Adventures in an OS switch

in #linux5 years ago

OSs.jpg

Having now eschewed Windows for Ubuntu I have been having some major stumbling blocks to overcome. The most intense and serious was the fact that every time I dumped my Firefox profile into the directory it caused my passwords to no longer be visible. I have fought with this for the past day and a half and finally made the decision to just uninstall Firefox and reinstall. I then moved my password file over and started the program, it worked and I could finally see my login listing. I kept moving files over and then boom, it didn’t work. So after a couple of install/uninstall cycles I managed to finally get my exact profile form my old Windows Firefox to my freshly installed Firefox on Ubuntu.

This was all a lot harder than it should be but it has been a long as time since I have been “more involved” in my computer and OS. I haven’t been using the command line much and there are so damn many little commands that can do extreme wonders in Linux. It is a total throw back to the DOS days.

I am finding that it is a bit of a pain in the ass to adjust the gnome desktop fully. I am trying to get my icons on the desktop to not be the size of a ping pong ball even though they are set to the “small” setting. Everything I am finding is not doing it for 18.04. But such is the trials and tribulations of an OS switch.

I am thinking I may go ahead and install kubuntu alongside the current ubuntu. I am a bit more of a fan of the kde environment than the gnome. But this is all stuff that I get to play with now. The nice thing about Linux is the ability to install many different versions on the same hard drive and be able to boot to whichever I want.

I am beyond happy that I have a binder full of "Linux Fundamentals" and a bunch of cheat sheets for various commands. This has already helped me 8 different times today. While it is not all fun and games, this is getting me away from the micro soft dick, one step at a time.

Seriously, Fuck Windows!

Sort:  

I loved this post and your decision. It will pay off in the end. Do you only use the Firefox browser? I am curious whether you have seen or tried LastPass? I like to use LastPass because it works with multiple browsers. It is very highly recommended by multiple Security Experts including Steve Gibson from security Now

I haven't decided on a stand alone password manager yet. I actually found a killer little app today that allowed me to export my Firefox password file into a csv. SO HAPPY! I now have the damn list printed and in my safe! This was of course before I finally got Firefox running correctly, but it still got me my print out so I won't have such an issue in the future.

I've been using Ubuntu since 2007 and I try to avoid Microsoft, Android, Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon, Twitter, other tech giant demons. I'm using Ubuntu Mate 16.04. I'm using Firefox and there are other web browsers out there. Thanks for sharing this. Upvoted. Resteemed.

I have dinked around with a bunch of various distros over the past 20 years but never could make the jump to switch. There is so much better cross over now that I am finding it to be not very traumatic to not have my habitual micro soft UI.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51