You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Try Linux For Free By Creating A Bootable Thumb Drive - A No Commitment Tutorial For Absolute Beginners

in #linux7 years ago

What an adventure! (I'm not complaining, I knew it was gonna be.) But I think I'm gonna write a post on this, because there's a LOT that has happened. I downloaded firefox 55, unpacked it, and whenever I launch it from that folder, it works like a charm. However, it is not the browser installed into the system, so any attempt to access the browser in any other way gets me the out-of-the-box firefox 44. I managed to remove it once, but it won't let me install the 55 one, just the 44 back again.

I tried it with the GDebi Installer (and the appropriate GDebi package I downloaded), I tried it with the Synaptic Manager, even with the Terminal commands. For some reason it won't let me. Meanwhile various websites tell me to update my browser, or flat out refuse to give access (such as Slack). Oh yeah, I also tried to use the Software Updater, but according to that, I'm already using the most recent version of firefox (that is 44).
Like I said, no complaints here, and I knew Linux was not gonna be easy, but this is a bit weird... Anyhow, I'll keep trying around, and accumulate material for a post.

Sort:  

That's really weird. Sorry, man. I don't understand why the package manager wouldn't do it. Have you tried from the command line? Either sudo apt install firefox or sudo apt-get install firefox?

So, and now I've got Mint running on my old little notebook, working beautifully. Thank for your inspiration, help, and support! I thought I'd mention you in my post about Linux. Feel free to take a look: https://steemit.com/linux/@stortebeker/how-i-ended-up-with-linux-a-user-discovering-open-source

That's so cool. A well-written post it was, too. Resteemed!

yep, that's when it said that it already had the most recent version of firefox installed. But no worries, I was ready for something like this. In fact, I may fiddle around with it a bit more, then try my luck with Mint. Thanks for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53