Long Exposure of the Star Canopus

in #longexposurephotography6 years ago (edited)


Canopus_Monochrome 3 - 2018-07-23T21_46_38.jpg


This is a long exposure shot of Canopus in black and white and I've adjusted the settings a bit to bring out more of the 'streaks' from the star itself. I had posted a while ago about this and have the original image there .

Taking this one was a bit of an unusual set up for me , as I normally just use my scope and my Nikon D5300 at prime focus , which funnily enough is a bit odd in itself because I have to take the focuser off my Newtonian because I can't get close enough to achieve focus with it on.

Anyway , for this image I had my Nikon D5300 , a Nikkor 18-55mm lens , a 42mm Camera Projection Eyepiece with my 250mm Newtonian (all of that was probably a bit heavy for my mount , an NEQ6)

The settings I used for this image were
Exposure of 72s
Nikkor 18-55mm lens @ 27mm (in addition to the 42mm eyepiece)
f/4 , ISO 400
Focal Length of the telescope : 1250mm


And below I'll post a few different versions of this image , with different settings applied. And I will post the original as the final image in the post.


Canopus_Vibrant - 2018-07-23T21_54_52.jpg

A colour version. Adjusting the settings a bit brought out the star more , but gave the background a reddish tint.



Canopus_Vibrant-2 - 2018-07-24T22_06_57.jpg

And this is the same image as above , but I've replaced the background with the original image. Nice for the background , but still a bit of noise in the light surrounding the star.



Canopus - 2017-04-26T22_14_30.jpg

And finally , the original image.


I should also mention , if you are interested in Astronomy , Space , Astrophotography ect , I would definitely recommend checking out both @terrylovejoy and @astrophoto.kevin . Both have excellent images on their pages and also have a wealth of information on the subject. Also , Terry has written up a Guide to Basic Astrophotography ( 11 parts so far) . So if you are interested in this sort of thing , these guys are definitely worth following :)


All words and images I post are my own content unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

Great shot and good editing @betelzeus :-)
I like the streaks and the flares.

To get in focus while photographing in prime focus, you could try some short constructed focuser. There are several on the market to fix such problems. Otherwise, you could try to reduce the space between the primary and secondary mirror, which will be a bit tricky.

Thank you very much for the mention.

Hey , thanks @astrophoto.kevin . No worries about the mention , I can appreciate how much work goes into getting really good astro images (and I'm not quite on that level yet). I can get some decent images here and there , but really I just have to spend more time on astrophotography :)

And yeah , I kinda thought about a few things , and read up about it a while back , like cutting the tube (I didn't really want to go down that road though because that one is a bit permanent lol) . And did have a look at some low profile focuser , but just don't really have the spare funds for that.

It did cross my mind to maybe cut another hole for the focuser a little further back and move the secondary back to match , but again , I'm not sure about that one. In the end , I winded up just using a piece of plywood(with a hole in it of course haha) in place of the focuser and I put a 35mm extension tube held onto that. And somehow that seemed to be about the perfect distance to be in focus. I was thinking though I probably should try to DIY some type of helical focuser in place of the 35mm tube. Something to try one day anyways :) , I haven't been out in a good while now , I think I have to find my astrophotography mojo again before I get back out there hahah.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-25T00:45:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 183.75/200.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.97 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49