Dear Littlescribe: I STILL Think My Coworker Is A Sociopath

in #littlescribe6 years ago (edited)

OK. I told you I'd update you. I tried the whole "keep things in writing" and "make sure there's always a third person around" thing. I also avoid him. And things have actually calmed down a lot. I feel like I can almost be myself and focus on my work finally. People are already starting to get to know me better and give me a chance. He doesn't sabotage me in public as much anymore. The only problem is.....He's been doing this thing where he runs around trying to point out all the rules and policies of the company and make people follow them--but to an extreme. Everyone hates it. But he points them out to me most of all, like he's trying to do me a "favor" and "help me out." And on top of that, sometimes I swear he is making some of the "rules" up as he goes. It is really stupid. But at least it's better than it was. So I think things will get better. Thanks again for your advice @littlescribe!

~Doing Better in Detroit



Dear Doing Better,

I'm glad to hear things have smoothed over so much, and so quickly. And I think it is directly attributable to your actions last week. Good on 'ya!

However, I do hear some red flags going on with this guy still. It sounds like he is going a little haywire not being able to control and manipulate the new guy, so he is having to come up with some way to exert his control and power in a more palatable fashion.

I wouldn't get too comfortable. He may have something in the works yet. Keep an ear to the ground. Be sure to watch what you say and do, and who you say it to. Continue to do good work. Keep things professional with others. Bide your time. And stay in good rapport with your supervisor. You never know what this guy might have brewing. He may have a few irons in the fire at any given point. He sounds like the type that sits around waiting for a vulnerability.

He may still try to amp it up somehow.

Please keep us updated of any changes, good or bad.

All the best,


See below for more "Dear Littlescribe" posts

My coworker Is a Sociopath - Part I

In a Property Pickle - Neighbor is building a fence on my property!

Divorce and the Money Trail - How to get a good settlement

Teen Daughter Wants to Meet Biodad - Advice?

Friend is cheating on their spouse - Do I tell the spouse?

Feeling Defeated on Steemit - Help?

Addicted to Steemit - is that a bad thing?

Sort:  

Office politics!! Ya really have to keep your guard up with co-workers! Something I don't miss at all. I was glad when I was able to work out of my home for the last 20 or so years of my career.

No kidding! Peeps is crazy!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55