bit and splash some reality on this picture.

Yes, we were absolutely passionately in love… BUT

After our Not So Romantic Beginning at the age of 19 which was Love at First Sight! according to Patrick, we had broken up due to many things I may write about later, basically youth, fear of committment and more fear. We were apart for three years and in those three years, neither of us made a lot of good choices.

When we got back together, nearly three years to the day from our break up, I was a single mom on the precipice of a mental/emotional breakdown, suffering from severe depression and things I wasn’t even aware of yet.. Patrick was a college drop out doing way too many illegal drugs and drinking way too much (although to be fair, he quit the drugs when we got back together, because that was a hard limit for me).

So, you can see that people MAY have had every right to think, “What the HELL are they thinking? I give it a month, two at the most!”

Oh, yeah, add to that the fact that we’d just had a miscarriage that ended with a fairly traumatic ER visit AND I’d actually finally had that emotional breakdown AND been diagnosed with Dissociative Identity Disorder. And that isn’t even the whole of it.

So… yeah. Who would EVER be thinking, “Boy, I bet these two stick it out for the long haul! They are such a stable, ready for commitment kind of couple!”

Next up: The 3 Day Engagement



blues-smoke-water.png

How Would You Describe Romantic Love?

romantic-300.png

Fiction Short: Lily & Albert, A Love Story

lily-albert-love-story-300.png

blues-smoke-water.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

blues-smoke-water.png

And if you're in the mood for something entirely different:

Humor

My Daily Vlogs/Ulog videos! This is Day #6: "The Lesbian Milk Talk"

Thumb-Ulog7-lesbianmilk.png


Funny letters from Tempest, the Cat who lived on a Sailboat in the Bahamas.

Tempest-Cover-21-300.png

blues-smoke-water.png

Thumb-34-KeepingtheFamilySecrets.png

blues-smoke-water.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS!!!! What an inspirational post!

And I can relate... I'm on a marriage/relationship that most thought the same way... it will never last

Good luck to you :) It is so hard to look at someone else's relationship and really know what it is like. We have been through that with our adult kids and THEIR relationships and then we look back at our own and go... wellllll

Good for you for beating the odds!! It does sound as if you had a rocky beginning, but you made it work.

We've had some rocky times, that's for sure, but I suppose that same passion that kept us going makes the good times really worth it! Thank you for the comments and the support!

oh..my..gosh! what a couple of freaking basket cases!!
lol! that ain't beatin the odds this is a flamin miracle!!

I had to search Dissociative Identity Disorder..how nice..this is
really talking about multiple personalities? now that's some scary stuff.
I thought you were exaggeratin..ha!
no wonder you can write convincingly about so many different characters! lol.
God bless you both and may you have many more decades together.

Yep, it used to be called "multiple personalities" but changed to D.I.D. at some point. I do have an edge when it comes to picturing certain various mindsets and thoughts! :)

Thanks for the support. We hope to have many more years together now that the kids are mostly grown and we can focus on us!

I know you will, I flat out guarantee it!

I say that you certainly can claim your marriage as a prototype when others like to have one like yours ...

Well, thank you very much. I know I pushed it to the limit with that definition :)

Both of you must have been through so many ups and downs together to reach till today. And happy anniversary to you and Patrick. I wish you many more years of lovey dovey together. Stick together through thick or thin. I am sure your marriage inspires to want to get married 😍

Absolutely! But we've accomplished a lot and had a lot of good memories as well. Thank you for your support!

Okay, I'm actually getting choked up. I love hearing LOVE stories that actually last, that make it through all the hard times and you're still in love!!! Congratulations. That's pretty amazing! 💖

(I came by because I saw your post on @battleaxe's morale boosting challenge. yay for friends!)

Thank you so much. It takes a lot of work and there are definitely ups and downs, but there is no one that I could imagine even coming close to him. He's my other half, for sure!

Awesome story, and Happy Anniversary! 😊

Thank you so much for reading and commenting <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60592.45
ETH 2714.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45