From ChromeOS to Fedora: My Linux Journey

in #linux16 hours ago

This post is about my experience switching from ChromeOS to Linux on a refurbished ThinkPad T470s.

IMG_20240715_153915723_small.jpg

Starting with a not-so-genuine Windows 10

I wasn't comfortable with the potentially hacked Windows 10 that came pre-installed on my ThinkPad, so I decided to replace it with Linux. My initial goal was to install Fedora, a distro I'd used happily since versions 2 or 3. Unfortunately, the installation failed due to a damaged image on a small USB stick.

Ubuntu detour and Flatpak frustration

With Fedora out of the picture for now, I opted for Ubuntu 22.04 LTS. While I liked Ubuntu overall, the outdated snap packages were a letdown. Installing Flatpak for more options resulted in a bunch of errors.

Back to Fedora, finally!

Determined to get Fedora running, I discovered the culprit behind the previous failed installation - a small and corrupted USB stick. With a bigger and healthy USB stick, Fedora 39 went in smoothly, followed by a successful upgrade to Fedora 40.

002_small.jpg

Why Fedora?

Fedora has been my trusted Linux companion for years. I switched to Ubuntu around versions 13 or 14, mainly for Ubuntu One and Long Term Support (LTS), which unfortunately got discontinued later. After a life-changing event that required me to relearn basic skills (like walking, reading and writing), Linux felt overwhelming, so I opted for the simplicity of Windows, but I wasn’t happy with it. Eventually, I found myself on a Chromebook for its lightweight and I thought travel-friendly nature.

Back on Linux with the ThinkPad

Now, with the ThinkPad, I'm back in the Linux world. The age of the machine isn't an issue, but I do miss the Nautilus image manipulation plugins I used to have. If anyone knows the package names or a setup guide to enable image resizing via right-click, please share in the comments!

Bonus: Desktop Environment Dilemma

Is it worth installing KDE Plasma alongside Gnome to have a choice at login? Or is it too big of a package? Let me know your thoughts (Pro and Cons) in the comments!

P.S. My foot is healing, and let's just say some travel food choices weren't the best! It happens when you're on the road full-time.

Images: My current workspace and a screenshot of my Gnome desktop.

Find me on Nostr

npub1kt92nvl0xra26cz7tmhd3k3v3ltmfj5890kdc3qq9860h84tp76swuf0p0

Online

Profile Page | Support Page

Feel free to support me by sending some sats via the lightning network to [email protected]

rubenstorm@sats.mobi.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49