Feeling gutted about Louis CK

in #louisck7 years ago

Louis CK's comedy helped guide me through a real rough patch back when I was a new dad and doubting myself pretty hardcore.

Made me laugh when I was desperately trying to make sense of this new life that I was now fully responsible for -- "You're in the system, kid!"

Yeah, I've been a fan of Louis CK's for a long time.

I've taken every opportunity to introduce people to his work.

The highlight of 2017, thus far, was finally getting a chance to see him live.

And so today's news hit me really damned hard. It caught me entirely off guard as, apparently, I was the only person on the planet not privy to the years and years of rumours and allegations about his behaviours.

Louis was one of those few, rare celebrities that I legitimately looked up to and now, especially in light of Cosby, Weinstein, Spacey and more... my tolerance for this bullshit is just about at its peak.

There's a brushfire burning in Hollywoo and it appears that despite a whole host of people's attempts to beat it back, it's spreading faster and faster.

Add to it that we're not falling for the old distraction tactics any more-- our bullshit meters are so finely calibrated in the Trump era that, despite the MSM's best efforts, Spacey "being gay" is (shocker!) not an acceptable excuse for his attempts to seduce a 14-year-old.

[Granted, that was a textbook example of how to take a bad situation and make it infinitely worse. I suspect his PR team is spit-roasting for that one.]

Oddly enough, the more people I see getting lit up by this thing, the more I find that I want it to spread. There's clearly no shortage of people who were willing to turn a blind eye to Weinstein because he was their rainmaker. Layers and layers and layers of people who turned a blind eye to or were complicit in the suffering of others because... what're you going to do? TELL on the guy?

Though, I mean, well, he's got fucking ex-Mossad agents on your ass... so I kind of understand, I guess.

In a way, I'm kind of not surprised as much as I should be. I mean, this is a culture where there are those close to its heartbeat who still hold up Roman Polanski as having been given a raw deal. To that I say (read the court transcripts of what went on with that poor girl and decide for yourself.

I'm pissed that this back half of the year has decided to go Full Cheeto and motorboat down the razorblade into the cesspool (or garbage patch...?).

But I'm beyond pissed that someone I really respected had to resort to pulling creepy power trips on women instead of getting his kink sorted out with consenting adults. I mean, seriously, dude, all you had to do was be open that that was your thing and throw it out to the audience during one of your encores-- probably would've had a line of willing women/men out around the block.

Ugh.

This thing is just going to keep burning, isn't it?

Nothing left to do but see who's left standing once the smoke clears.

But I swear to god, if Tom Hanks winds up on the dark side of this thing I'm gonna flip my shit.

BCL

Sort:  

Congratulations @bclaraby! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bclaraby! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50