BREAKING: Charlie Lee - LiteCoin Founder Sells Most of His Stake in $LTC. Why? Full Info / Links in Post. I Tweeted Him to Say THANKS For All He's Done.

in #litecoin7 years ago


Shocking News in LiteCoin World!


Well, now I really need a LiteCoin shirt, since I cannot find one or a decent merchant. I love the Litecoin and Charlie.

Charlie Lee announced today on Twitter and Reddit as he has before, sometimes, no matter what he does, even with all he has done and his best intentions, people just keep dogging him saying he influences and then benefits from his work and tweets and reports on LTC.

So he sold nearly every LTC he has so he cannot be viewed in a light anymore as conflict of interest.

Charlie Lee is a bit of a hero and role model to many of us, for his hard work, his active presence and how he handles himself and promotes the good of crypto.

NOT just Litecoin which he created long ago.


Charlie Lee is a Crypto Godfather as I have said many times. We owe a lot to him.


He is always trying to do the right thing for Crypto, Liberty and Humanity as far as I am concerned -- not what is right for Charlie Lee.

When I was new to crypto and all this blockchain stuff, I found him early on as a resource, someone to look up to for lots of things, and ideas -- not just Litecoin.

As usual, Charlie shows his class and that desire to remain above board and do the right thing.


Unedited below- Here is all the info you need on this.

Charlie -- We Love You Man.


Reddit Thread in Official LTC Community:

https://www.reddit.com/r/litecoin/comments/7kzw6q/litecoin_price_tweets_and_conflict_of_interest/

Litecoin price, tweets, and conflict of interest:

--

-- Submitted 11 hours ago by coblee - Litecoin Founder

--

Over the past year, I try to stay away from price related tweets, but it’s hard because price is such an important aspect of Litecoin growth. And whenever I tweet about Litecoin price or even just good or bads news, I get accused of doing it for personal benefit. Some people even think I short LTC! So in a sense, it is conflict of interest for me to hold LTC and tweet about it because I have so much influence. I have always refrained from buying/selling LTC before or after my major tweets, but this is something only I know. And there will always be a doubt on whether any of my actions were to further my own personal wealth above the success of Litecoin and crypto-currency in general.

For this reason, in the past days, I have sold and donated all my LTC. Litecoin has been very good for me financially, so I am well off enough that I no longer need to tie my financial success to Litecoin’s success. For the first time in 6+ years, I no longer own a single LTC that’s not stored in a physical Litecoin. (I do have a few of those as collectibles.) This is definitely a weird feeling, but also somehow refreshing. Don’t worry. I’m not quitting Litecoin. I will still spend all my time working on Litecoin. When Litecoin succeeds, I will still be rewarded in lots of different ways, just not directly via ownership of coins. I now believe this is the best way for me to continue to oversee Litecoin’s growth.

Please don’t ask me how many coins I sold or at what price. I can tell you that the amount of coins was a small percentage of GDAX’s daily volume and it did not crash the market.

UPDATE: I wrote the above before the recent Bcash on GDAX/Coinbase fiasco. As you can see, some people even think I’m pumping Bcash for my personal benefit. It seems like I just can’t win.

-- 1425 comments share save hide report


Charlie on Twitter:

And you can see my reply to him.

--

https://twitter.com/SatoshiLite/status/943383615466979328

https://twitter.com/SatoshiLite


My Most Recent LTC Post / Milestone / Litecoin History:

From 48 Hours Ago
https://steemit.com/litecoin/@barrydutton/litecoin-skyrock-smashes-past-usd350-again-then-usd360-today-to-new-ath-s-closing-in-on-moon-fast-i-love-you-usdltc
Img. Sources From Today

We just crossed the $100 mark USD for LTC, the first time on Nov. 28th, 2017 around 1:59 UTC or 7 pm EST!!!!

That means it took about ~13 days to double and a half for last week's ATH's and run ups.

-- And 14 days to TRIPLE. As it gained back another $60 / 15% in the last day, now into the $360 USD range now.

-- Does any of this tie to the launch of the CME Futures for BTC just about 27 hrs ago at all? Crypt had a massive recovery day, all green again!!! LTC is the silver to Bitcoin's gold, and same codebase, after all!

Market Cap for Crypto smashed past the $600 and then $620B marks, for new ATH's!

$LTC went from the $100 (and new ATH mark) range to DOUBLE to $200 --- then $250 Monday Dec. 11th, and now into the $360 range a week later, after some corrections in the market.....

LTC remains one of the most valuable, useful and underrated coins on the market in terms of function, speed, reliability, etc.

I guess I am a LYC Fanboy!!

Word is that with the continued problems at the Bittrex exchange and all their sketchy policies and not helping people -- that people are converting to LTC and transferring their money out.


To document this important fact for LiteCoin:

It has now crossed into the $360 USD mark on Dec. 18th in MANY MANY markets across the world, around 11:40 pm UST/ 6:40 am EST.

I hovered over the time there so we can see it!

--

1 Day Zoom:


Today in Litecoin:


It has kept climbing and finding some support all day.... but Holy LiteCoin Batman, look at this!!!

--

1-Day Chart!! (Again)


1 Week:


1 Month:


Markets:

--

It trades at a 5-15% or higher premium across many exchanges as we see/know, too many to document but my quick scan showed when it was around $360 USD today, it had already touched the $400 mark in tons of markets/exchanges -- a lot of them in the Asian markets!

The same shows true, as it crossed into the $350 range in a pile of places today:

See that in these charts under "MARKETS" below via CoinMarketCap.com:




I love you LiteCoin.

... and Charlie Lee, the LTC creator:


I root for LTC and Charlie Lee the founder every day and I tell him regularly on the Twitter hahaha!!!



Yes, this is my friend's plate.

So tell us -- Do you LOVE LiteCoin too????


Friend of the People -- Enemy of the State.


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.


HODL Img. sourced from the LEGENDARY thread where the term HODL was first..... coined - LOL. - BitcoinTalk.org

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=375643.0

If you are new to Crypto or do not know the story -- Please open that link in a new tab, take a couple mins. and read the funny thread/story, you need to know your Crypto history folks!

(:



PixaBay has tons of free pictures for us all to use!!!
Super Easy/Fast Picture Edits / Resizing at: http://www.picresize.com/ and also https://www298.lunapic.com/editor/







If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/hohono/@barrydutton/hohono-steemit-christmas-series-11-or-7-day-photo-challenge-with-friends-you-are-invited-too-complete-rules-in-post

https://steemit.com/bitshares/@barrydutton/eos-to-the-mooooooon-look-at-this-beast-go-smashes-past-usd12-for-huge-ath-break-into-new-territory

https://steemit.com/hohono/@barrydutton/hohono-steemit-christmas-series-10-or-7-day-photo-challenge-with-friends-you-are-invited-too-complete-rules-in-post

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/jamie-dimon-jp-morgan-chase-liberty-watch-or-that-moment-when-bankster-jamie-dimon-of-jp-morgan-realizes-crypto-market-cap

https://steemit.com/bitshares/@barrydutton/blocktivity-resource-report-12-19-2017-bitshares-and-steemit-or-website-showing-the-activity-on-the-blockchain-steemit-and

https://steemit.com/health/@barrydutton/quote-of-the-day-i-so-relate-to-this-something-good-in-every-day-or-we-never-know-who-may-need-this-today-or-the-replies-in-this

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-101-video-wcn-w-jimmy-song-tone-vays-daily-stream-from-today-76-mins-or-bitcoin-scaling-w-jimmy-song-are-bcash-or

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/dec-18-2017-bitcoin-in-canadastan-remains-around-usd24-000-usdcad-again-usd19-200-usdusd-or-1-year-ago-it-had-just-broken

https://steemit.com/curation/@barrydutton/steemians-star-wars-reviews-series-write-a-blog-post-review-on-the-last-jedi-or-drop-it-here-on-this-post-community-engagement

https://steemit.com/funny/@barrydutton/life-in-crypto-is-like-23-or-the-bitcoin-and-the-crypto-hey-boss-i-quit-lol

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-101-video-wcn-bitcoin-morning-brief-w-jimmy-song-tone-vays-daily-stream-from-today-27-mins-or-bitcoin-morning-brief-w

https://steemit.com/curation/@barrydutton/steemit-needs-series-31-pls-comment-with-your-ideas-to-improve-steemit-or-12-18-2017-or-community-engagement-or-archives-to-help

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/crypto-news-the-next-monero-client-release-will-have-full-multisig-support-and-a-definition-of-multi-sign-for-new-crypto-folks

https://steemit.com/money/@barrydutton/investment-language-101-series-term-of-the-day-what-is-redemption-or-e-37-or-trading-candle-cheat-sheet-incl-each-episode

https://steemit.com/steem/@barrydutton/bittrex-massive-pump-is-on-right-now-if-you-have-sbd-to-sell-nearly-usd15-sbd

Most Images: Gif's - via Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com / Pixabay. Today:


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

--

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

EOS (EOS) - 0xD37bEFf5bf07E3aa432de00cE0AaA8df603A4fB0

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
This has really upset some people but I do not force my opinions on others, or need to communicate every detail of my life or issues, most people do not care anyways. I invested around 10 hours or more a day on Steemit most of my first 13 mths here, trying to build community, put out content and engage people, help and donate to people, and I just do not have that time in my life right now, and that includes for replies and voting/curation.
I have done my best, sorry if you do not understand like some are clearly having a problem with. It's a blogging platform, and I will do my best at everything, and to keep blogging.
Carry On.

Sort:  

I'm not sure how to interpret Charlie's move to sell his stash near the ATHs, but if he really holds to his promise to continue developing LTC, then I think it should not be a problem.

Time will tell if SatoshiLite is being honest today.

Charlie will do well no matter what happens or what the markets do, I am sure of it.

He is super smart and has always seemed fair, something the markets, numbers and most people do not care or appreciate.

My 2¢.

Word. Also, there is no way he doesn't have more later on. People will donate or he will buy back in. I like this move. Kuddos to him.

Thank you for reporting on this, it's a refreshingly honest take on this story.

great post barry / i dun learned something new again today, Charlie Lee /// Peace !

An interesting blood bath day for the markets. I am a little surprised they did not remain in the Christmas spirit a little longer. I was fully expecting Christmas to be a blood bath on bitcoin street.

Markets been needing a nice little dose of healthy course correction for a while now. It will be rather interesting or extremely boring seeing how the markets react at end of year and on their way into mid-January.

I cannot disagree with that.

I have noticed the amount of new coins being launched the last few weeks has really slowed.

I keep a watch on numbers, it is kinda my thing lol

It seemed like the right thing to do... Charlie is such a clever guy and is very social media orientated, his push to LTC should be on technology and true believe on the coin other than profiting him self... Lets see what happens, i see a bright future for LTC :)

LTC to the moon and I will always want the best for Charlie, forever and ever!

Very interesting piece! I think I'll have to contact Charlie. Seems really down to earth. Have been following him loosely for quite a while, but not closely enough apparently.

I am a Charlie Lee and LTC fanboy, honestly LOL.

The fundamentals of the man and the coin, just appeared solid when I was a crypto noob and it all stuck with me.

It is so hard in Canada to find a decent price or merchant for crypto shirts, you know this too right?

I was not kidding in here LOL

-- thanks for stopping in Josh.

Best, Barry

wink wink

Yeah, and I sold all of my crypto, also -
because I don't want people think I'm biased! ;)

Boooo, LOL

You are such a pessimist man LOL

Hahaha nah, I'm a realist. ;)
I totally support ltc - Charlie's mah boi! But I find it hard to believe that he "sold" it all. Prolly just moved it around in a psuedo-discrete way.

I would prefer it if Charlie Lee was more personally invested. Just like it is good sign when insiders are buying shares of the company's stock instead if selling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61522.17
ETH 3450.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51