When Will Litecoin Outperform Bitcoin?

in #litecoin5 years ago (edited)

pool-resources-liquidity.jpg

If only I had just stuck to Bitcoin when I became so obsessed with crypto two years ago. I'd be up quite a bit of money compared to still being in the red today.

The question I have to ask myself is...

Am I continuing to make the same mistake?

A lot of us keep doubling down on altcoins because we know that the liquidity issues can get insane very quickly. Every time that alts crash is another opportunity to potentially invest in a network that goes x100 over the next few years.

When it really comes down to it I want to put my money where my time is. Sometimes I'm not looking for the highest ROI, but instead just want to support the projects I think have value to me personally.

lie detector.jpg

The problem with this logic is that it's not exactly true. Bitcoin has immense value. It has the highest censorship resistance and best security of any project out there. It will be the first to start taking real shots at the central banking cartel.

So why am I not that interested in putting my money into Bitcoin?

If I'm being honest with myself, it's because I'm bored and greedy. Bitcoin is boring and I know that alts will eventually start massively outperforming it at some point. We need to be honest with ourselves when we aren't making the safe play.

So Litecoin then?

Yep, good ol' Litecoin... and I base this decision solely on the recent halving event. Litecoin liquidity is going to run out in November and the price is going to spike out of control... or so that's the hope.

But when?

Well, Litecoin is up 10% in the last 24 hours. That's higher than most projects but not even close to where it needs to be for this gamble to be worth it.

Litecoin-price-today-.jpg

We should be thinking of liquidity as a faucet pouring into a pool. The Litecoin faucet has just been cut in half. This signals multiple events:

  • Inflation has been cut in half (obviously)
  • 75% of all Litecoin was mined on August 5th.
  • Liquidity is slowly being drained from the pool.
  • Miners have less incentive to mine. (hash rate down 60%)

75% of all Litecoin mined.

The first halving event is always the most significant one. However, the second is interesting as well. Anyone can buy at this level knowing that at most their stake can only be diluted 25% by inflation. This is obviously a huge exaggeration because it takes over 100 years for that to actually happen. Conversely, over the last hundred years USD has lost 98% of its value and very few citizens seem to question that fact.

Also, the rate at which these networks are growing far outpaces the inflation rate. Even if these POW coins didn't have a halving event they'd be doing just fine. This is one of the reasons I'm bullish on DigiByte. It has no halving event and they are creating tech that multiple other POW coins use like DigiShield. Not having a halving event will lower volatility and give the community more peace of mind because they have a bit more stability.

However, what we have is what we have. Bitcoin has a halving event, and due to it having the biggest market cap by a huge margin, the fundamentals of Bitcoin tend to have an effect on every other project, for now.

LIQUIDITY

Back to Litecoin. Imagine all the bots and random stake holders willing to sell between where we are now ($60) and x2-x3 from here. Once that liquidity is gone, there isn't a lot more coming in. The people who buy Litecoin at $120 likely aren't looking to sell at a lower level. The upcoming winter bull run is going to create a lot of temporary FOMO HODLERS.

The halving event is going to cut inflation supply by 2.6 million coins a year. By the time winter rolls around over a million coins are going to be gone from the pool. This isn't that big of a deal unless there is huge demand to buy. I'm betting their will be.

We've all seen it before. Liquidity runs completely dry and all of a sudden prices start bouncing around in huge chunks as the trading bots attempt to discover a new price that will tempt previous holders into selling.

Conclusion

Half of the people on Steem are extremely salty due to this extended bear market. We are on loser's tilt. However, in as little as 3 months, that can change very fast, and it won't be a good thing. Swinging from loser's tilt to winner's tilt is a very good way to make foolish decisions that will lose money in the long run. Tread carefully.

The safe play.

I honestly don't think Litecoin liquidity is going to run dry until Bitcoin hits 20k. The smartest investment decision at this point is to stick with Bitcoin at least until it reaches ATHs again. Maybe one day I'll learn my lesson and start making the safe play.

Gamble Gamble.

Sort:  

Litecoin, BitcoinCash and even Digibyte will all outperform bitcoin.

If we see adoption, they have to. Its already baked in the cake.

The thing, as you say, is that bitcoin will be doing the massive rise in price first.

Still, i think BitcoinCash will be the biggest gainer this year.
So, when do you switch if you are in it for the money?
When do you switch if you are in it for helping adoption?

For the adoption, my money is all on litecoin.

I gambled on the litecoin halving and thought I had lost out completely. Glad to read here that the liquidity is supposed to be affected in November.

I just wanted to make a quick buck - but now I find myself HODLing.

I am not big on bitcoin either... don't know why as the proof is in the pudding. But, when you are a small time investor like me, its "better" to invest in projects that are close to your heart. Although, I have sank a lot of $$ into steem and need it to boom again so I can be in the green.

Sold. Always good to take some profit even if it means to miss out on a bigger move.

I'm holding all through November.
Gonna be a bumpy one.

I am asking myself the same thing for steem.
Hope things will turn around for alts, they will have their moment of shine.

Posted using Partiko Android

I earned most of my BTC mining it in the early days when you didn’t need a room (now warehouse) full of specialized gear to be profitable. I’m not sure that PoW coins are the way to go any more. I expected smart contract systems would take off, but that doesn’t seem to be the case either. So I’m hodling and looking to see where the cryptocosm or cryptoshere is heading next. Steem is a great place to sit while I wait.

Beautiful posts

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57