Great Local BeerssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #local7 years ago
2017_09_01_21_15_58
I am always trying to buy local as much as I can. It isn't as easy as you think. Many things just arent made in our area. Electronics for example, even most clothing. So when it comes to things that I know are easy to find locally, I always choose a local option over an imported item. Sometimes it is even possible to get things from my home town! Things like produce, meat, and many renovation and repair services are always the easiest places to start if you want to buy local. I recommend everyone to find your local farmers market and try and support your local farmers.
Where I live in Ontario, there are also a lot of great wineries and breweries. I have a formula that takes distance from home, quality of product and price all into consideration while making my choices. The attached image below shows a few different beers that I often drink. The furthest brewery from my house is maybe a one hour drive. 2017_09_01_21_12_28
As for wines, the Point Pele region produces many great wines at an affordable price. The Niagara on the lake region is second to none in my opinion.
People often think that they can not make a difference but I totally disagree with that. For example, in Leamington Ontario there used to be a large Heinz Ketchup factory. This area was always know as tomato country around these parts. Heinz closed the doors to these plants but another company bought it and signed a contract with Frenches to make Ketchup with locally grown Canadian tomatoes. This story went viral and many of the local supermarkets had to start stocking Frenches Ketchup since so many customers were switching brands. Click here for an article by the National post on this story
frenches
The main point of this post is to let you all know that I am going to be drinking a few beers and enjoying myself before my family returns from vacation tomorrow. I do hope that it has made some of you consider where your products comes from before picking it up off of the shelf.

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of steemparents and #teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

Hehe so time alone also has its perks ! "When the Cat's Away, the Mice Will Play” ;)

Watching all the shows my wife hates... loving it

Hahah lol 😂!

That is a great set of cans - See what I did there? Cans, brilliant. But seriously the two on the right are standouts - I like the old world charms of the witty traveller

The witty traveler is brewed in the town I grew up in St.Thomas Ontario Canada. The Capital Blonde is a great beer. I don't usually drink blondes but I love this one. It is brewed in my home town of London Ontario Canada by Forked River Brewery. They have a lot of great beers.

Thanks for checking out my post!

Darryl @dadview

you ever down in colorado - lets get some 1554 - got a few quality breweries in my neck of the woods

Probably not anytime soon but I am taking my son to a different city every year to see an NHL game. So Colorado is on the list.
I will see if I can get a can of 1554 around here and send a toast your way! I have seen others drink it but have never tried it.

Voted for you

Thanks alot. Idk if I stand a chance against teamaustralia but I was glad just to get nominated. Have a great Sunday @dadview!

I also just created a post directing others to go and vote for you. We can't let Team Canada lose to teamaustralia!

Lol, thanks so much!

I miss the variety of local foods available in southern Ontario. That being said, I'm lucky enough to live in a part of the prairies that has some fantastic local beer and liquor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40