"Tikbalang", An experience with the creature of Philippine Folklore

in #literature7 years ago

"Tikbalang"


A creature of Philippine folklore

This story is a based on a real life experience of the original author with nickname "Pamboy." This was written in Filipino language and were translated by @juvyjabian to be understood by the community.

This frightening experience took place February of this year when we visited our ancestral home. We were all busy cleaning the surroundings when nanny borrowed a jungle bolo from my mother. Since we were so busy, nobody ask what will nanny do with the bolo.

After a few hours, we were surprised when nanny started to cut the "Balete" tree at the back of the house. Since I have no idea about this superstitious thing, I also helped nanny.

When the night comes, mama went to her room and she started to smell something unfavorable. Although nothing wrong had done during that night but I wondered why that stinky smell reaches to every corners of the house.

Before we get to sleep that night, there were few things that fell down from the cabinet. It was not done by a rat because those things were kind of heavy. My mother said that maybe this has something to do with the cutting of the "Balete" tree at the back of the house.

When the morning comes, we started asking questions and found that most of the time "Balete" tree happen to be a habitat of many unseen creature, a creature of different nature compared to human.

We visited a known spirit doctor in the village and we told him about what happen. We told him that the house is filled with stinky smell after we cut the "Balete" tree. We thought it was Kapre but according to the spirit doctor, it's a Kapre if it smells like cigarette, but since it was so stinky, it is a "Tikbalang".

We got scared because "Tikbalang" likes to sleep with woman and make them pregnant, especially if the woman uses a hard smell perfumes. Because of that, I tried to be awake the next night because I want to look after my mother. I wanted to make sure that the "Tikbalang" will not touching my mother.

During that time, I noticed that the creature is not a bad type because it never gone wild. Maybe they were just a bit angry because we destroyed their home.

What we did to at least fix the problem, is we set a date with the spirit doctor to do something for "Tikbalang". He made a ceremony to transfer the "Tikbalang" to another habitat.

"Tikbalang" is a creature of Philippine folklore. It's a half human and half horse.
source


ImageSource [1] [2] [3]

Sort:  

Amazing stuff. Reminds me of the story I wrote about "The Irish Nagual" I would have used your Pics if I had found them on the Net;D~ They would have fitted perfect into my Nagual story.
https://steemit.com/story/@franks/the-irish-nagual-by-frank-sonderborg-a-short-story

Rich culture in Philippines. I learn every day.

Yeah you're right but the new generation had slowly forgotten how good this culture was.

It's same everywhere. Instant generation with memory span of gold fish.

Maybe this is due to the existence of new technologies where kids spent more time with it than playing and spending time with friends outside.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks for featuring me in your livesteem, I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89